DD-WRT support for verizon 7501 bulit by westell

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 53, 54, 55  Next
Author Message
link626
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
what's this stuff about debugging?

is that necessary?


maybe someone can upload a firmware with a modified config.linux, and someone with 2 of these routers can try it on their spare one.....
Sponsor
kevinqian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
link626 wrote:
what's this stuff about debugging?

is that necessary?


maybe someone can upload a firmware with a modified config.linux, and someone with 2 of these routers can try it on their spare one.....


lol well unless you want to brick your router with a buggy build, you should compile and debug it first. I think that's what that Jtag thing does, gives a demo runtime of the compiled FW before actually installing it onto the router. I, of course, am completely talking outta my ass right now but i think i'm on the right track.
RonnyJ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
As soon as you guys are ready, I am willing to test the firmware on my router. I bought three of these things because it was such a good deal.

Someone recommended putting dd-wrt on the router so I could use it for more things. I then realized that I could use one as a client bridge for my modded xbox in a different room that doesn't have ethernet ran.

When someone is ready with some firmware, include the exact instructions on what to do,because I have no experience with dd-wrt or any of the components used to install it. Although, I do have a basic understanding of networking and turning regular routers into access points.
exnetgear
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
RonnyJ wrote:
As soon as you guys are ready, I am willing to test the firmware on my router. I bought three of these things because it was such a good deal.

Someone recommended putting dd-wrt on the router so I could use it for more things. I then realized that I could use one as a client bridge for my modded xbox in a different room that doesn't have ethernet ran.

When someone is ready with some firmware, include the exact instructions on what to do,because I have no experience with dd-wrt or any of the components used to install it. Although, I do have a basic understanding of networking and turning regular routers into access points.


You won't really help out by bricking your router. If you sincerely want to help, donate one of your "extra" routers to any on this thread who know what they are doing. This will greatly speed things up.
kevinqian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
RonnyJ wrote:
As soon as you guys are ready, I am willing to test the firmware on my router. I bought three of these things because it was such a good deal.

Someone recommended putting dd-wrt on the router so I could use it for more things. I then realized that I could use one as a client bridge for my modded xbox in a different room that doesn't have ethernet ran.

When someone is ready with some firmware, include the exact instructions on what to do,because I have no experience with dd-wrt or any of the components used to install it. Although, I do have a basic understanding of networking and turning regular routers into access points.


lol you are a true martyr.
link626
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
kevinqian wrote:
link626 wrote:
what's this stuff about debugging?

is that necessary?


maybe someone can upload a firmware with a modified config.linux, and someone with 2 of these routers can try it on their spare one.....


lol well unless you want to brick your router with a buggy build, you should compile and debug it first. I think that's what that Jtag thing does, gives a demo runtime of the compiled FW before actually installing it onto the router. I, of course, am completely talking outta my ass right now but i think i'm on the right track.




i don't know jack about linux. But I really doubt setting ONE item in config.linux to "=y" will brick a router..... esp the usb items



speaking of linux, i'm having a hell of a time getting this shhtt installed on virtualpc/box.

HUGE learning curve.
link626
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
FOCK!

this is pissing me off. tried compiling on my Athlon II x4 in 64bit fedora 12.

i woulda thought Fedora 12 would have everything.

I extract everything in their proper folders:

I have 2 main folders after extraction-
/opt/toolchains/SW
/opt/toolchains/westell_msw2


and then i get this error:
Quote:

[root@FED12 SW]# make PROFILE=A90-750115
making all for A90-750115
make -C /opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115 all
make[1]: Entering directory `/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115'
echo "A90-750115" > /opt/toolchains/SW/.PROFILE
***** Configuring Linux kernel *****
cp -f /opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/config.linux /opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/objects/.config
yes "" | make -C /opt/toolchains/SW/linux/linux-2.6.8.1 O=/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/objects oldconfig > /dev/null
/bin/sh: gcc: command not found
make[4]: *** [scripts/basic/fixdep] Error 127
make[3]: *** [scripts_basic] Error 2
make[2]: *** [oldconfig] Error 2
make[1]: *** [/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/objects/.config] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115'
make: *** [all] Error 2
[root@FED12 SW]#



so i installed gcc, and i still get another compiling error, not to mention the crapload of warnings.
looks like I won't ever figure out what tools I need for this.


how about you guys compile the default firmware, and load it into the router, and see if anything changes?

if nothing changes, that means the firmware is good.
acergeezer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 16:34    Post subject: Broadcom SOC bcm6358 Reply with quote
I haven't seen this in any post so far. Here is the Broadcom product brief in pdf format.

I hope it is useful. With all the Westell 7501's out there, there's definitely a need for "undisabled" firmware. Unfortunately, I don't know how to write code and I haven't used Linux very often.



BCM6358.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  BCM6358.pdf
 Filesize:  212.43 KB
 Downloaded:  1661 Time(s)

acergeezer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 16:49    Post subject: product brief Broadcom SOC 6358 Reply with quote
Hope this if helpful to someone that knows what it all means.

(BTW, Westell 7500 is a DSL Gateway Modem/Router combination. 7501 is router only. Same cpu is used.)



BCM6358.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  BCM6358.pdf
 Filesize:  212.43 KB
 Downloaded:  1165 Time(s)

cgigate
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
the CPU is BCM6359 not is BCM6358.
Not sure the BCM6359 is same as BCM6358 , or not.
I got one document says BCM6359 is lite BCM6358 version.

_________________
acergeezer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 17:58    Post subject: bcm 6358 vs 5359 Reply with quote
[quote="cgigate"]the CPU is BCM6359 not is BCM6358.
Not sure the BCM6359 is same as BCM6358 , or not.
I got one document says BCM6359 is lite BCM6358 version.[/quote]

Not to wear this out, but I can't find the place where I saw the difference explained. It was an "incremental" difference-like 16MB ram instead of 32MB or a revision of CPU speed (lower of course) to save $.50 in cost.

This is the best list of BCM chipset family trees I've found so far:

BCM6358 ADSL2+

BCM6358GW ADSL2+ 11n WLAN Gateway
BCM6358VW2 ADSL2+ 11g WLAN USB Gateway
CANT-3 ADSL2+ 11g WLAN 3G Femto USB Gateway
CANT-G ADSL2+ 11g WLAN VoIP USB Gateway
CANT-H ADSL2+ 11g WLAN VoIP DECT USB Gateway
CANT-J ADSL2+ 11n WLAN Gateway
CANT-O ADSL2+ 11n WLAN USB Gateway
CANT-S ADSL2+ 11n WLAN VoIP USB Gateway
CANT-T ADSL2+ 11n WLAN VoIP DECT USB Gateway
CANT-W ADSL2+ 11g WLAN VoIP USB Gateway
CANT-Y ADSL2+ 11g WLAN VoIP USB Gateway
CANT-Z ADSL2+ 11g WLAN VoIP DECT USB Gateway
DANT-D ADSL2+ 11g WLAN VoIP USB Gateway

BCM6358 VDSL2

VDNT-C VDSL2 Residential Gateway
VDNT-D(0) VDSL2 11g WLAN VoIP USB Gateway
VDNT-D(1) VDSL2 11g WLAN VoIP USB Gateway


As you can see from some of the pictures in the forum, even though it has 6359 silkscreened on the outside, it reports as a 6358 when queried. In my experience, if the chip says it's a '58, treat it like a '58.

Thanks to lijianch:

Device Id: 00000110001101011000000101111111 (0x000000000635817F)
Manufacturer: Broadcom
Part(1): BCM6358
Stepping: V1
Filename: /usr/local/share/urjtag/broadcom/bcm6358/bcm6358


from the OpenWrt.org site, I found it is also used in:
Neuf Box 4
Inventel Livebox
D-Link DSL-2650U
D-Link DSL-2740B
Pirelli Alice Gate VoIP 2 Plus Wi-Fi AGPF-S0

And according to the Linux-Mips.org:

Cable modem series includes BCM33xx SoCs, these SoCs are internally not different from the BCM63xx SoCs (except the CPU speed I'm guessing)

I just hope someone can make sense out of all this. Lots of info but not enough knowledge on my part.
cgigate
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 19:03    Post subject: Re: bcm 6358 vs 5359 Reply with quote
acergeezer wrote:

Device Id: 00000110001101011000000101111111 (0x000000000635817F)
Manufacturer: Broadcom
Part(1): BCM6358
Stepping: V1
Filename: /usr/local/share/urjtag/broadcom/bcm6358/bcm6358

the information got from Jtag.
because the jtag app not BCM6359 in database, then shows BCM6358 instead of real BCM6359.
actually, the device is well neat designed

_________________


Last edited by cgigate on Tue Feb 23, 2010 23:59; edited 1 time in total
FSUNolez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have no problem testing one of these since I have quite a few. I bought 6 for $42 shipped and have already sold two for $70. If one bricks, I'll easily get over it. Very Happy
cgigate
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 20:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Built serial cable for it. it works fine. I got in reboot info, it shows 8M flash and 32M RAM
it looks and sounds a great router, if figure out to load dd-wrt
It looks impossible to TFTP way to flash the rom, the boot-up process could not be stopped

"=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= PuTTY log 2010.02.23 13:52:18 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=

C0GDTW

WESTELL - ROM Bootloader
(C) Copyright 2006 WESTELL, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

TESTING SDRAM
................................................................................................
PASSED

WESTELL - MAIN Bootloader
Reboot command 800000
Device 0 -- FLASH start addr BE000000 Flash end addr BE3FFFFF
Device 1 -- FLASH start addr BE400000 Flash end addr BE7FFFFF
Flash start BE000000 end BE7FFFFF size 00800000
No App Reboot Information found: 1
find App Boot Data ERROR: 1
Linux version 2.6.8.1 (mlync@lxdev32) (gcc version 3.4.4) #1 Thu May 22 15:10:04 CDT 2008

Westell prom init
get_ethernet_addr: 00:18:xx:xx:xx:xx
Bootloader Watchdog State ON
CPU revision is: 0002a010
Determined physical RAM map:
memory: 01fa0000 @ 00000000 (usable)
On node 0 totalpages: 8096
DMA zone: 8096 pages, LIFO batch:1
Normal zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:1
HighMem zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:1
Built 1 zonelists
Kernel command line: root=/dev/mtdblock2 ro bootmode=prod boottype=cold memsize=0x2000000 flashsize=0x800002 ethaddr=00:18:XX:XX:XX:XX ipaddr=192.168.1.1 wdog=on
brcm mips: enabling icache and dcache...
Primary instruction cache 32kB, physically tagged, 2-way, linesize 16 bytes.
Primary data cache 16kB 2-way, linesize 16 bytes.
PID hash table entries: 128 (order 7: 1024 bytes)
Using 150.000 MHz high precision timer.
Dentry cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
Memory: 29228k/32384k available (2085k kernel code, 3136k reserved, 402k data, 84k init, 0k highmem)
Calibrating delay loop... 299.82 BogoMIPS
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
Checking for 'wait' instruction... unavailable.
NET: Registered protocol family 16
Can't analyze prologue code at 80217e38
usbcore: registered new driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new driver hub
Initializing Cryptographic API
Device 0 -- FLASH start addr be000000 Flash end addr be3fffff
Device 1 -- FLASH start addr be400000 Flash end addr be7fffff
Flash start be000000 end be7fffff size 00800000
Loading Flash Header Data. FLASH_START_ADRS=0xbe000000, FLASH_BOOT_ADRS=0xbe000000
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
PPP Deflate Compression module registered
PPP BSD Compression module registered
NET: Registered protocol family 24
Using anticipatory io scheduler
AppType search found 'A_MainApp' at BE2BE41C; search continues for 'A_ROOTFS'
Search for 'A_ROOTFS' matched 'A_ROOTFS' at 0xbe387f58
Search for 'A_MainApp' matched 'A_MainApp' at 0xbe2be41c
physmap flash device: 0x800000 at 0xbe000000
Creating 4 MTD partitions on "Physically mapped flash":
0x00000000-0x00020000 : "bootloader"
0x00387ffc-0x007ffffc : "rootfs"
0x002be4c0-0x00387f58 : "kernel"
0x00020000-0x00110000 : "ffs"
......................................

_________________


Last edited by cgigate on Tue Feb 23, 2010 20:57; edited 11 times in total
x1n
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like you're on the right track there, I compiled with Debian 64-bit Lenny without a problem.. however I think you just have a PATH problem, try this:

export PATH=$PATH:/opt/toolchains/westell_msw2/bin

and that should get it compiling.

Actually, you also need to install build-essentials for Fedora, I am unsure of the package name. but you need the development tools, ie: gcc

if I recall correctly, try this in Fedora Core:

yum groupinstall "Development Tools" "Legacy Software Development"

link626 wrote:
FOCK!

this is pissing me off. tried compiling on my Athlon II x4 in 64bit fedora 12.

i woulda thought Fedora 12 would have everything.

I extract everything in their proper folders:

I have 2 main folders after extraction-
/opt/toolchains/SW
/opt/toolchains/westell_msw2


and then i get this error:
Quote:

[root@FED12 SW]# make PROFILE=A90-750115
making all for A90-750115
make -C /opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115 all
make[1]: Entering directory `/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115'
echo "A90-750115" > /opt/toolchains/SW/.PROFILE
***** Configuring Linux kernel *****
cp -f /opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/config.linux /opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/objects/.config
yes "" | make -C /opt/toolchains/SW/linux/linux-2.6.8.1 O=/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/objects oldconfig > /dev/null
/bin/sh: gcc: command not found
make[4]: *** [scripts/basic/fixdep] Error 127
make[3]: *** [scripts_basic] Error 2
make[2]: *** [oldconfig] Error 2
make[1]: *** [/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115/objects/.config] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/opt/toolchains/SW/targets/A90-750115'
make: *** [all] Error 2
[root@FED12 SW]#



so i installed gcc, and i still get another compiling error, not to mention the crapload of warnings.
looks like I won't ever figure out what tools I need for this.


how about you guys compile the default firmware, and load it into the router, and see if anything changes?

if nothing changes, that means the firmware is good.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 53, 54, 55  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 55
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum