New WGR614

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 1:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
you may have to use the /skipdetect switch with the tjtagv3 command to skip CPU type checking.

I suggest you send a PM to Tornado and see if you can work with him to get the CFE off this unit.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 2:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 5356 cpu is a 4716 with radio and lan switch integrated, same as Asus RT-N10 so Eko's build for RT-N10 should theoretically work.

What is most interesting is a serial boot log, Netgear usually have one or more reserved partitions in the flash and with 4Mb flash that may not give enough room for Eko's RT-N10 K26 build.

The CFE for the router was included in the GPL code.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Martine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 3:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure if my jtag is working. My Xilinix cable (P-Port) shares the same pins as the tjtag pinout. I do get a ID.
There is a 25L3205 on the bottom of the board.
Anyone know what CPU ID I should be getting?

C:\tjtag>tjtag3 -backup:cfe /noreset /fc:21

==============================================
EJTAG Debrick Utility v3.0.1 Tornado-MOD
==============================================

Probing bus ... Done

Instruction Length set to 5

CPU Chip ID: 00000000000000010001000001111111 (0001107F)
*** Unknown or NO CPU Chip ID Detected ***

*** Possible Causes:
1) Device is not Connected.
2) Device is not Powered On.
3) Improper JTAG Cable.
4) Unrecognized CPU Chip ID.

C:\tjtag>tjtag3 -backup:cfe /skipdetect

==============================================
EJTAG Debrick Utility v3.0.1 Tornado-MOD
==============================================

Probing bus ... Done

Instruction Length set to 0

CPU Chip ID: 00000000000000000000000000000000 (00000000)
*** CHIP DETECTION OVERRIDDEN ***

- EJTAG IMPCODE ....... : 00000000000000000000000000000000 (00000000)
- EJTAG Version ....... : 1 or 2.0
- EJTAG DMA Support ... : Yes
- EJTAG Implementation flags: R4k MIPS32

Issuing Processor / Peripheral Reset ... Done
Enabling Memory Writes ... Done
Halting Processor ... <Processor Entered Debug Mode!> ... Done
Clearing Watchdog ... Done

Probing Flash at (Flash Window: 0x1fc00000) ...
Done

*** Unknown or NO Flash Chip Detected ***

*** REQUESTED OPERATION IS COMPLETE ***
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your cable may be ok, force instruction length to 32 with the switch /instrlen:32 and see if you can get a proper cpu id.
It should read 0x1535617F.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Martine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see what the problem is, No Target Vcc to the jtag programmer ;(. Easy fix, will try your sugestions.
I'll also try to get the boot info off the serial header. I have a max232 on a card that I can plug into the header.

Cheers
Martine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, So I got the Jtag working and I get the correct CPUID, however I can't get the CFE. All I get is zeros.

Now here is the serial console:
(I edited the MAC to XX-XX-XX)

Decompressing...done
Decompressing...done


CFE for WNR1000v3 version: 3.0.5
Build Date: Thu Nov 5 20:19:02 CST 2009
Boot partition size = 131072(0x20000)
Found a 4MB ST compatible serial flash
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet ContDecompressing...done


CFE for WNR1000v3 version: 3.0.5
Build Date: Thu Nov 5 20:19:02 CST 2009
Boot partition size = 131072(0x20000)
Found a 4MB ST compatible serial flash
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.46
Device eth0: hwaddr C0-3F-0E-XX-XX-XX, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
CPU ProcId is: 0x00019749, options: 0x000021cd

Primary instruction cache 32kb, linesize 32 bytes (4 ways)

Primary data cache 32kb, linesize 32 bytes (4 ways)

Linux version 2.4.20 (james@moonlight) (gcc version 3.2.3 with Broadcom modifications) #1 Mon Nov 16 19:45:44 CST 2009

Found a 4MB ST compatible serial flash

Determined physical RAM map:

memory: 01000000 @ 00000000 (usable)

On node 0 totalpages: 4096

zone(0): 4096 pages.

zone(1): 0 pages.

zone(2): 0 pages.

Kernel command line: root=/dev/mtdblock2 noinitrd console=ttyS0,115200

CPU: BCM5356 rev 1 at 333 MHz

Calibrating delay loop... 166.29 BogoMIPS

Memory: 14316k/16384k available (1408k kernel code, 2068k reserved, 108k data, 60k init, 0k highmem)

Dentry cache hash table entries: 2048 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)

Inode cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)

Mount-cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)

Buffer-cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)

Page-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)

Checking for 'wait' instruction... unavailable.

POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX

PCI: no core

PCI: Fixing up bus 0

Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4

Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039

Initializing RT netlink socket

Starting kswapd

devfs: v1.12c (20020818) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)

devfs: boot_options: 0x1

squashfs: version 3.2-r2 (2007/01/15) Phillip Lougher

Serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-0Cool with MANY_PORTS SHARE_IRQ SERIAL_PCI enabled

ttyS00 at 0xb8000300 (irq = Cool is a 16550A

PPP generic driver version 2.4.2

sflash: squash filesystem with lzma found at block 706

Creating 10 MTD partitions on "sflash":

0x00000000-0x00020000 : "boot"

0x00020000-0x003c8000 : "linux"

0x000b0a9c-0x003c8000 : "rootfs"

0x003c8000-0x003d8000 : "ML1"

0x003d8000-0x003e8000 : "ML2"

0x003e8000-0x003f0000 : "T_Meter1"

0x003f0000-0x003f8000 : "T_Meter2"

0x003f8000-0x003f9000 : "POT"

0x003f9000-0x003fa000 : "board_data"

0x003fa000-0x00400000 : "nvram"

NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0

IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP, IGMP

IP: routing cache hash table of 512 buckets, 4Kbytes

TCP: Hash tables configured (established 1024 bind 2048)

Linux IP multicast router 0.06 plus PIM-SM

NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.

NET4: Ethernet Bridge 008 for NET4.0

802.1Q VLAN Support v1.7 Ben Greear <greearb@candelatech.com>

All bugs added by David S. Miller <davem@redhat.com>

VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly.

Mounted devfs on /dev

Freeing unused kernel memory: 60k freed

Reading board data...
WSC UUID: 0xd85ece1252fe810439835ed0c9fe189c
convert_wlan_params_for_bssid: configure BSSID 2
convert_wlan_params_for_bssid: configure BSSID 3
convert_wlan_params_for_bssid: configure BSSID 4
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/drivers/net/emf/emf.o
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/drivers/net/igs/igs.o
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/drivers/net/et/et.o
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/drivers/net/wl/wl.o
Hit enter to continue...WARNING: console log level set to 1
waitpid: No child processes
waitpid: No child processes
killall: upnp: no process killed
UPnP daemon is ready to run
killall: wps_monitor: no process killed
killall: wps_ap: no process killed
killall: wps_enr: no process killed
Reading board data...
WSC UUID: 0xd85ece1252fe810439835ed0c9fe189c
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/net/ipv4/acos_nat/acos_nat.o
info, udhcp server (v0.9.Cool started
error, unable to parse 'option wins '
error, unable to parse 'option domain '
[a]the file size is 4294967295
POT integrity check OK.
IOCTL_AG_REGION_SET: English

Start DHCP client daemon
info, udhcp client (v0.9.Cool started
vlan1: No such process
Hit enter to continue...Hit enter to continue...Info: No FWPT default policies.
Using /lib/modules/2.4.20/kernel/net/ipv4/multissidcontrol/MultiSsidControl.o


Cheers
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Martine wrote:
Ok, So I got the Jtag working and I get the correct CPUID, however I can't get the CFE. All I get is zeros.



You'll have to pm Tornado and ask him for a pre-release of the next tjtag version, these new cpu's needs special jtag handling.

Your serlog shows the additional flash partitions that are common for Netgear routers, I have never seen an original wholeflash from them but assume that ML1 and ML2 are language files. I have no idea what T_Meter1, T_Meter2 and POT are..
dd-wrt overwrites all of them except for the board_data partition which has to the preserved, it contains MAC addresses, radio calibration parameters and so on.
It is therefore important that the router gets full dd-wrt support, ie can be identified by dd-wrt so that the board_data partition is kept.

You can, after doing a jtag wholeflash backup, load a generic K26 small mini build for test but you'll have to write it via jtag since there is no tftp or gui .chk file for this router.

The hardware is identical to the Asus RT-N10, it is after all a SOC (SystemOnaChip) cpu with only 2 external components, the ram and the flash ic's.

What differs between them is the reserved flash partitions and the CFE routines for loading a file via tftp (header differences).

Both of these routers suffers from poor radio performance with their original firmwares and also when dd-wrt is loaded.
It is a matter of the radio driver for single stream 802.11N, there will hopefully soon be a better driver available from Broadcom.

Good luck!

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
These have been out for quite a while now. In lieu of waiting for DDWRT support, you should at least do like I did over in this previous thread for the WGR614v10 last month and crossflash it to a WNR1000v3:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=65317

Free single radio N ftw!
Martine
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does the single channel stream work on the 614? Have you verified it?
Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
WGR614v10 and WNR1000v3 have the EXACT same underlying hardware (same FCC ID and everything...look at the docs and you'll see both routers on all the photos). The *only* difference is in the firmware. WGR614v10 fw limits you to b/g while the WNR1000v3 fw allows full b/g/n of the BCM5356 chipset. That's also why you see the CFE on the WGR614v10 report itself as a WNR1000v3 lol.

Only N device I have is my 360's N adapter and it reports itself as being connected at N speed but the platform doesn't really allow for a true test. No reason it shouldn't though as outlined above.
wgr614v10user
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 14:50    Post subject: WGR614v10 Reply with quote
Hi,
I just got one of these and would love to run it in bridge mode, like a gaming adapter. To be precise, I would like to use it to connect a TV that has an ethernet port to my wireless network.

As I am a complete novice with dd-wrt, I have no idea where to start. I spent hours reading on the wiki and the hardware support database, and the forums, and so on and am still not much the wiser.

Concretely:

1) By cross-flashing to WNR1000v3, do you mean download Netgear's firmware for that one and try to upload it with the WGR614v10's own web gui?

2) Where do I start if I want to flash it with dd-wrt? I seem to be unable to figure out where to download what from.

Thanks for any hints.
n3^^B!3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 18:20    Post subject: WNR1000v3 Bricks Reply with quote
Alright, I know this thread is old, but it seemed the most relevant. I have 3 WNR1000v3's. One is bricked. One won't allow any access to it because I omitted a parenthesis in an if statement in the firewall.c file (netgears open source firmware), and the third one one won't allow access either (started flashing new firmware to it willy-nilly and it apparently didn't like it). TFTP is not working for any of them. Any luck with tjtag, or do I need to donate them as test subjects? The CFE should be good on the last 2. I'm not so sure about the 1st one though.
JBstrikesagain
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jul 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

I have this router and was hoping it would work but the stock firmware (both the one that came on it and the latest from Netgear) both reject the dd-wrt.v24_mini-wgr614v8-L.chk file

If anyone knows how to get bridge mode (to make a WAP bridge) with stock firmware that would be great. (not as good as dd-wrt though!)
cyber062
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Apr 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
bump
_________________
Last builds:


ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/
ftp://ftp.barryware.net/Fractal%20Builds/DD-WRT-BINS/ or ftp://ftp.basmaf.com
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
cyber062 wrote:
bump


http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Known_incompatible_devices

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum