Soldered a WAN port for a WLI-TX4-G54HP, but doesn't work

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 0:52    Post subject: Soldered a WAN port for a WLI-TX4-G54HP, but doesn't work Reply with quote
I just bought a Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP and flashed v24-sp2 voip 14896.

The board seams to be identical to the WHR-HP-G54, so I disassembly it and soldered a RJ-45 WAN jack and a small switch for the AP/router function.

The thing is: when I plug a WAN cable, the link doesn't comes up (I don't see the LED lit on the other device). And inside the GUI dd-wrt interface, doesn't show WAN MAC address (in status I see LAN and WIFI, but no WAN) nor WAN IP address. I wonder: dd-wrt disables the switch WAN port as soon as it recognize its a WLI-TX4-G54HP?

Further info:

code:
ifconfig

br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:0B:91:00:00
inet addr:192.168.1.1 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:347 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:398 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:43904 (42.8 KiB) TX bytes:400512 (391.1 KiB)

br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:0B:91:00:00
inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:0B:91:00:00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:341 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:391 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:49938 (48.7 KiB) TX bytes:402130 (392.7 KiB)
Interrupt:4

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:0B:91:00:02
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:4433
TX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:20532 (20.0 KiB)
Interrupt:2 Base address:0x5000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:624 (624.0 B) TX bytes:624 (624.0 B)

code:
route

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 br0
169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 br0
127.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo

code:
nvram show|grep board

boardrev=0x13
boardtype=0x467
size: 1861 bytes (14158 left)
boardflags=0x3658
boardnum=00

code:
nvram show|grep ifn

wl0_ifname=eth1
wan_ifname2=eth2
pppoe_wan_ifname=eth2
pppd_pppifname=
lan_ifnames=eth0 eth1
pppoe_ifname=eth2
wan_ifnames=eth2
size: 18610 bytes (14158 left)
lan_ifname=br0
wl_ifname=
wan_ifname=eth2

code:
nvram get vlan0ports
1 2 3 4 5*
nvram get vlan1ports
0 5


Any ideas on how to enable the just added WAN port?


Thanks

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
Sponsor
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Then load it with whr-hp-g54 cfe and should work.
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, Eko, for the suggestion.

I crossflashed a WHR-HP-G54 cfe.bin into the WLI-TX4-G54HP. After revert to factory defaults now I see the unit is recognized as a WHR-HP-G54 and therefore has a WAN MAC address (00:16:01:ED:85:ED). Good.

But still doesn't work. The link LED doesn't lit on the remote device, nor the Buffalo gets a WAN IP address.

code:
ifconfig
br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:01:ED:85:EC
inet addr:192.168.1.1 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:938 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1076 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:97020 (94.7 KiB) TX bytes:1184376 (1.1 MiB)

br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:01:ED:85:EC
inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:01:ED:85:EC
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:235 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:42295 (41.3 KiB)
Interrupt:4

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:01:ED:85:EE
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:937 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:1369
TX packets:1302 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:110132 (107.5 KiB) TX bytes:1232085 (1.1 MiB)
Interrupt:2 Base address:0x5000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:270 (270.0 B) TX bytes:270 (270.0 B)

vlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:01:ED:85:EC
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:227 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:38221 (37.3 KiB)

vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:01:ED:85:ED
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:2952 (2.8 KiB)


Any ideas?

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
If the link led is off, then it's hardware issue. Link leds are hardware controlled.
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
and did you solder also the small transformer and all resistors and capacitors?
Here is the picture of real whr-hp-g54:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Inside_the_WHR-HP-G54
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Except for the WAN RJ-45 jack, the sw2 switch, and the LED11 all I can see was already there. What I soldered was the WAN RJ-45 jack and the switch. The RJ-45 is connected to the Delta's LFE8275 (altough there are some resistors labels on the bottom side on both equipments). Now I'm curious because on the HP-G54 the LFE8275 is shown as TRANS5 and I was thinking it was an IC, but makes sense since I don't read a DC voltage on it. Anyways, I measure a 1.2 Ohms between WAN's pins 1&2, and 3&6, as I do on the LAN ports. In fact, I measure resistance as well between TX and RX pins, as I do on the LAN ports.
_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 19:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just for comparison, here are the pictures of how someone in Asia did the same thing with another WLI-TX4-G54HP:
http://monozukisya.blog92.fc2.com/blog-category-5.html

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
feliciano wrote:
The RJ-45 is connected to the Delta's LFE8275 (altough there are some resistors labels on the bottom side on both equipments).


So is there any components there or only labels?
Look at top left picture and the top right picture from the Japanese site and you can see what he has added.

Your magnetic coupler (transformer) will not work without those!

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 22:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here's my picture (I don't have the good camera with me today, sorry).


HPIM2884.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  175.55 KB
 Viewed:  9364 Time(s)

HPIM2884.JPG



HPIM2881.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  228.75 KB
 Viewed:  9364 Time(s)

HPIM2881.JPG



_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 0:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Meanwhile, I want to ask another thing (and don't want to open another thread for a single question):
I changed dd-wrt SSID name to "TestINit". At my Windows PC I see broadcasting as I programmed it at the GUI, but in inSSIDer I see broadcasting as "dd-wrt". Why is that? any way to change it?

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't have the resistors and the capacitors on the rear side of the circuit board!
Those are needed, it won't work without them, they are the filter for the center taps of the mag coupler.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 13:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you look at the rear side of the WHR-HP-G54 board, the only components I don't have are the FIL21 & C240(beneath the magnetic coupler, apparently connected to its 13th PIN) and C243, since on the other board there is not a R148, R149 and R150 either (altough on the asian site seems that they added them as well as R168 & LED11).

Does anyone knows the value of those components, and if they are usually sold at electronics and/or online stores?

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 15:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I afraid I bricked my router.

I was trying to flash a custom CFE with the MAC adress changed and the VLAN ports reasigned to workaround the missing WAN port.

Now when I turn the unit on, all the LEDs at the switch and the power LED are solid green, the red LED flashes slowly and the g and AOSS LEDS flash at half the rate or the red one.

Tried the 30/30/30 reset and ground pin12 of the flash memory. No success. My PC doesn't see the LAN link come up. I don't have a JTAG cable. Any ideas?

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
get or build jtag cable assuming that unit has jtag.

Pin shorting WILL NOT turn a bad cfe into a good one.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
feliciano
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Latin America

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, barryware! the JTAG thing saved my unit.
Now I'm back at the beggining (crossflashed again).

I did it all again, and found if I hex edit the cfe.bin (MAC addresses) doesn't take it via jtag (freezes at 30%), and with WinSCP takes it, but crashes at restart. Why is that?

Note: I still appreciate any help on the hardware mod issue.

_________________
Worked with: WR850Gv2, WHR-HP-G54, WRT54 G/GL/GS, f5d7231-4p, wl-520gU, WRT150N, DIR-400A1, DIR-600B1, WLI-TX4-G54HP, WHR-HP-GN, F7D3301/FD7301, F7D3302/F7D7302, WNR3500Lv2, e1000
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum