EOC-5610 Public WiFi Connection

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Senao Devices
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:39    Post subject: EOC-5610 Public WiFi Connection Reply with quote
I must preface this post with the statements that I am new to wireless networking, and that I have searched the DD-WRT website, Wiki, Forums, and internet, without success.

I have an EOC-5610 that I am trying to connect to a public WiFi HotSpot. The 5610 is connected to a switched hub, then to the PCs. DD-WRT v24-SP2 is installed.

The 5610 is set to "Client Bridge", security off (matches HotSpot), Static IP, DHCP disabled. Under the Status-->Wireless tab, I am able to do a site survey and, apparently, connect to the desired hotspot. (Non zero data in wireless packet data info, TX and RX).

My PCs can see the 5610 with the ping command, and connect via the web GUI. Their settings are:
IP: 192.168.123.XXX
Subnet: 255.255.255.000 (Matches 5610)
Gateway: 192.168.123.1 (5610 IP)
I am unable to access the internet with the PCs.

Is this due to a bridge configuration issue?

Thank you for your help.
Sponsor
majinsoftware
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
when using bridge you need to be in the same IP range and stuff.
Just use client mode with dchp auto and see if it works. If it does go to the wan tab in the status and take note of ip settings then change to those when using bridge.

_________________
Asus WL-520GC R1.02 - DD-WRT 24-sp2 (09/30/09) micro-plus (SVN revision 13000M NEWD Eko)
&
Asus WL-520GU R1.01 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/21/0Cool std (SVN revision 10550M NEWD Eko) With USB.
&
Eoc-2610 R1.1.13 - DD-WRT Pro v24-sp2 13972 (02/23/10) pro.
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I switched from client bridge mode to client mode, and enabled DHCP. My PC was set to obtain IP address utomatically. Pc was given an IP address, but still could not connect to internet. The router is set to:
IP: 192.168.123.1
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 0.0.0.0 (?Bridged to wireless?)
Local DNS: 0.0.0.0 (?Bridged to wireless?)

PC is at:
IP: 192.168.123.69
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.123.1

I am sure that there is something small, but annoying, that I am missing.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
wiki: client mode

and read:

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am not sure what "Moved" means in front of the post title.

I have read the WiKi on client mode. I have also read the forum rules.

The instructions in the WiKi make my router inaccessable, and they seem not to apply to a public WiFi connection.

I am able to connect to the HotSpot with a wireless NIC. Here is the info:

Network Name: Belkin_Pre-N_106346
Physical Address: 00-0E-3B-0A-39-D0
IP Address: 98.250.116.167
Subnet Mask: 255.255.248.0
Default Gateway: 98.250.112.1
DHCP Server: 68.87.77.16
Lease Obtained: 10/03/10 20:24:01
Lease Expires: 10/03/12 21:22:06
DNS Servers: 68.87.77.134, 68.87.72.134
WINS Server:

I am apparently able to connect to this with the EOC-5610 with Wireless mode: Client (Although the WAN IP remains 0.0.0.0. WAN Connection Type: Disabled, or Auto Config - DHCP.

Is there something that I am missing? Do I need to create a bridge? I am a bit unclear of what eth0, ath0, and etherip0 are (relate to ports and bridging)? Should I assign "Wan Port to Switch"?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
read again.:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode#The_easy_way
i have changed/added some stuff

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
The DD-WRT forum has not been too helpful: I am redirected to the WiKi article on "Client Mode". I have followed everything on the instructions, to the letter, without success.

Status Screens:

***Router:

**System
Router Name EOC-5610
Router Model Senao EOC-5610
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) std - build 13064
MAC Address 00:02:6F:XX:XX:XX
Host Name
WAN Domain Name
LAN Domain Name
Current Time Not available
Uptime 40 min

**CPU
CPU Model Atheros AR2313
CPU Clock 179 MHz
Load Average 4%0.04, 0.01, 0.07

**Memory
Total Available 89% 29316 kB / 32768 kB
Free 46% 13476 kB / 29316 kB
Used 54% 15840 kB / 29316 kB
Buffers 12% 1828 kB / 15840 kB
Cached 38% 6072 kB / 15840 kB
Active 8% 1342 kB / 15840 kB
Inactive 5% 862 kB / 15840 kB

**Space Usage
CIFS (Not mounted)
JFFS2 (Not mounted)

**Network
IP Filter Maximum Ports 4096
Active IP Connections 38

***WAN

**WAN
*Configuration Type
Connection Type Automatic Configuration - DHCP
Connection Uptime Not available
IP Address 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask 0.0.0.0
Gateway 0.0.0.0
DNS 1
DNS 2
DNS 3
Remaining Lease Time 0 days 00:00:00

**Traffic
*Total Traffic
Incoming (MBytes) 12
Outgoing (MBytes) 0

***LAN

**Local Network
*LAN Status
MAC Address 00:02:6F:XX:XX:XX
IP Address 192.168.123.1
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 0.0.0.0
Local DNS 0.0.0.0

*Active Clients
Host Name IP Address MAC Address Conn. Count Ratio [4096]
rick-01 192.168.123.105 00:23:54:XX:XX:XX 53 1%

**Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol
*DHCP Status
DHCP Server Enabled
DHCP Daemon DNSMasq
Start IP Address 192.168.123.100
End IP Address 192.168.123.149
Client Lease Time 1440 minutes

*DHCP Clients
Host Name IP Address MAC Address Client Lease Time
rick-01 192.168.123.105 00:23:54:XX:XX:XX 1 day 00:00:00

***Wireless

**Wireless
*Wireless Status
MAC Address 00:02:6F:XX:XX:XX
Radio Radio is On
Mode Client
Network BG-Mixed
SSID Belkin_Pre-N_106346
Channel 1 (2412 Mhz)
TX Power 22 dBm
Rate 36 Mb/s
ACK Timing 35µs (2100m)
Encryption - Interface ath0 Disable
PPTP Status Disconnected

*Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX) 100%298392 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX) 100%315 OK, no error

**Wireless Nodes
*Access Point
MAC Address Interface Uptime TX Rate RX Rate Signal Noise SNR Signal Quality
00:11:50:XX:XX:XX ath0 0:45:18 36M 54M -87 -96 9 8%

***SYS-Info

**System Information
Router
Router Name EOC-5610
Router Model Senao EOC-5610
LAN MAC 00:02:6F:XX:XX:XX
WAN MAC 00:02:6F:XX:XX:2D
Wireless MAC 00:02:6F:XX:XX:XX
WAN IP 0.0.0.0
LAN IP 192.168.123.1

*Wireless
Radio Radio is On
Mode Client
Network BG-Mixed
SSID Belkin_Pre-N_106346
Channel 1 (2412 Mhz)
TX Power 22 dBm
Rate 36 Mb/s

*Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX) 355620 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX) 357 OK, no error

*Services
DHCP Server Enabled
WRT-radauth Disabled
WRT-rflow Disabled
MAC-upd Disabled
CIFS Automount Disabled
Sputnik Agent Disabled

*Memory
Total Available 28.6 MB / 32.0 MB
Free 13.1 MB / 28.6 MB
Used 15.5 MB / 28.6 MB
Buffers 1.8 MB / 15.5 MB
Cached 5.9 MB / 15.5 MB
Active 1.3 MB / 15.5 MB
Inactive 0.8 MB / 15.5 MB

*Space Usage
CIFS (Not mounted)
JFFS2 (Not mounted)


**Wireless
*Access Point
MAC Address Interface Uptime TX Rate RX Rate Signal Noise SNR Signal Quality
xx:xx:xx:xx:37:d5 ath0 0:51:25 36M 54M -87 -96 9 8%

**DHCP
*DHCP Clients
Host Name IP Address MAC Address Client Lease Time
rick-01 192.168.123.105 xx:xx:xx:xx:9A:8D 1 day 00:00:00
majinsoftware
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
It doesnt have a wan ip.
So eather your too far away and it timing out because there ack is set too low, Or they could have dhcp disabled or just trying going to the wan page and clicking the button to get a new IP.

Cant remember it off the top of my head and im to drunk to be bothered searching.

_________________
Asus WL-520GC R1.02 - DD-WRT 24-sp2 (09/30/09) micro-plus (SVN revision 13000M NEWD Eko)
&
Asus WL-520GU R1.01 - DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/21/0Cool std (SVN revision 10550M NEWD Eko) With USB.
&
Eoc-2610 R1.1.13 - DD-WRT Pro v24-sp2 13972 (02/23/10) pro.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 13:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
and mangelhaft screenshots are more helpfull! as its mentionend in the guidelines!

and as is see u havent read the wiki cause u would have set a wan ip.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
MichelG
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 903
Location: Galati - RO / Kishinev - MD / Geneva - CH / Tarragona - E

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
When you are in client mode, there is no WAN IP. All is LAN. You connect to the AP wireless, so you get an IP from it. Using another subnet is necessary to reach your clients side (pc, laptop, etc).

This behaviour is normal. Very Happy

Read slowly, and perform step by step the instructions, you will find alone where you did a mistake. Anyway, we all started one day ;)

Cheers. Michel

_________________
2x EOC-2160 - AP 2x14dB Yagy to 450m link
2x EOC-2160 - RP 2x17dB Panels - 2x 7Mbps
1x WRT54G v2.2 - V24-SP2 13577VPN Eko
All Senao EOC-2610 V1.10 Std 15362 BS
1x UBNT Bullet 2 - RP 18dB Panel - 11Mbps - 13Km link
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
So which is it? WAN IP or no WAN IP? Router in Client, DHCP, different subnet as Access point, ACK set to 2000 (default).
I am able to connect to the access piont with a wireless NIC. Even when I set the WAN Connection Type to Static and mirror the wireless NIC settings, still no internet access.So which is it? WAN IP or no WAN IP? Router in Client, DHCP, different subnet as Access point, ACK set to 2000 (default).
I am able to connect to the access piont with a wireless NIC. Even when I set the WAN Connection Type to Static and mirror the wireless NIC settings, still no internet access.

Also, I have followed the Wiki Instructions as I would an AF preflight checkliet.
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I solved the problem!!

I enabled MAC cloning and cloned the MAC from the wireless adapter as well as from the PC.

I am also sure that Comcast has set-up their wireless routers to do some sort of MAC filtering to block other wireless routers, not PCs.

...now to get the Cisco router on-line...
...the saga continues...
Thank you, everybody, for all of your help.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
mangelhaft wrote:

I am also sure that Comcast has set-up their wireless routers to do some sort of MAC filtering to block other wireless routers, not PCs.

definitely not. they cant differentiate the macs.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
mangelhaft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Dearborn, MI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 17:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any insight on why this was not working, until I cloned the MACs?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
no but i guess it must be something different
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Senao Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum