WRT320N And VLAN

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
bgnt44 wrote:
i found on openwrt forum:


Quote:
Switch: bcm5397 GbE, using the bcm57xx driver. (But since Broadcom is discontinuing the bcm5397, the wrt600n may come with the bcm5395 in the future.) I've tested the VLAN support, and it works. Linux 2.4.36.6 adds GemTek support for QoS, although that's not in the 2.4.35 in OpenWRT svn. robocfg does not have support for bcm539x.


the wrt320N has a bcm5397 GbE, ... i guess it should be supported so ...

Let me decipher what this post says so that you can understand. The default VLAN port assignments work, but THEY ARE NOT CONFIGURABLE. On a similar note, these gigabit switches are supposed to support jumbo frames but the driver doesn't seem to support it. If you really need VLAN's, get a model with a 100 Base-T switch that has support because you can't expect anything on this matter.

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
Sponsor
opotonil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know if this can help to developers.

"Partial support for BCM53115 (vlans mapping)":
http://code.google.com/p/wl500g/source/detail?r=1664
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 22:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Some users have had success with VLAN's on gigabit switches by setting the nvram variables for them.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
opotonil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had tried it with GUI, new vlan is created then I configure IP on vlan but there is not ping reply on any direction (router to PC - PC to router).

I am using: dd-wrt.v24-13493_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin

Thanks.

--- EDITED ---

I have updated to dd-wrt.v24-14584_NEWD-2_K2.6_voip.bin
I have set vlan with GUI but the nvram didn't changed
I have set vlan in the nvram:
Code:

nvram set vlan1ports="4 2 1 8*"
nvram set vlan2ports="3 8*"
vlan3hwname=et0
nvram commit
reboot


And it's working. Now I need tagged... I will to try it.

Code:

nvram set vlan3ports="3 2t 1t 8"
nvram commit
reboot


Thanks very much.
smokeyjones
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
opotonil wrote:
I have updated to dd-wrt.v24-14584_NEWD-2_K2.6_voip.bin
I have set vlan with GUI but the nvram didn't changed
I have set vlan in the nvram:
Code:

nvram set vlan1ports="4 2 1 8*"
nvram set vlan2ports="3 8*"
vlan3hwname=et0
nvram commit
reboot


And it's working. Now I need tagged... I will to try it.

Code:

nvram set vlan3ports="3 2t 1t 8"
nvram commit
reboot


Thanks very much.


Did this actually work? I am trying to separate off one port on a new vlan but am struggling. I can't see how to add another dhcp server to hand out addresses on vlan3.
smokeyjones
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I used the commands below and along with setting a second DHCP in the WebGUI, this has worked.

Code:
nvram set vlan1ports="4 3 2 8*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 8"
nvram set vlan3hwname=et0
nvram set vlan3ports="1 8*"
nvram commit
reboot


Haven't needed to set any trunks.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum