ASUS RT-G32 Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
forzar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jan 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
During the process of flashing with different images I've made a stupid mistake, erasing flash by "fis init -f". So, I do believe that board config is cleaned up, bdrestore returns:

RedBoot> bdmove
No board config data found!
RedBoot> bdrestore
Board config found at 0xbff90000
No board config data found!

So, neither linux.bin or original firmware from asus doesnt start anymore. Does anybody has an experience in such a case, is there any way to restore the board config?
Sponsor
sergenf56
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not sure what you mean by "restore board config", but if you want to to reinstall dd-wrt, instructions are on 2'nd page using redboot. We are still at a quandary on how to install the original firmware after installing dd-wrt.
LD02
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
sergenf56 wrote:
I'm not sure what you mean by "restore board config", but if you want to to reinstall dd-wrt, instructions are on 2'nd page using redboot. We are still at a quandary on how to install the original firmware after installing dd-wrt.


Hi,
I've read this topic 3 or 4 times... DO NOT PUT DD-WRT on RT-G32, at this time its NOT reversibile !!!

Main reason is that it hangs on havy traffic. Original firmware RT-G32_V3.0.2.1_RU09.bin, its better .. it my personal opinion.

DD-WRT is, however, incredibile... it gives you a lot of infos and control facilities. I hope the 'hang' issue will be resolved or patched in a way because i couldnt reverse to original firmware.

PS. Thanks Tilex ! Nice, useful, easy to coprenhend an implement how to.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
and where is the question?! u r wasting the peoples time with such comments!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
LD02
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
and where is the question?! u r wasting the peoples time with such comments!


I'm sorry if I disturb you..

Facts are:
- DD-WRT its a great piece of software...congrats for that. With this router though, it needs more tweaking.

- The last original firmware its better in some ways, but not perfect..

My question:
- besides the faq with tcp tweaking and limiting torrent connections, is there a patch for the current release of the DD-WRT for the RT-G32 model?

Thanks.
floyd1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi.
i cant open session in putty to start the redboot , i have a message;session closed by remote host
conexion timed out!!!
i have in my pc, an XP. and im following the instrucions step by step for the static IP and tftp....
but i cant get a session !!!!
LD02
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
floyd1 wrote:
hi.
i cant open session in putty to start the redboot , i have a message;session closed by remote host
conexion timed out!!!
i have in my pc, an XP. and im following the instrucions step by step for the static IP and tftp....
but i cant get a session !!!!


1. THINK TWICE before doing this !
2. after setting static ip, power off router, wait 20-30 sec, then push reset button and hold, replug the power cord to the ruter.. in the tutorial it saz 3 seconds, well try to connect after the NIC has established connection ! to soon (the PC has no ip because its not seeing the link) will fail, to late also fails..so try to hit connect imediatley after you have a link with the router.
hs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is a way to flash to factory firmware. http://blog.babara.ru/otkat-asus-rt-g32-na-standartnuyu-proshivku.html#comment-567 Only in Russian Smile
VladMgn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hellow from Russia ! Smile
Forgive for poor-quality English language :oops:


Router restoration asus rt-g23
1. We swing Putty and tftp32,(100 % are if flashing on dd-wrt)
2. We put static IP on comp
ip 192.168.1.166
mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.1.1

3. We start putty with parametres

host name: 192.168.1.1
port: 9000
connection type: telnet
close window on exit: never
4. We pull out a cable from a router, and it is inserted, we wait 3 – 10 сек, and connect (some attempts probably are required).
5. Now enter following commands into yours Telnet the client: [my comments in square brackets]

fis init [press enter]

y [press enter]

reset [press enter]

We close a window putty.

6. We prepare a standard insertion, and Firmware Restoration, we start it we choose an insertion file.
We establish static ip адресс 192.168.1.254 other fields it is left by the former.
We pull out a cable from a router, we press behind a button reset and holding it we insert a cable and we wait, while
Bulb WLAN will start quickly – to blink quickly. We release the button reset, and in Firmware Restoration ждмём upload.
We wait about 5 minutes. In Firmware Restoration should insertion Succes will be displayed type.
7. We change back static ip on 192.168.1.166
8. We start Tftp the client, in dir with it we throw a file http://vladmgn.ru/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/config.txtdelete extesison txt = config
9. We start putty connect as it is described above.
10. Now enter following commands into yours Telnet the client: [my comments in square brackets]

ip_address-l 192.168.1.1/24-h 192.168.1.166 [press enter]
load-r-b % {FREEMEMLO} config [press enter]
fis create-l 0×00010000-f 0xBFFD0000-e 0×00000000-r 0xBFFD0000 config [press enter]
fconfig [press enter]
fis load-l vmlinux.bin.l7 [press enter]
exec-c «root =/dev/mtdblock1 rootfs=squashfs» [press 12 times enter]

y [press enter]
reset

11. We close Putty, ждмём while the router will be loaded. A login on router Admin.

That's all, and yes for those who climbed in fconfig’e and itself that that there has got change.

RedBoot> fconfig-l
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
. fis load-l vmlinux.bin.l7
. exec-c «root =/dev/mtdblock1 rootfs=squashfs»

Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 2
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false
Gateway IP address: 192.168.0.88
Local IP address: 192.168.0.1
Local IP address mask: 255.255.255.0
Default server IP address: 192.168.0.88
Console baud rate: 9600
GDB connection port: 9000
Force console for special debug messages: false
Network debug at boot time: false


Last edited by VladMgn on Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:29; edited 1 time in total
Flo_Florin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you,but doesn't work. Sad
lisxxx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
exec-c "root =/dev/mtdblock1 rootfs=squashfs"

so correctly


In redboot «» converted to "."
sergenf56
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
It didn't work for me, and I'm fluent in Russian, and read all the replies on the site. They're trying to get someone with a factory rt-g32 do a flash dump and post it.

RedBoot> dump -b 0xbff90000 -l 0x1000

wireshark noticed the communication between the restore utility and the router.

>load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} vmlinux.ap61.bin.l7
>fis create -l 0xb0000 -f 0xbff20000 -e 0×80041400 -r 0×80041000 vmlinux.bin.l7
>load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} squashfs.ap61.lzma
>fis create -f 0xbfc30000 -e 0 rootfs -l 0×2F0000
>reset

no changes to fconfig are being made, which is why those of us who modified our fconfigs are left in the cold right now.
VladMgn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://vladmgn.ru/?p=24 100% i am testing - its work! But need you config.cfg
sergenf56
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry to say, that didn't work for me. I think I may have totally ruined my router. It only cost me $25, so no big deal. I'll wait for SP2 to be officially released, I think they'll fix those problems we had.
LD02
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 21:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello again !
I finally made it !!! YES i return from dd-wrt firmware to original asus firmware V3.0.2.1.

With your permission i shall post how I did it. Of course the main "source" was http://vladmgn.ru/?p=24 (yes russian ppl rocks to Smile ), google translation from russian to romanian, yahoo bable fish translation from russian to english.

so lets begin..connect to RedBoot (you know how..or look at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/ASUS_RT-G32 )

1. fis init
2. y
3. put this file ( http://vladmgn.ru/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/config.txt ) renamed into "config" in your tftp root directory
4. ip_address -l 192.168.1.1/24 -h 192.168.1.166
(of course your ip address is 192.168.1.166)
5. load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} config
6. fis create -l 0x00010000 -f 0xBFFD0000 -e 0x00000000 -r 0xBFFD0000 config
7. fconfig [ 2 times enter !!]
8. fis load -l vmlinux.bin.l7
9. exec -c “root=/dev/mtdblock1 of rootfs=squashfs”
10. after 12 times enter, type the "y"

now dont worry, you dont have vmlinux on your router... keep reading ;p

11. reset

Now,
- close putty,
- change ip address to 192.168.1.254, DONT FORGET to CLOSE tftp (that's why all of you receive "Socket error" with the firmware restoration tool)
- open original Firmware Restoration
- take off the power from router
- repower the router, HOLDING down "reset" button from router
- BEGIN Firmware Restoration (select RT-G32_V3.0.2.1_RU09.bin).. i was STILL PRESSING the reset button until 5% then i released the reset button

And voila ! Firmware restoration was succesfully ended. After 1-2 min, connect to web interface and restore factory defaults; its NECESSARY !!!

Good luck !!! If I could do it, so can you..just pay attention and read all before starting.

PS. I'm still "comparing" dd-wrt with original..if one can say "compare"...anyway its a little more stable the original firmware than dd-wrt and doesnt hang on wireless havy traffic - torrents
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 10
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum