[Solved]! Airlink AR690w BS 14473 switch not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 13:49    Post subject: [Solved]! Airlink AR690w BS 14473 switch not working Reply with quote
I just ran the AR690 factory webflash and i can only get a wireless connection. The switch does not allow me a connection to the device. The light also does not light up showing a connection present. If i go into the emergency firmware page to load a new firmware then the switch works. from what i can tell is that the switch driver is no good. Did a reset everytime new firmware was loaded

Anybody have any ideas to get the switch to work?, or possibly confirm the problem

_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer


Last edited by btechnet on Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:20; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 18:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ive been talking with LOM about some of the issues.

You can read here
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=69242&start=15

It sounds like the switch (RTL8366S) is being loaded on startup, but for some reason or another its not "staying" loaded.

Im working on getting a serial 3.3v ttl cable to connect but i don't have any resources with me right now.

If anyone can check for errors on startup with a serial cable please post.

I believe that the pinout is

JP1
o o o o o
Rx nc Vcc gnd Tx

very much resembles:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Image:Dlink-DIR300revb.JPG

_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
d3hilton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 22:31    Post subject: Serial outputs Reply with quote
Tx Blank ?Vcc? Gnd RX

I couldn't get 3.3vcc from the board, but my serial reader can get power from usb so I just connected the three wires.

57600, 8 N 1 (no flow control)

_________________
DD-WRT 24-sp2
Current:
Linksys wrt610n v2
Netgear wndr3300
Airlink101 AR690W
Linksys WRT-350N
Linksys WRT54g v8

Past routers
Netgear WPN834bV2
Airlink101 AR670W
Linksys WRE54g

Non DD-WRT
TRENDnet TEW639gr, TEW638, TEW637ap
frzndrag
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Serial Boot Log (looks the same as d3hilton's)

LINUX started...

THIS IS ASIC
Linux version 2.6.23.17 (root@dd-wrt) (gcc version 4.1.2) #2936 Tue May 25 08:56:34 CEST 2010

The CPU frequency set to 266 MHz
32M RAM Detected!
CPU revision is: 0001906c
Determined physical RAM map:
memory: 02000000 @ 08000000 (usable)
Wasting 1048576 bytes for tracking 32768 unused pages
Built 1 zonelists in Zone order. Total pages: 40640
Kernel command line: console=ttyS1,57600n8 root=/dev/mtdblock4 rootfstype=squashfs noinitrd
Primary instruction cache 16kB, physically tagged, 4-way, linesize 16 bytes.
Primary data cache 16kB, 4-way, linesize 16 bytes.
Synthesized TLB refill handler (20 instructions).
Synthesized TLB load handler fastpath (32 instructions).
Synthesized TLB store handler fastpath (32 instructions).
Synthesized TLB modify handler fastpath (31 instructions).
cause = 10800020, status = 1000ff00
PID hash table entries: 1024 (order: 10, 4096 bytes)
calculating r4koff... 0028b0aa(2666666)
CPU frequency 266.67 MHz
Using 133.333 MHz high precision timer.
console [ttyS1] enabled
Dentry cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Memory: 28032k/32768k available (2345k kernel code, 4672k reserved, 318k data, 124k init, 0k highmem)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
NET: Registered protocol family 16
Generic PHY: Registered new driver
NET: Registered protocol family 2
Time: MIPS clocksource has been installed.
IP route cache hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
TCP established hash table entries: 8192 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 8192 bind 8192)
TCP reno registered
Load RT2880 Timer Module(Wdg/Soft)
devfs: 2004-01-31 Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
devfs: boot_options: 0x1
squashfs: version 3.0 (2006/03/15) Phillip Lougher
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler deadline registered (default)
Ralink gpio driver initialized
Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.3 $ 2 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
serial8250: ttyS0 at I/O 0xa0300500 (irq = 9) is a 16550A
serial8250: ttyS1 at I/O 0xa0300c00 (irq = Cool is a 16550A
PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
PPP Deflate Compression module registered
PPP BSD Compression module registered
MPPE/MPPC encryption/compression module registered
NET: Registered protocol family 24
PPPoL2TP kernel driver, V1.0
tun: Universal TUN/TAP device driver, 1.6
tun: (C) 1999-2004 Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
ralink flash device: 0x400000 at 0xbf000000
Ralink SoC physically mapped flash: Found 1 x16 devices at 0x0 in 16-bit bank
Amd/Fujitsu Extended Query Table at 0x0040
number of CFI chips: 1
cfi_cmdset_0002: Disabling erase-suspend-program due to code brokenness.

found squashfs at 118000
Creating 6 MTD partitions on "Ralink SoC physically mapped flash":
0x00000000-0x00030000 : "uboot"
0x00030000-0x00040000 : "uboot-config"
0x00040000-0x00050000 : "factory-defaults"
0x00040000-0x003f0000 : "linux"
0x00118000-0x003f0000 : "rootfs"
mtd: partition "rootfs" doesn't start on an erase block boundary -- force read-only
0x003f0000-0x00400000 : "nvram"
u32 classifier
Actions configured
Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (1024 buckets, 4096 max)
ctnetlink v0.93: registering with nfnetlink.
IPv4 over IPv4 tunneling driver
GRE over IPv4 tunneling driver
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
IPP2P v0.8.2 loading
ClusterIP Version 0.8 loaded successfully
TCP bic registered
TCP cubic registered
TCP westwood registered
TCP highspeed registered
TCP hybla registered
TCP htcp registered
TCP vegas registered
TCP scalable registered
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
Welcome to PF_RING 3.2.1
(C) 2004-06 L.Deri <deri@ntop.org>
NET: Registered protocol family 27
PF_RING: bucket length 128 bytes
PF_RING: ring slots 4096
PF_RING: sample rate 1 [1=no sampling]
PF_RING: capture TX No [RX only]
PF_RING: transparent mode Yes
PF_RING initialized correctly.
PF_RING: registered /proc/net/pf_ring/
802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8 Ben Greear <greearb@candelatech.com>
All bugs added by David S. Miller <davem@redhat.com>
GDMA1_MAC_ADRH -- : 0x00000000
GDMA1_MAC_ADRL -- : 0x00000000
Ralink APSoC Ethernet Driver Initilization. v2.00 256 rx/tx descriptors allocated, mtu = 1500!
NAPI enable, weight = 0, Tx Ring = 256, Rx Ring = 256
GDMA1_MAC_ADRH -- : 0x0000fb47
GDMA1_MAC_ADRL -- : 0x9d6b785d
PROC INIT OK!
Rtl8366 Phy Init...<0>decode /dev/mtdblock4
VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly.
Mounted devfs on /dev
Freeing unused kernel memory: 124k freed
start service
starting Architecture code for rt2880
rt2860v2_ap: module license 'unspecified' taints kernel.
GDMA1_MAC_ADRH -- : 0x0000001d
GDMA1_MAC_ADRL -- : 0x6abed06f

phy_tx_ring = 0x09e7c000, tx_ring = 0xa9e7c000, size: 16 bytes

phy_rx_ring = 0x09e7d000, rx_ring = 0xa9e7d000, size: 16 bytes
GDMA1_FWD_CFG = 10000
br0: Dropping NETIF_F_UFO since no NETIF_F_HW_CSUM feature.
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
Algorithmics/MIPS FPU Emulator v1.5
device vlan1 entered promiscuous mode
device eth2 entered promiscuous mode
device vlan2 entered promiscuous mode
sh: ead: not found
RtmpOSNetDevDetach(): RtmpOSNetDeviceDetach(), dev->name=ra0!
0x1300 = 00064380
0x1300 = 00064380
device ra0 entered promiscuous mode
br0: port 3(ra0) entering learning state
br0: port 2(vlan2) entering learning state
br0: port 1(vlan1) entering learning state
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
wland: No such file or directory
br0: No such process
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 3(ra0) entering forwarding state
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 2(vlan2) entering forwarding state
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 1(vlan1) entering forwarding state
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
gethostbyname: Network is unreachable
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
wland: No such file or directory
nvram was changed, needs commit, waiting 10 sec.
etherip: Ethernet over IPv4 tunneling driver
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
gethostbyname: Network is unreachable
frzndrag
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 20:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
and the pinout is:
RX blank TX -3.3 GND (although fo rthe life of me i can't log in via the serial, if I leave the RX pin on while booting it drops in to recovery mode (like I hit a key) if open it boots, and i can put it back on and get input that is garbled (57600, 8, none, 1, no flow control)
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your input is garbled, how did you get it to show up before?
_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
frzndrag
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Input (TX) to board is garbled, not output (RX)from board
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
ah, I understand
_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Now that we have some serial console info, does anyone know why the driver is getting loaded but not showing status lights or dhcp?

Rtl8366 Phy Init...<0>decode /dev/mtdblock4
from the startrup serial console shows its loading...

_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
elitak
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the exact same problem you're describing. I've tried at least 3 different builds from eko/BrainSlayer, including the first on to support the ar690w and the most recent, but have seen nothing different.

I can access the router via wireless, but the switch is dead except when in recovery mode, as stated before.

I'm anxious to get this working and it looks like it's tantalizingly close to doing so. Any clues or things to try would be appreciated.

Also: is there something wrong with our units or were these builds never actually working/tested on a real ar690w??
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
elitak wrote:
I have the exact same problem you're describing. I've tried at least 3 different builds from eko/BrainSlayer, including the first on to support the ar690w and the most recent, but have seen nothing different.

I can access the router via wireless, but the switch is dead except when in recovery mode, as stated before.

I'm anxious to get this working and it looks like it's tantalizingly close to doing so. Any clues or things to try would be appreciated.

Also: is there something wrong with our units or were these builds never actually working/tested on a real ar690w??


I cannot speak to the effect of if they were tried on working ar690's. Im guessing no based on the fact that the switch doesn't work, but i dont know how to check the svn tracker to find out.

At this point only Brainslayer can get it working by releasing a firmware that makes the switch work. I have nothing to try other than figuring out how to get the firmware modification kit to work on breaking down the dd-wrt firmware.

I downloaded the firmware mod kit and tried to disassemble the firmware but i keep getting errors. I also tried a wrt54gl firmware and it broke that down no problem. I believe the problem lies in that the wrt54gl is a k2.4 kernel and the ar690w is a k2.6 kernel. That would be the first place to start, is getting the firmware mod kit to disassemble a k2.6 kernel.

_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
yazyazoo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Apr 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 14:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I used the AR690w firmware from the homepage download section. Switch doesnt work.

Is there a way to revert back to stock firmware?
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I cant seem to find the stock firmware. Ive been looking for about an hour with no success. If you can get the stock firmware post the download link here and I will tell u how to revert back
_________________
1x WRT610Nv2 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WNDR3300 mini - 14205M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
2x AR670w std - 14289 v24
Brainslayer
1x AR690w mini - 15649 v24
Brainslayer
2x AR430W std - 13064 v24 Brainslayer
2x WNR834B v2 mini - 14311 K2.4 BrainSlayer
1x RT-N16 big - 14280 NEWD-2 K2.6 BrainSlayer
1x WRT54G V5.0 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
1x WRT54GL V1.1 micro - 15704 v24 Brainslayer
Domin8r
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 3:24    Post subject: AR690W no Lan connection!! Reply with quote
Hi, am a newbie to dd-wrt, and this particular router, am an accomplished system and network builder, am a bit befuddled at the complexity of the settings to actually bridge the LAN to WLAN, shouldn't it naturally be setup as a stock Gateway/Router to start, then provide alternative setups for specialty services and configs?? to have the LAN side disabled as a starting-point would confuse even the most seasoned IT member!

There should be at the very least a "dd-wrt for dummies" type of setup or manual as a starting point for newcomers... I have the thing setup now for wireless AP to try and connect to my current network, which a AR725W is the basis of connection, my intent was to have this in my living room to allow my PC/Blu-ray/Wii/Xbox360/Dish receiver, all with ethernet to use this to connect to my wireless lan as a booster as I have a very long house!! Without LAN capability, no-go.... Can the writer of this firmware please step forward for some questions/followup to help a few of us out!!???? Evil or Very Mad
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:33    Post subject: Re: AR690W no Lan connection!! Reply with quote
Domin8r wrote:
Hi, am a newbie to dd-wrt, and this particular router, am an accomplished system and network builder


That experience you have does obviously not help you to understand what the current problem is so I'd suggest you to read through this thread once again, the whole of it. Read it slowly and let it sink in.

There won't be any developer wasting his time explaining the problems to you just because you don't understand them, most other writers in this thread seems to have understood.
Your demand is way out of line for this forum and for a free software.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum