Compression?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
backwoodsman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 16:19    Post subject: Compression? Reply with quote
With connection type PPPoE, there's a button to enable PPP compression. And I see references in the forum etc. to compression that's available on an EoIP tunnel, although the 2 builds I'm currently using (14896 & 12533) don't have a setting for compression there.

So my question is, is there a way to make 2 DD-WRT routers (one repeating the other) compress the data going between them? Clearly there's some compression capability somewhere -- how can I use it?
Sponsor
zerofire
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 93
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 13:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
PPP is a protocol used by dial-up and PPPoE is that same protocol adapted to Ethernet. Compression is only possible between your router and your ISP if they have it enabled. Compression between routers however is too fast and has too much bandwidth for a router to compress. It is just not logical to compress 100 or 1000 Mbps with a routers CPU.
_________________
Linksys WRT350Nv1 x1 DD-WRT v24-preSP2 14311-Not In Use
Linksys WRT54G2v1 x1 DD-WRT v24-preSP2 14311-Not In Use
Linksys WRT54G2v1 x1 Linksys OEM
Linksys EG008Wv3 x1
Linksys WRT54Gv3.1 x1 Linksys OEM
Linksys WRT54Gv5 x1 Linksys OEM
Linksys WRT54Gv6 x2 Linksys OEM
Linksys WRT54Gv8 x2 Linksys OEM
Linksys WTR54GSv1 x1 Linksys OEM
Linksys WRT160Nv1 x1 Linksys OEM
NetGear WNR834Bv2 x1 DD-WRT 25251
NetGear WG302v2 x1 Netgear OEM
Belkin F5D7230-4v1000 x1 Belkin OEM
Buffalo WHR-G300N x1 DD-WRT sp2
Buffalo WHR-G300N x1 Buffalo OEM
Airlink 101 AR430Wv1 x1 Airlink OEM
Cisco Catalyst 3548 Enterprise x1 Cisco IOS-Not In Use
D-Link DI-604vE x1 D-Link OEM-Not In Use
backwoodsman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
zerofire wrote:
It is just not logical to compress 100 or 1000 Mbps with a routers CPU.


I don't care about 100 or 1000 Mbps -- like most users, I only need the tiny fraction of that my internet connection can do. Clearly the router has the CPU power for that, or there wouldn't be any PPPoE compression.

But that misses the point of my question. There is, or was, compression available on EoIP tunnels. It doesn't show up on my routers. Why not, and how can I get it? Alternatively, is there any other way to compress data between two routers, like maybe a script or something?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum