How to set up the Fonera HeartBeat?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:21    Post subject: How to set up the Fonera HeartBeat? Reply with quote
I see that the WAN Connection Type has a choice as "HeartBeat Signal". I'd like to run HeartBeat, but what do I put for "Heart Beat Server"?

Thanks!

_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17637
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
"HeartBeat Signal" != Fon HeartBeat
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright, thanks for the clarification.
I've also tried this way,
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/LaFonera_Software_Heartbeat
but it doesn't seem to work.

The router is connected to my main router as just a.. network device. WAN and DHCP are disabled. What I see that is concerning is this:
Code:
root@DD-WRT Fonera 2100 1:~# ping www.google.com
root@DD-WRT Fonera 2100 1:~# ping www.yahoo.com
root@DD-WRT Fonera 2100 1:~# ping 64.233.181.105 <== IP of google.com
PING 64.233.181.105 (64.233.181.105): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 64.233.181.105: seq=0 ttl=50 time=194.896 ms
64 bytes from 64.233.181.105: seq=1 ttl=50 time=193.995 ms
64 bytes from 64.233.181.105: seq=2 ttl=50 time=191.196 ms
64 bytes from 64.233.181.105: seq=3 ttl=50 time=192.278 ms

--- 64.233.181.105 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 191.196/193.091/194.896 ms
root@DD-WRT Fonera 2100 1:~# ping 209.131.36.158 <== IP of yahoo.com
PING 209.131.36.158 (209.131.36.158): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 209.131.36.158: seq=0 ttl=56 time=15.639 ms
64 bytes from 209.131.36.158: seq=1 ttl=56 time=23.447 ms
64 bytes from 209.131.36.158: seq=2 ttl=56 time=17.030 ms
64 bytes from 209.131.36.158: seq=3 ttl=56 time=14.561 ms

--- 209.131.36.158 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 14.561/17.669/23.447 ms
root@DD-WRT Fonera 2100 1:~#

My guess is a DNS issue? Why is there no output when I try to ping the URLs? My WRT54GL main router with DD-WRT can ping the URLs just fine, and is where I got the IP addresses in the first place.

_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone know of a working method of getting my Fonera shown as online at fon.com, without using the actual Fonera ROM?
_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum