Mapping

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods
Author Message
gpzj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 0:11    Post subject: Mapping Reply with quote
Please tell me if I put this in the wrong area of the forum. This is the closest I can find to my question.

What I'm trying to do is map a network drive on the computers on my network using my Linksys wrt 54g with DD WRT on it. I was looking in the scripting section of the site, but all I could really find was info on mounting the share that would be connected directly to the router (via USB).

We have 2 Desktops, one with 7 RTM, the other with Vista Home Prem, and two laptops with 7 RTM on them.

I thought about using a Windows Server VM but, not all PCs are on to allow that to work, and if I want to play a video game, I would want to shut down the VM.

I know I can use Windows to mount it itself (on the PC or laptop itself). But as far as the laptops are concerned, they will throw a fit about not finding it once we're off the network.

Does anyone know if there's a script for this type of thing? Does DD WRT just use Perl? Could I write a Perl script to do this? Or will only specific script variables work?

Thanks!

Justin
Sponsor
mixmasta
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
You really aren't describing what you are trying to do to well.

You want any computer that connects to your router to automatically map a network drive?
gpzj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:09    Post subject: Mapping Reply with quote
Yes, I want any pc connected to the network to get the network drive mapped. I would prefer a script to do this on the router itself so that if the laptops are on another network, like a school network, they won't give us the annoying error pop ups when it cannot connect to the shared drive.
tijeff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 23:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is not something a router can do out of the box. This is on the OS level on the client(your home Pcs) side. Big network manage this by having novel server or a windows domain server. This is not somthing you can do from a simple DHCP router

Please correct me if I'm wrong
cptbob123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
You would need to connect to a domain for this...

So the question is, can dd-wrt have samba installed... if so you can use a router with dd-wrt installed.

Sorry the answer isn't there but hope it helps you het to where you need to get to...
tijeff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 11:56    Post subject: Oops Reply with quote
I didn't know samba could act as a primary windows domain controller. If samba can fit in the router , your project may be feasible

Have a look at :
http://www.freeos.com/articles/3842/

and
http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:fr:official&hs=0qQ&ei=Lwy6SvGCI4rANYfcod0P&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=0&ct=result&cd=1&q=samba+as+windows+domain+controller&spell=1
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum