DDNS and dns.loopia.se to work?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
darijo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:32    Post subject: DDNS and dns.loopia.se to work? Reply with quote
When I update the dns manually I put this line in my web-broweser
http://dns.loopia.se/XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?system=custom&hostname=www.mydomain.se&myip=82.x.x.x (this a dynamic IP)

and it popup a authorization window.

so i tried to get the dd-wrt (DD-WRT v23 SP3 (01/09/07) std) to work to my dns provider but without any luck.

this is what I have in my dd-wrt and what the log say when it tries:
-----------------------
DDNS Service: Custom
DYNDNS Server: dns.loopia.se
User Name: myaccount
Password: password
Host Name: www.mydomain.se
URL: http://dns.loopia.se/XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?system=custom&hostname=
Additional DDNS Options: --verbose 5


Fri Jan 12 07:18:39 2007: INADYN: Started 'INADYN Advanced version 0.1.4' - dynamic DNS updater.
Fri Jan 12 07:18:39 2007: The request for IP server:
GET http://checkip.dyndns.org/ HTTP/1.0


Fri Jan 12 07:18:39 2007: DYNDNS: IP server response: HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Content-Type: text/html
Server: DynDNS-CheckIP/0.2
Connection: close
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
Content-Length: 105

Current IP Address: 82.x.x.x

Fri Jan 12 07:18:39 2007: W: DYNDNS: My IP address: 82.x.x.x
Fri Jan 12 07:18:39 2007: I:INADYN: IP address for alias 'www.mydomain.se' needs update to '82.x.x.x'
Fri Jan 12 07:18:40 2007: DYNDNS my Request:
GET http://dns.loopia.se/XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?system=custom&hostname=www.naiveandcynical.se HTTP/1.0
Authorization: Basic a2l0dHlsaXR0ZXJyZWNvcmRzLnNlOjdtbW54emo0
Host: dns.loopia.se
User-Agent: inadyn advanced/0.1.4 software@stevehorbachuk.com


Fri Jan 12 07:18:40 2007: I:INADYN: Alias 'www.mydomain.se' to IP '82.x.x.x' updated successfully.
Fri Jan 12 07:18:40 2007: W:INADYN: DYNDNS Server response:
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Fri, 12 Jan 2007 06:18:39 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.8b PHP/4.4.4
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.4.4
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html

abuse
-----------------------

I found out the the line it sends is missing this part &myip=82.x.x.x

so I wonder how do I get it to send this
http://dns.loopia.se/XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?system=custom&hostname=www.mydomain.se&myip=82.x.x.x

and to check the ipaddress and put it in the &myip=

many many thanx in advance
Sponsor
leion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 19:50    Post subject: Any luck? Reply with quote
Have you been able to get ddns working with Loopia?
Do you have any hints?

Regards,
Henrik
supergregg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Aug 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Im having the same problem. I have now contacted Loopia to see if they might skip the IP part that they require.
pHr33
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I ran into the exact same problem.
Loopia does not use the IP of the incomming connection, but require the "myip" variable to be set.

Inadyn does not seem to provide a simple way to add the ip to the custom --dyndns_server_url

Annoying, 'cause I beleve it does it for some pre-defined dyndns_system..


Anyone with a nice solution? Smile
kt_haddock
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Dec 2009
Posts: 710

PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try this settings:
DDNS Tjänst: Own
DYNDNS Server: members.dyndns.com
Username: Username
Password: Password
Name: Your user site
URL: /nic/update?
Extra DDNS val: --ip_server_name checkip.two-dns.de /

_________________
[I prefer answere in whole sentence]
codetracer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Nov 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 20:52    Post subject: :idea: Reply with quote
Here is one way to get Loopia Dyn-DNS service to work on DD-WRT. I used Linksys WRT320N - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) mega - build 14896

This only works if your router has the WAN port directly on the internet. No external IPaddr check is done. Since "inadyn" needs the IPaddr parameter in dyndns_server_url the check needs to be done before there for I grab WANaddr at start up. inadyn 1.96-ADV don't seem to be able to update URI parameters regarding "myip" which is need in Loopia's case.

Do the following,
- DDNS Service can be disabled. At least thats how I do it.
- Add your info to the code. Change *USERNAME*, *PASSWORD*, *FQDN_HOST_NAME* (yyy.zzz.com)
- Open DD-WRT web interface and go to "Administration" --> "Commands"
- Paste code in "Command Shell"
- Click "Save Startup"
- Reboot router.
- Done!

CODE:
#Delay to ensure WAN is up and running and router has correct time
sleep 10
#
#Now startup the DDNS(inadyn) for Loopia Dyn-DNS (this only uses IPaddr from WAN_port and NOT from external lookup).
mkdir /tmp/ddns
/usr/sbin/inadyn -u
*USERNAME* -p *PASSWORD* --background --dyndns_system custom@http_svr_basic_auth -a *FQDN_HOST_NAME* --update_period_sec 600 --forced_update_period 864000 --log_file /tmp/ddns/ddns.log --cache_dir /tmp/ddns --exec ddns_success --dyndns_server_name dns.loopia.se --dyndns_server_url /XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?system=custom\&myip=$(nvram get wan_ipaddr)\&hostname=
#
#


Hope this helps. Not the best solution but it get the job done.

//Codetracer
phreud
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
codetracer's scipt works like a charm for me. However, I'm wondering how to update several subdomains at once. I've tried reading up on inadyn, and it seems you just slap another --alias after the first one. I'm VERY unfamiliar with scripting though, and Im not sure what the difference is between -a and --a (and --alias?).

How do I modify the row in the script to update for example domain.com, www.domain.com and ftp.domain.com at once? And is domain.com really a FQDN_HOST_NAME?

Thanks!
Sin89
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 0:17    Post subject: Re: :idea: Reply with quote
codetracer wrote:
Here is one way to get Loopia Dyn-DNS service to work on DD-WRT. I used Linksys WRT320N - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) mega - build 14896

This only works if your router has the WAN port directly on the internet. No external IPaddr check is done. Since "inadyn" needs the IPaddr parameter in dyndns_server_url the check needs to be done before there for I grab WANaddr at start up. inadyn 1.96-ADV don't seem to be able to update URI parameters regarding "myip" which is need in Loopia's case.

Do the following,
- DDNS Service can be disabled. At least thats how I do it.
- Add your info to the code. Change *USERNAME*, *PASSWORD*, *FQDN_HOST_NAME* (yyy.zzz.com)
- Open DD-WRT web interface and go to "Administration" --> "Commands"
- Paste code in "Command Shell"
- Click "Save Startup"
- Reboot router.
- Done!

CODE:
#Delay to ensure WAN is up and running and router has correct time
sleep 10
#
#Now startup the DDNS(inadyn) for Loopia Dyn-DNS (this only uses IPaddr from WAN_port and NOT from external lookup).
mkdir /tmp/ddns
/usr/sbin/inadyn -u
*USERNAME* -p *PASSWORD* --background --dyndns_system custom@http_svr_basic_auth -a *FQDN_HOST_NAME* --update_period_sec 600 --forced_update_period 864000 --log_file /tmp/ddns/ddns.log --cache_dir /tmp/ddns --exec ddns_success --dyndns_server_name dns.loopia.se --dyndns_server_url /XDynDNSServer/XDynDNS.php?system=custom\&myip=$(nvram get wan_ipaddr)\&hostname=
#
#


Hope this helps. Not the best solution but it get the job done.

//Codetracer


Hi I'm new in the forums but I've been using your script for loopia-dns on a Linksys E3000 (DD-wrt flashed) for a while and it worked like a charm but I have now bought a new Asus RT-N66U which I don't even want to take the risk by flashing DD-WRT on and I have stuck to the ASUSWRT-Merlin mod. My problem now is that the ASUS-WRT don't have inadyn natively and relies on optware (If it hade I could just strap the code into Indayn.conf in the Asus router.

This may be a stupid question, but Would it be possible for Inadyn to get a query of a WAN-IP from let's say another router?

That you could in some way let Inadyn SSH to the router you have connected to the incoming connection and extract WAN-IP from the NVRAM of the external router? And how would that possibly look?

So the question is
1. Is inadyn able to execute SSH commands to log into my RT-N66u via SSH, grep the WAN-IP info from the NVRAM?

Or am I in the woods about this?

//Sin89
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum