Which firmware for new WNR3500L

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7397
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
kavermeer wrote:
buddee wrote:
looks good, i am glad your not leaving 14311 on there, it was a problem'd build IMO

I'm still running 14311 here. Given that it's my first time with dd-wrt, I'm not sure if it's better or worse than any other version. But it is the one still listed in the router database.
Could you elaborate on the problems with 14311, and which version would you recommend and why?


From my experience with it, 14311 had wireless problems, which is about the only elaboration i can give. I recommend whats in the firmware recommendations in my signature. It has been tested by many here to be tried and true, i personally use newer builds for my own testing purposes. So really its up to you as of what your gonna use.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
Sponsor
blackinches
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 19:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe I spoke too soon. I've found two problems running build 13527 on the WNR3500L:

#1) The router randomly reboots every 24-48 hours [Kinda...see edits below]. I haven't rebooted it since Tuesday, but DD-WRT shows an uptime of only 15 hours (should be 5 days). Yesterday, uptime was up to about 2 days (should've been 4 days). Scheduled reboot is disabled. Not a huge deal, but it's something I've noticed.

#2) CPU load sometimes creeps up to 100% for no reason:



The above screenshot was taken after checking my email and lightly surfing the web for 30 minutes. No other computers are on, no downloads, no file transfers, nothing. Average load was roughly 0% when I checked on the router last night, about 1 hour after its random reboot.

Edit (June 6): I'm not sure if this is really an issue. I changed the wireless Channel Width from 40Mhz to 20Mhz, hit Save and Apply, and within an hour, CPU Usage was back down to 0%. It's now been fine for 7 hours. I'll report back in a few days...

Edit (June 12): No random reboots since the last edit (almost at 7 days uptime now). But, I did encounter a short CPU Usage spike of 100% earlier this week. I think I've pinpointed the cause:

I have the router setup for Remote Web GUI Management Access. If I try to navigate to https://MyDomainHere.homeip.net:8080 from a remote site, everything works fine. BUT, if I use the remote address when at home (instead of the router's IP address), the page never loads; then when I type in the IP address, I find the CPU at 100%. The only way to fix this is to change a setting and hit Apply (or reboot).

HOWEVER, this bug isn't limited to build 13527, or even the K2.6 builds in general. I'm observing a similar bug on my mother's WRT54GL, 150 miles from here. Sometimes its remote web access page fails to load (not always!). When this occurs, I'm able to connect to the network via VPN and access the page using the router's local IP address. That router runs DD-WRT build 9526 (I haven't updated it in 1-2 years). A soft reboot fixes the CPU usage spike.

Edit (June 15): The "random" reboots are actually predictable. The router resets every 20-30 minutes under heavy WiFi use from our MacBook Pro, such as while streaming shows on Hulu. Wired use never causes trouble, nor does my 802.11n netbook.

As for the CPU usage bug, I'm nearly convinced this has to do with accessing the router's web gui remotely (https://my_dynamic_ip.homeip.net:8080). The router was fine when I checked up on it this afternoon, remotely. When I got home, CPU usage was at 100%. I logged in via Telnet and tried a "top" command:



From what Google tells me, the problematic process ("httpd -S") is a webserver. The only webserver my WNR3500L should be running is the internally/externally accessable web gui. So, I'll see what happens in the upcoming week if I do not check on the router remotely.

Edit (June 27): Even with no remote access, the router's CPU eventually spikes to 100% load. No idea why.

I've installed a seperate access point for 802.11n traffic (all of our laptops), and delegated G traffic to the WNR3500L (cell phones). Result: No reboots in 11 days. So, build 13527 reboots the WNR3500L during heavy wireless N traffic.


Last edited by blackinches on Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:35; edited 11 times in total
totaluser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2010
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
please suggest me some nice not buggy build that has SWAP feature implemented
I am running 13527 big but sometimes I nearly run out of memory and I think swap could help me

thanks
mblank68
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 16:20    Post subject: New 3500L v2 owner Reply with quote
I have read through all the posts in this thread. The problem I have is as follows: I already downloaded the dd-wrt.v24-13309_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR3500v2.chk files, I do the 30/30/30, i have already changed the IP on my PC to a 192.168.1.x address. I go to the gui of the router, go to the firmware upgrade section, browse to the file, click upgrade, it says firmware update failed, check file. It does this over and over. I am doing the upgrade through IE. Otherwise the route seems to run perfectly fine. Blackinches, I have gone through your instruction thread as well and even tried the older files you suggested with the same result. Suggestions?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6578
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
The chk file is only for going from Netgear fw to dd-wrt.
mblank68
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 16:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am presently running the netgear fw.. trying to load to the dd-wrt fw..
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6578
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 22:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you have a wnr3500 v2 or a wnr3500l v2?
mblank68
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
3500l v2 but I have tried multiple versions doing the 30/30/30 before each one.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6578
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 0:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
The file that you said you downloaded is for a wnr3500 v2. Not sure it the same file for your router.

Actually I don't think the wnr3500l v2 is supported.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6578
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 0:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
mblank68 wrote:
3500l v2 but I have tried multiple versions doing the 30/30/30 before each one.

I just read in another thread where you said you have a wnr3500 v2. Here just just said you have a wrn3500l v2.
Are you sure you don't have a wndr3700v4? Lol
mblank68
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
positive.. if I typed that it was a typo.. its a 3500l v2
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6578
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your isn't supported. Also you are trying to use a file meant for a different router. Be careful.
mblank68
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it just because it is v2 it is not supported?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6578
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, look here. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum