Have WNDR3700 would like to test any builds available

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 179, 180, 181 ... 227, 228, 229  Next
Author Message
ccdoggy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 16:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
arokh wrote:
I'm rolling my own build from SVN with CRDA, miniupnp, nfs-kernel-server, ext4, ntfs-3g, pptpd, pure-ftpd-tls and block-hotplug. Anybody want to try it out send me a pm.

The OpenWRT webinterface is completely useless though, I don't even include it in my build. If you depend on using a web interface OpenWRT is not for you. It is surprisingly easy to edit config files though, it's very intuitive. Once the router is set up you won't need to touch it anyways.


What web interface are you using? the latest LuCI interface is pretty darn good, very power user friendly, but good.

_________________
WNDR3700 moved to openwrt
- my Wireless settings which (300 on 5.0) Wireless Config

Atheros wireless settings Here

WNDR3700 Wiki

OpenVPN configuration I have refined: OpenVPN Config

ALL WNDR3700 users please fill out this short Poll
Sponsor
bluechris
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 18:46    Post subject: OpenVpn Issues Reply with quote
Hi guys... im some months now with dd-wrt and i am rock solid except 1 thing which is the openvpn.

From my home i connect to a openvpn server of myne in internet with no problems at all but i tried a lot of times to do that in dd-wrt but the router is not willing to connect.

Here are my configs.

Server Side.(Debian Lenny)
--------------------------
Quote:
local xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
port 1830
proto udp
dev tun
ca /etc/openvpn/ca.crt
cert /etc/openvpn/server.crt
key /etc/openvpn/server.key
dh /etc/openvpn/dh1024.pem
server 10.8.0.0 255.255.255.0
ifconfig 10.8.0.1 10.8.0.2
route 10.8.0.0 255.255.255.0
keepalive 5 30
comp-lzo
persist-key
persist-tun
status openvpn-clients.log
log openvpn-clients.log
log-append openvpn-clients.log
cipher AES-256-CBC
duplicate-cn
client-to-client


DD-wrt config
-------------
Quote:
ca /tmp/openvpncl/ca.crt
cert /tmp/openvpncl/client.crt
key /tmp/openvpncl/client.key
management 127.0.0.1 5001
management-log-cache 50
verb 4
mute 5
log-append /var/log/openvpncl
client
tls-client
dev tun0
proto udp
cipher aes-256-cbc
auth sha1
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
persist-key
persist-tun
mtu-disc yes
remote xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 1830
tun-mtu 1500
mssfix 1450
fragment 1450
comp-lzo yes
fast-io


I got this error in the var/log/openvpncl file

Quote:
Sat Nov 27 20:26:51 2010 us=787226 OpenVPN 2.1.3 mips-unknown-linux-gnu [SSL] [LZO2] [EPOLL] built on Nov 21 2010
Sat Nov 27 20:26:51 2010 us=787603 MANAGEMENT: TCP Socket listening on 127.0.0.1:5001
Sat Nov 27 20:26:51 2010 us=788005 WARNING: No server certificate verification method has been enabled. See http://openvpn.net/howto.html#mitm for more info.
Sat Nov 27 20:26:51 2010 us=790228 Cannot load certificate file /tmp/openvpncl/client.crt: error:0906D06C:lib(9):func(109):reason(108): error:140AD009:lib(20):func(173):reason(9)
Sat Nov 27 20:26:51 2010 us=790330 Exiting


This error has no logic at all.. i mean i am able to connect with anything has support of openvpn to my server .. i have the 3 keys in /tmp/openvpncl

Anyone has any clue?

P.S. Im constantly update to any new version that DD-Wrt builds since some months now.
Silentknyght
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 2:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Build 15778 and its predecessor 15747 appear to have wireless DHCP issues. The GUI says that the devices are connected, and yet the devices appear to time out on "getting IP address from ..."

I've switched back to 15506 for the time being.
zainday
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Portland, Oregon

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
@BlueChris

"Rock Solid" so are you recieving 300 mb on 2.4 N?

I keep reading up on this post and some people say it's working great or no problems etc. but it seems like 2.4 N is one of the most basic functions needed, yet as far as I know , this router & DDWRT is still doing super G speeds and not N speeds on the 2.4 N band.
Let me know.
Thanks!

_________________
NETGEAR WNDR3700 [01R10] / Stock v1.0.7.98NA
randfee
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I re-flashed mine AGAIN. Ath1 still does NOT work at all, i get NO STABLE connection no matter the settings. This continues to suck. N-network ist not usable at all.
I'm still willing to live with this downside but I'm really losing patience, waited since spring. I need the VPN-server and I'm looking into alternatives now.
bluechris
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Dec 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
zainday wrote:
@BlueChris

"Rock Solid" so are you recieving 300 mb on 2.4 N?

I keep reading up on this post and some people say it's working great or no problems etc. but it seems like 2.4 N is one of the most basic functions needed, yet as far as I know , this router & DDWRT is still doing super G speeds and not N speeds on the 2.4 N band.
Let me know.
Thanks!


My laptop is at 15 meters from the router and i am connecting at 300mbit at 2.4 and 170-243 at 5g. I havent run any BW meter utilities but i dont have dropouts or anything else. I dont think that a comparison between Oficial firmware and DD-Wrt firmware is mainly between the speeds that Wifi reaches, you get a ton of things with DD-Wrt. I following this post since the beginning... our router reached a very good state and some fixings and optimises needed only.

I asked something about OpenVpn.. noone uses the openvpn feature with this router?
arokh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
ccdoggy wrote:
What web interface are you using? the latest LuCI interface is pretty darn good, very power user friendly, but good.


Luci. It's a very poor interface, I'm surprised you think it's good. Allowing you to configure the basic stuff does not qualify for a good webinterface. The layout and design is horrible, navigating and finding the right options is a nightmare. I found it buggy as well. Can't even compare to DD-WRT. I removed it in favour of VIM.
infinityz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jul 2010
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
arokh wrote:
ccdoggy wrote:
What web interface are you using? the latest LuCI interface is pretty darn good, very power user friendly, but good.


Luci. It's a very poor interface, I'm surprised you think it's good. Allowing you to configure the basic stuff does not qualify for a good webinterface. The layout and design is horrible, navigating and finding the right options is a nightmare. I found it buggy as well. Can't even compare to DD-WRT. I removed it in favour of VIM.


If you like OpenWRT but not Luci, try Gargoyle firmware! It's OpenWRT based and has a pretty complete WebUI.

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/doku.php?id=screenshots

Support for our device has been recently added
theonlybabyface
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone PM me the 1.0.4.75 netgear firmware? I'd like to try it out.
Nightah
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
rafee wrote:
I try to re-write my correct caldata with my right mac addresses using the command:
Code:
mtd unlock caldata
mtd -r caldata caldata


as from the post in that forum, but i have this error:
Code:
Unlocking caldata ...
Could not get MTD device info from caldata

when I try to unlock the caldata and I can't continue.
How can I unlock and re-write the caldata?


I've followed this thread since page1, flashed DD-WRT and stuck around with it for a really long time.
On my original flash I was pretty silly and I managed to brick my router.
I flashed back to stock and had the corrupt caldata so I ended up restoring to the file that was posted here earlier.

I've been wanting to go back now and restore my own MAC address - however I had two questions.

Firstly the address that's on the sticker of my router it doesn't need to be converted to decimal or anything does it - that should be the first mac address in the caldata also right?

Secondly I appear to be having the above issue where I can't unlock the caldata I'm presented with the following message: Could not get MTD device info from caldata

Any help would be very appreciated and sorry If I sound like a noob - I actually am!
Jonny_doe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Location: South West U.K.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
theonlybabyface wrote:
Can anyone PM me the 1.0.4.75 netgear firmware? I'd like to try it out.


Check your pm

_________________
WNDR3700-100UKS 02R1 on DD-WRT 19342
theonlybabyface
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jonny_doe wrote:
theonlybabyface wrote:
Can anyone PM me the 1.0.4.75 netgear firmware? I'd like to try it out.


Check your pm


Thanks...appreciated. Does anyone have the NA version?
brain_death
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
hallo!

i want to ddwrt my wndr3700 since i own it severals months. but before i do that i have two questions:

1. which version is the newest release? and where do i get it?

1. do i have to do the 30/30/30 reset which is described here http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNDR3700 or is this not up to date?

BIG thanks in advance!
sharkitus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jonny_doe wrote:
theonlybabyface wrote:
Can anyone PM me the 1.0.4.75 netgear firmware? I'd like to try it out.


Check your pm


Can someone pm me 1.0.4.75 as well?

Thanks!
BlindWolf8
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
brain_death wrote:
hallo!

i want to ddwrt my wndr3700 since i own it severals months. but before i do that i have two questions:

1. which version is the newest release? and where do i get it?

1. do i have to do the 30/30/30 reset which is described here http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNDR3700 or is this not up to date?

BIG thanks in advance!

Hey brain_death,
To download the latest firmware for most Atheros-based based routers, see here:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/

The latest firmware for the WNDR3700 is here:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/11-21-10-r15778/netgear-wndr3700/

For reference:
    wndr3700-factory.img - For Non-North American versions, use when first flashing from stock to DD-WRT
    wndr3700-factory_NA.img - For North American versions, use when first flashing from stock to DD-WRT
    wndr3700-webflash.bin - Use when flashing from one DD-WRT version to another
Also, in my experience, I have never had to do a 30/30/30 reset.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 179, 180, 181 ... 227, 228, 229  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 180 of 229
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum