DST - Tonight (tomorrow morning)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13027
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 21:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would expect that the commands Luniz2k1 provided would work.

I only ran V23 for a few weeks if even that and never needed to issue the commands.

I know rebooting the router updates the time.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Sponsor
jfranklin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 22:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
I would expect that the commands Luniz2k1 provided would work.

I only ran V23 for a few weeks if even that and never needed to issue the commands.

I know rebooting the router updates the time.


If it were that easy I would have already done it. Sadly the build I'm running was created before DST was changed, so the start/stop dates are not accurate. It was an easy enough fix on my FreeBSD systems, just run make install in /usr/ports/misc/zoneinfo then run tzsetup and reselect my TZ. There is no obvious upgrade path for the TZ info, and since I can't even seem to find where in the directory structure the info is kept I have no hope of correcting it myself. I could just set the wrong TZ for a few weeks, then set it back, but I'd prefer to fix it than work around it.

I guess I could just go to a current build, but getting my router to take a flash is always an exercise in frustration.

I need to just move a FreeBSD box up to the front of the network and use it for routing, but I'm lazy like that.
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 16:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a bump to remind people how to get their time updated because of DST:

Code:
stopservice process_monitor
startservice process_monitor


Give a sec or 2 between each command. No reboot needed. Uptime will not be lost.

_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
somms
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 17:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luniz2k1 wrote:
Just a bump to remind people how to get their time updated because of DST:

Code:
stopservice process_monitor
startservice process_monitor


Give a sec or 2 between each command. No reboot needed. Uptime will not be lost.


Worked for me to update time on WRT320N to account for DST change but did cause a hiccup in my OpenVPN site-to-site connection. Will see if this corrects the fast running clock issue I'm having with the WRT320N: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=417189&highlight=#417189

_________________


Member of the Professional Aviation Safety Specialists Union!
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luniz2k1 wrote:
Just a bump to remind people how to get their time updated because of DST:

Code:
stopservice process_monitor
startservice process_monitor


Give a sec or 2 between each command. No reboot needed. Uptime will not be lost.
Excellent!!
_________________
The New Me
Traulinger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luniz2k1 wrote:
Run the following:
Code:
ntpclient pool.ntp.org
stopservice process_monitor
startservice process_monitor


Give a sec or 2 between each command. No reboot needed. Uptime will not be lost.


This worked perfectly for me as well. Thanks! Smile
rseiler
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 622

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
So...this seems to have worked automatically for exactly no one, including me. What's going on? Surely having it set right and on a working NTP is enough, and surely it checks these things once a day. Apparently not.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11436
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
rseiler wrote:
So...this seems to have worked automatically for exactly no one, including me. What's going on? Surely having it set right and on a working NTP is enough, and surely it checks these things once a day. Apparently not.


No...once again...an ongoing problem.

It is checked at boot up...then after 120 seconds for a second time....that's it.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/968

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2071
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ughh...I hate DST. Almost 7:30am here and still dark out...Hate it!
_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-AC68U
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Engenious ECB350
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ105W
rseiler
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 622

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 16:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
No...once again...an ongoing problem.

It is checked at boot up...then after 120 seconds for a second time....that's it.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/968

Wow, I definitely missed that conversation before.

And that dovetails perfectly with the WAN graph issue seen by some now and again, where it stops recording bandwidth. One reason is because the time is wrong (not an hour off, but unset). The time can be wrong because the router was rebooted when your connection wasn't live for whatever reason (e.g. DSL down, or a modem problem), and unaided the router never checks time again after that. I don't know why in that scenario the router doesn't simply stick with the time it had before the reboot instead of resetting it--and maybe it usually does remember it--but it certainly doesn't always do that.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1308
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
rseiler wrote:
So...this seems to have worked automatically for exactly no one, including me. What's going on? Surely having it set right and on a working NTP is enough, and surely it checks these things once a day. Apparently not.


No...once again...an ongoing problem.

It is checked at boot up...then after 120 seconds for a second time....that's it.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/968

redhawk


So is there any "special" script to get NTP to update once a day?

TIA

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| SSH | DDNS | 5x DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCP/Static IPs |
| Ad-Blocking | USB Storage - Scripts Only | 7x VLANs/BRs |
| WiFi 5x SSIDs | 2x OpenVPN-Clients | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 |
| ebtables | ip6tables |

2x R7000 - KONGAC 37985M Release 2018-12-16

______________________
YAMon 3.0 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DDWRT 60-day Timeline/changelogs
Kong Builds | DD-WRT Beta Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
voldemar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 18:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
No...once again...an ongoing problem.

It is checked at boot up...then after 120 seconds for a second time....that's it.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/968

redhawk
Here is mine situation:

Linksys 610v1 build svn 13000 std-nokaid-usb - time is fine
Netgear 3300 build svn 13230 std - time was off 1 hour

The ntp settings are exactly the same on both routers. Linksys is my main AP, Netgear is set as Client Bridge on 5GHz.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11436
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
voldemar wrote:
redhawk0 wrote:
No...once again...an ongoing problem.

It is checked at boot up...then after 120 seconds for a second time....that's it.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/968

redhawk
Here is mine situation:

Linksys 610v1 build svn 13000 std-nokaid-usb - time is fine
Netgear 3300 build svn 13230 std - time was off 1 hour

The ntp settings are exactly the same on both routers. Linksys is my main AP, Netgear is set as Client Bridge on 5GHz.



Restart the process_monitor on the host, then the client router.

It has to be performed on both units...host first...then clients.

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11436
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 19:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:

So is there any "special" script to get NTP to update once a day?

TIA


You could write a script and run it as a cron job once a day if you really want to.

I find it isn't necessary...once it gets the time...you should be all set after that...the majority of the problems are due to DST changes.

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
rseiler
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 622

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
IF it gets the time. That isn't always the case. All it takes is for a reboot when the NTP server is offline or when there's a momentary WAN interruption.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum