BS build 14144 3G/UTMS option

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1599
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 21:45    Post subject: Re: BS build 14144 3G/UTMS option Reply with quote
Macgyver wrote:
mac913 wrote:
phantommadman wrote:
mac913 wrote:
phantommadman wrote:
Masterman wrote:
I'm running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/24/10) mega - build 14144 on my RTN-16 and just recently noticed this new option under connection type.

Has anyone used this feature successfully? Does it apply to both K24 and K26 builds?

I currently do not have a K24 capable router in my possession, but would like to know if it exists on USB capable K24 routers and what builds include it..

Thanks

Hello Yes it does work on my WRT610N V1 BS Build 14144 K26 using Verizon EVDO RevA USB Modem.


Does any USB support need to be enabled? TIA.

Under USB--->Services I have Core USB Support..USB 1.1 UHCI.. USB 1.1 OHCI.. USB 2.0 enabled the rest disabled Click save then Under Setup Connection Type 3G/UMTS Selected and for Dial String I have the #777 selected and then i saved it and apply and when router rebooted I had internet without using my cradlepoint.


I setup my 610n_v1 with your settings and my CDMA Blackberry and it did not work. :(


which carrier are you using? Telus uses #777 not sure about bell..but I know rogers is *99#
Did anyone have to set the apn? I tried with it blank and with the one defined in connection manager and no dice.
Trying with Rogers network here....shit out of luck so far


Yes it's with Telus and I it uses #777 when connecting from the laptop. With the Telus Data Plan, I also get a static IP for company VPN connects. Current I'm using my spare 610n_v1 for testing the Blackberry and no go.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Sponsor
maurer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Location: Buchrest, Romania

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 7:15    Post subject: K26 mega - 3G / UMTS supported modems ? Reply with quote
does any of you know how to check the list of current supported 3G / 3.5G usb modems in the latest K26 mega (14311) build?
is there any usb_modeswitch.conf file in the root ?
the list in the wiki it's over a year old.
daObi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 18:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Masterman wrote:
Success here. Flashed WL500W with 14144 K26 mega, enabled USB, setup the connection type and rebooted. WAN is up! Cool


It works for me too although I have an Asus WL-500gP v1. But if I connect to my ISP via 3G/UMTS it always resets Setup->VLANs->Wireless to none, so wireless connectivity is broken. I have to reassign to LAN manually and all run like a charm. Maybe someone else has the same problem with wifi combined with 3G/UMTS wan connection type.
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2070
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
daObi wrote:
Masterman wrote:
Success here. Flashed WL500W with 14144 K26 mega, enabled USB, setup the connection type and rebooted. WAN is up! Cool


It works for me too although I have an Asus WL-500gP v1. But if I connect to my ISP via 3G/UMTS it always resets Setup->VLANs->Wireless to none, so wireless connectivity is broken. I have to reassign to LAN manually and all run like a charm. Maybe someone else has the same problem with wifi combined with 3G/UMTS wan connection type.


Don't seem to have that problem with my friends setup, then again his modem is attached via USB extension to a cantenna. Could be radio interference with the modem right next to the radios of the router.

Also, I saw this fix in the TRAC:

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/14410

_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-AC68U
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Engenious ECB350
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ105W
daObi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 8:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Masterman wrote:

Don't seem to have that problem with my friends setup, then again his modem is attached via USB extension to a cantenna. Could be radio interference with the modem right next to the radios of the router.

Also, I saw this fix in the TRAC:

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/14410


This also occurs with a regular reboot via administration tab.
lcruz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 20:53    Post subject: WZR-HP-G300NH with GlobeTrotter HSUPA Modem (Telava) Reply with quote
Looking for help getting an Option iCON 4xx to work with a Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH running build 14537

I have enabled USB Support, 3G/UMTS, Dial String *99# (3G/UMTS) or *99***1# (3G/UMTS), APN: GNE

But still have not been able to make this work.

Found the following:
NDIS or Standard modem emulation for compatibility with terminal programs/ diallers and for use with proprietary operating systems

AT Interface 3GPP TS27.005, ATD*99# and ATD*99*** CID # support

Multiple communication ports for simultaneous data call and network coverage reports

I can have the unit online for remote access pm if interested Help Confused:

<6>usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
<6>usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
<6>usbcore: registered new device driver usb
<6>usb usb1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
<6>usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
<6>usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial
<6>drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial Driver core
<6>drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial support registered for Sierra USB
modem
<6>usbcore: registered new interface driver sierra
<6>drivers/usb/serial/sierra.c: USB Driver for Sierra Wireless USB modems: v.1.7
.0
<6>drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial support registered for GSM modem
(1-port)
<6>usbcore: registered new interface driver option
<6>drivers/usb/serial/option.c: USB Driver for GSM modems: v0.7.1
<6>usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ar71xx-ehci and address 2
<6>usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
<7>usb-storage: device found at 2
<7>usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
<7>usb-storage: device scan complete

Found these settings for windows drivers:

ConnectString4 AT+CGREG?^0,1~0,5~1,1~1,5~
ConnectString5 AT_OWANCALL=1,1,1^OK~
ConnectString6 AT_OWANCALL?^,1~, 1~
ConnectString7 AT_OWANDATA?^OWANDATA~

Hardware ids:
OPTIONBUS\GTHS41_MDM


Last edited by lcruz on Sun Jun 06, 2010 22:52; edited 2 times in total
gobbledigook
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 727

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
hey there!

Our internet is gonna be down for a week - long story :'(

But i figured this would be an interesting way for checking emails etc...

But i'm not sure how to find the correct firmware?

I have a wrt600n - this is not supported by k26 builds? so cannot use.

also have a wrt160n - this is supported by k26... however only has a small amount of flash... so no BIG build is gonna fit Sad is there a way to tell if this functionality is in a later (smaller) build or how i could maybe take a mini build and add this functionality?

any help appreciated Smile
rinoronie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 8:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Masterman wrote:
Success here. Flashed WL500W with 14144 K26 mega, enabled USB, setup the connection type and rebooted. WAN is up! Cool


I try dd-wrt.v24-14536_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin and dd-wrt.v24-14536_NEWD-2_big.bin but I don't see 3g option in Connection Type. Why?
Please help me
daObi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have to use the brainslayer builds. 3G option is only available within these.
Download path e.g.
Code:
 Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 06-03-10-r14537
yokoloko
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 16:30    Post subject: Nokia CS10 Reply with quote
Was anyone able to get Nokia CS10 modem working ?

It connects as a storage device, I was able to eject the storage device by using usb_modeswitch application but it seems that the stick is still not being detected as a modem.

Any clue ?
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Masterman:

Can you share if you had to fill in the user/pw field or if you used the following:

user: user (edited after reading sprint Linux guide)
p/w : user (edited after reading sprint Linux guide)
Dial: #777

What else did you do, I just got a fresh RT-N16, with BS14537 Big.

I have a Novatel U760 USB 3G Modem from Sprint, but so far no connect on the WAN side.

Edit: Where and how do I enter the following parameters provided by Sprint's Linux guide?

For Novatel U760
Vendor ID: 0x1410 | Product ID: 0x6000

Disregard prior comment about modem only working on bottom USB connector, after further investigation, it was a physical form factor limitation. I added a little dongle and it worked on the top one too.

_________________
Asus RT-N16 Main
Linksys WRT350Nv1.0 RB
Linksys WRT300Nv1.1 RB
Linksys WRT54GSv4.0 RB
Linksys WRT54GSv6.0 RB w/issues
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
#Bump
_________________
Asus RT-N16 Main
Linksys WRT350Nv1.0 RB
Linksys WRT300Nv1.1 RB
Linksys WRT54GSv4.0 RB
Linksys WRT54GSv6.0 RB w/issues
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2070
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 15:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
The user and pwd were entered in the same form that the 3G ISP dictated. The only other thing I did was check the always reconnect box
_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-AC68U
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Engenious ECB350
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ105W
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 20:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
No Joy here... modem does not connect from my RT-N16.

Using Novatel U760 by Sprint.

I am unable to place the usb_modeswitch.conf file that has all the different config data for the 3G modems out there today on the /etc directory of my RT-N16.

If anyone knows the actual nvram command to make sure a file is added to the read only files system of the RT-N16, please let me know.

Also, do I need to move the .conf file to /etc/config or just /etc?

Hoping to get some guidance.

_________________
Asus RT-N16 Main
Linksys WRT350Nv1.0 RB
Linksys WRT300Nv1.1 RB
Linksys WRT54GSv4.0 RB
Linksys WRT54GSv6.0 RB w/issues
ESKIMOn00b
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
well i finally got it to recognise this T-Mo 3g stick, now here's hoping I'll get the new spring 3g/4g stick to work... but one thing i noticed was the handy little bandwidth monitoring utility, seems great, but it doesn't work(and i dont mean the normal bandwidth monotoring which works, but the special traffic tally that pops up when connected with 3g)... any one with it working?

id love to be able to remotely check up on the status of the bandwidth consumption (which would be possible if i could get the graph working), also id love to be able to set a cut off, or additionally, apply a level of throttling .5GB to 1GB before bandwidth cap.

any or all of these features in the special BS build (or any build for that matter) in the store would have me buying it in a heartbeat
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum