Linksys E1000 for 40$ (refurb) - for support!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5771

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:22    Post subject: Linksys E1000 for 40$ (refurb) - for support! Reply with quote
Gurus from US (with serial console, jtag, etc).... let's get E1000 supported.

But we need the router... here it is kinda cheap:
http://homestore.cisco.com/viewproduct.htm?productId=110277855

40$ and free shipping ! Smile
Sponsor
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
the e1000 is a 160 right? or was it a 310.. I forgot.

Just ordered it.. Bastards got me for 3.34 taxes Twisted Evil

What do you need.. Standard stuff?

cfe
nvram
serial output of boot
wholeflash

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's an 160v3, most likely with 60KB nvram.
_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
It's an 160v3, most likely with 60KB nvram.


Uh oh.. I thought linky disabled jtag on this device.

Edit: Further checking.. I have repaired a bunch of V3's via serial (who can remember). I think the new jtag will support this device. Didn't try it though.

I'll have it (e1000), tuesday or so of next week.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked


Last edited by barryware on Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:45; edited 1 time in total
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
LOM wrote:
It's an 160v3, most likely with 60KB nvram.


Uh oh.. I thought linky disabled jtag on this device.


We don't know if they did it also on E1000..
You can dump the wholeflash to a tftp server with the cfe save command.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
barryware wrote:
LOM wrote:
It's an 160v3, most likely with 60KB nvram.


Uh oh.. I thought linky disabled jtag on this device.


We don't know if they did it also on E1000..
You can dump the wholeflash to a tftp server with the cfe save command.


Soooooo many routers & versions. I can't keep track of'em any more..

Remember when things were simple.. wrt54G v~

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5771

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
barryware wrote:
LOM wrote:
It's an 160v3, most likely with 60KB nvram.


Uh oh.. I thought linky disabled jtag on this device.


We don't know if they did it also on E1000..
You can dump the wholeflash to a tftp server with the cfe save command.

I usually dump the mtd parts to /tmp folder as jpg, like

cat /dev/mtd/0 > /tmp/cfe.jpg

then kill httpd and start it on /tmp, like

httpd -h /tmp or httpd -d /tmp

then simply point your browser to

192.168.1.1/cfe.jpg and save it as cfe.bin

same for other mtd parts

Worked more or less on every router so far. Smile
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
LOM wrote:
barryware wrote:
LOM wrote:
It's an 160v3, most likely with 60KB nvram.


Uh oh.. I thought linky disabled jtag on this device.


We don't know if they did it also on E1000..
You can dump the wholeflash to a tftp server with the cfe save command.

I usually dump the mtd parts to /tmp folder as jpg, like

cat /dev/mtd/0 > /tmp/cfe.jpg

then kill httpd and start it on /tmp, like

httpd -h /tmp or httpd -d /tmp

then simply point your browser to

192.168.1.1/cfe.jpg and save it as cfe.bin

same for other mtd parts

Worked more or less on every router so far. Smile


That works with stock firmware from the cfe prompt?

If the new jtag does not work with this rouoter, I was planning to just dump the whole flash via the cfe save command.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked


Last edited by barryware on Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:12; edited 1 time in total
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5771

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
no... from running firmware
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
no... from running firmware


how would those commands be issued to stock, running firmware?

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5771

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Eko wrote:
no... from running firmware


how would those commands be issued to stock, running firmware?


You need serial console, then when the router is up, press "Enter" few times, usually you get into Busybox, then you have all the commands.

If you press "tab" few times, you'll get list of all commands then.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
A little checking...

there is an E1000 that gained fcc approval 12/29/2009. This is the 160V3 based on the pics.

there is now an E1000v2 that was granted fcc approval on 05/18/2010. The pics show this device is very different than the E1000 (v1)

As of 09/13/2010, there is a E1000v21. There are no pics on the fcc site.


Sooooooo.. looks like the wrt54g2 all over again. Dunno which version will show up. Pretty sure it will not be a v21.

This will be interesting..

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm almost sure that they wanna get rid of the first ones now, the 160v3 rebadged ones.

(I've got a 160v3 and I also want to get rid of it..) Laughing

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5771

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 15:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm.... we have no bcm5357 support in our code yet (only partial 5356).
Interesting....
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 15:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
I'm almost sure that they wanna get rid of the first ones now, the 160v3 rebadged ones.

(I've got a 160v3 and I also want to get rid of it..) Laughing


That's too bad.. I was hoping to sell you the e1000 when we are done with it Wink

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum