Can a HP Procurve 420 AP be flashed ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> ARM or PPC based Hardware
Author Message
AMD3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:50    Post subject: Can a HP Procurve 420 AP be flashed ? Reply with quote
We had several HP 420 APs in place at one time but have changed them out with EAP-3660s.
The 420s are sitting on a shelf. Problems ranged from connecting to them and staying connected. Forgot last HP firmware before they were removed.
So, can anything be done to "help" these things?
The radio card has says Atheroswith with AR5212A-00, KA7188.1B, 0517 stamped on it but the mainboard chip that you can see it an Infineon, AN983B, ADMtek , BG0449, TAF16611.1

Thanks!
If no one has tried I may donate a one. If it can be done.
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 14:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
do
http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-detection

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
AMD3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's a Atheros AR5212A-00 chipset. Found this at:
http://www.iol.unh.edu/services/testing/wireless/equipment.php

Can't find anymore on it as far as flash size.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7625

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
AMD3 wrote:
It's a Atheros AR5212A-00 chipset. Found this at:
http://www.iol.unh.edu/services/testing/wireless/equipment.php

Can't find anymore on it as far as flash size.


Infineon ADMtek AN983B 10/100 PCI Adapter according to google. (you do know google don't you?)

The flash and the 2 ram chips has numbers printed on them, what are they?
You'll also have to remove the cooling fin on the cpu and list its make and model.

There should also be an FCC ID# on the routers label and part of the router-detection that Sash pointed you to is to find that number..

HEDWA4101ACCAA is probably the ID.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
AMD3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 17:03    Post subject: information Reply with quote
You are correct on the FFC ID.
FCC ID: HEDWA4101ACCAA
FCC.gov didn't appear to have "chipset" information for this AP. Now that may be me, all I did find there where photos and docments of the HP 420 being tested.
I used Google to find an match on AP product and chipset and came up the the site I listed in a previous post. It was the InterOperability Laboratory at the University of New Hampshire. Seems they only listed the minip-pci radio board, my bust.

I have two photos that are fairly clear and show everything I believe is need to ID what there.

FCC ID: HEDWA4101ACCAA

Thanks
AMD3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 17:05    Post subject: Second photo Reply with quote
Larger view
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
freescle mpc8241 ppc cpu.
depending on the bootloader its possible to port it.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
AMD3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am willing to donate it, if there if it's worth trying.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
which bootloader is runnign?
serial bootlog?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
soulrebel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any update on this?

I have a Hp Procurve 420 as well, I don't mind being the guinea pig if someone can point me in the right direction? Which version should I try flashing with?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
which bootloader is runnign?
serial bootlog?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> ARM or PPC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum