HDsamba Version 3 Available

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35  Next
Author Message
Pandora-Box
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 218
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
CUPS=Common Unix Printing System
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUPS
it is included in samba 3 for (windows) printing support
Wink

_________________
Netgear R7000
Sponsor
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pandora-Box wrote:
CUPS=Common Unix Printing System
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUPS
it is included in samba 3 for (windows) printing support
Wink

Ah ok thx , I do not need that at this point in time.

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was sooooooo close Confused Confused

This is what I have done to migrate from HDsamba2.2.12 v3.00 to Samba3.2.13:
Updated: Aug 22nd, 2009 with the feedback from jjgarciasp

I'm assuming the router is on 192.168.1.1
I'm assuming you have used the v3install.HDsamba2 script to install samba.
The smb.conf below is for an open SHARE (no password authentication required)
I'm running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/10/09) mega - build 12476M NEWD Eko on a WRT610N (no V1), CFE .16/7.
My client machines are (amongst others) XP Professional/32 and Vista Ultimate/64

Check that you have BusyBox v1.13.4 installed. BusyBox seems to have ammended code to support Long File Sizes (I haven't tested it without BusyBox). The version is displayed immedeatly following your password input when you log in to the router. Else:
Quote:
ipkg-opt install busybox


Remove samba 2.2.12 and install samba 3.2.13
Quote:
ipkg-opt remove samba2
ipkg-opt install samba


I noticed that the old smb.conf for samba2 has been removed during the previous step so I copied it back:
Quote:
cp /mnt/opt/etc/samba/smb.last smb.conf


Add following line to the [global] paragraph in smb.conf:
Quote:
interfaces = 192.168.1.1/24


I used testparm to test smb.conf:
Quote:
testparm /mnt/opt/etc/samba/smb.conf

Result looks fine:
Quote:
Processing section "[data]"
Module '/opt/lib/charset/CP850.so' loaded
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

[global]
workgroup = MSHOME
netbios name = USBDISK
server string = USBDISK
interfaces = 192.168.1.1/24
security = SHARE
map to guest = Bad User
log file = /opt/var/log/samba/samba_log.%m
max log size = 100
name resolve order = wins hosts lmhosts bcast
socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
load printers = No
dns proxy = No
wins support = Yes
remote announce = 192.168.1.255
hosts allow = 192.168.1.0/24

[data]
path = /mnt/data/
force user = root
read only = No
inherit permissions = Yes
inherit acls = Yes
guest ok = Yes

You can proceed if there are no error messages else you have to resolve those first.

List shares on windows machine or samba server to test if interfaces are working:
Quote:
smbclient -L 192.168.1.1


Next three steps with thanks to jjgarciasp:

There is a new /opt/etc/init.d/S08samba created. Copy it to S80samba:
Quote:
cd /opt/etc/init.d
cp S08samba S80samba


Subsequently change the newly created S80samba:
From:
# set samba_active=1 to activate samba
samba_active=0
to:
Quote:
# set samba_active=1 to activate samba
samba_active=1


and add the "nobody" authorizations line to S80samba:
Quote:
grep -q nobody /etc/passwd || echo "nobody:*:65000:65000:nobody:/mnt:/bin/false" >> /etc/passwd


Execute S80samba:
Quote:
/opt/etc/init.d/S80samba


Run ps to verify that the daemons have started:
Quote:
17057 root 6536 S /opt/sbin/nmbd -D
17059 root 11020 S /opt/sbin/smbd -D
17060 root 11012 S /opt/sbin/smbd -D


Run smbd -V to check version:
Quote:
root@DD-WRT:/mnt/opt/etc/samba# smbd -V
Version 3.2.13


Thx to everybody who helped me figuring this out!

Background
I was having problems copying large files from Vista to the USBdisk. It was not the filesize over 2 Gig problem because I was able to copy 12 Gig files easily. It was not the filesize corruption issue because when the files copied all filesizes (XP, Vista, Telnet) were oke. My problem was that some large files copied ok and others didn't and it was not randomly. Always the same file copied and the same other file didn't. See my other posting here. With the upgrade to Samba3 I was able to fix it!!!!

For those who are concerned about the performance of the samba 3 server code I can inform you I'm getting exactly the same speed, to be honoust perhaps even a bit faster Very Happy (see picture). [22-08-2009: measured an average of 5.18 MB/sec Exclamation ]



samba3speed.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  33.55 KB
 Viewed:  17822 Time(s)

samba3speed.jpg



_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785


Last edited by D13H4rdNL on Mon Aug 24, 2009 18:36; edited 10 times in total
Pandora-Box
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 218
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Attention:
After installing samba 3 and rebooting router, samba would not automatically start up.
Logs were claiming /opt partition corruption.
Full disk check did not find any errors.

Problem is that the original samba2 startup scripts are calling for /opt/etc/init.d/S80samba and not /opt/etc/init.d/S08samba which somehow during samba 3 install got renamed (it should be 80 and not 08 )
Wink

_________________
Netgear R7000
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 19:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I followed the directions and renamed the S08 to S80 on the samba scripts and we are good to go, everything mounts when I reboot the router.

NOW MY NEXT STEP:

I currently have a 40G USB drive, partitioned as required (Part1-Ext3, Part2-SWAP, Part3-Ext3) and it is connected to the router, I would like to add a 1TB Phantom Green Drive formated as NTFS that I just purchased.

Can I just hang a powered USB2 hub off the router and add both drives (the initial USB 40G and the 1TB that is formated as NTFS) to have access to them on the network?


I'm thinking I just need to create a directory on /mnt called GreenDrive, and then add a mount script on the startup section that says:

mount -t NTFS 3G /dev/discs/disc1/part1 /mnt/GreenDrive

then go to the SWAT server and activate that new Share.

I should be able to see it as another share on my network visible NAS box.

I'm I thinking this right?

I'm going to try it later tonight when I get home and report back.
Pandora-Box
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 218
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Regarding USB hub, I have 4-port USB hub connected, and I have USB printer and multiple HDDs connected and recognized by my router.

Regarding ntfs, I have not used ntfs so far, only ext3 and fat32.
To use ntfs, you might check ipkg-opt ntfs3g packages and fuse support, but I have not tried this option.
You also might try to check this link: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=43358, you will not need usb modules, just ntfs.o, since in recent builds usb support is already incorporated.
But I have read, in other posts, people had issues writing to ntfs partitions.
Once you get it working, keep us updated.
Good Luck

_________________
Netgear R7000
gruenesAlien
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 717

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
it should work with

mount /dev/discs/disc1/part1 /mnt/GreenDrive

, too, if NTFS-driver is present. With current dd-wrt kernel you will get only read access to NTFS partition. If you find something that enables you to write, be careful because there's enough risk that it will corrupt your data. If dd-wrt gets kernel 2.6.x NTFS support will not be a problem. But up to then you should use ext2/3 or FAT32.
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 22:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
jjgarciasp wrote:
Ok, I followed the directions and renamed the S08 to S80 on the samba scripts and we are good to go, everything mounts when I reboot the router.


Great job! Can you please let me know what lines you changed in what scripts? :)

Thx in advance

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
When I mentioned the scripts I was speaking of the the following:

Location: /mnt/opt/etc/init.d
Scripts: simply copied S08samba to S80samba

Then changed the following (bold) on the S80samba script:

#!/bin/sh

grep -q nobody /etc/passwd || echo "nobody:*:65000:65000:nobody:/mnt:/bin/false" >> /
etc/passwd


# set samba_active=1 to activate samba

samba_active=1
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
gruenesAlien wrote:
it should work with

mount /dev/discs/disc1/part1 /mnt/GreenDrive

, too, if NTFS-driver is present. With current dd-wrt kernel you will get only read access to NTFS partition. If you find something that enables you to write, be careful because there's enough risk that it will corrupt your data. If dd-wrt gets kernel 2.6.x NTFS support will not be a problem. But up to then you should use ext2/3 or FAT32.


Well, I decided not to mess with NTFS, I don't care for it anyway.. so I temporarily moved what I had copied to this drive to my Linkstation that is also on the network and reformated it using FAT32.

Then got the powered USB 2.0 hub and hooked up to the router, hung Disc0 and my Green Drive off it and voila.

I was able to see both drives.

I created a directory under /mnt called GREENDRIVE, did a 'chown 777 /mnt/GREENDRIVE' and then mounted the drive to this directory.

I can read and write to it no problem... finding that FAT32 is fast because it does not keep track of all the security and rights etc.
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pandora-Box wrote:
Attention:
After installing samba 3 and rebooting router, samba would not automatically start up.
Logs were claiming /opt partition corruption.
Full disk check did not find any errors.

Problem is that the original samba2 startup scripts are calling for /opt/etc/init.d/S80samba and not /opt/etc/init.d/S08samba which somehow during samba 3 install got renamed (it should be 80 and not 08 )
Wink


My script has been updated now to reflect your concern.

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
jjgarciasp wrote:
When I mentioned the scripts I was speaking of the the following:

Location: /mnt/opt/etc/init.d
Scripts: simply copied S08samba to S80samba

Then changed the following (bold) on the S80samba script:

#!/bin/sh

grep -q nobody /etc/passwd || echo "nobody:*:65000:65000:nobody:/mnt:/bin/false" >> /
etc/passwd


# set samba_active=1 to activate samba

samba_active=1

Thx a lot!! Your info has now been included in the script.

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 20:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
A quick side note regarding formatting large drives with FAT32 partitions.

I had a single 1TB (950MB) NTFS partition on my External USB2.0 Fantom Drive.

In moving away from NTFS I was hoping to simply wipe the NTFS partition and create a new FAT32 partion.

Not so easy (for me at least).

I ended up doing 2 450+ GB partitions because apparently windows freaks out when asked to format a drive larger than 500GB in FAT32.

QUESTION:
Does anyone know of a utility that will take an NTFS 1 TB partition and reformat it as FAT32.

I tried SwissKnife and ended up with Partition Magic.

I have not put any data on the drive yet other than when I tested I could write to it after it mounted, just wondering if there is a way create that huge partition and have it be available to windows machines as a FAT32 1TB drive.
D13H4rdNL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
jjgarciasp wrote:
A quick side note regarding formatting large drives with FAT32 partitions.

I had a single 1TB (950MB) NTFS partition on my External USB2.0 Fantom Drive.

In moving away from NTFS I was hoping to simply wipe the NTFS partition and create a new FAT32 partion.

Not so easy (for me at least).

I ended up doing 2 450+ GB partitions because apparently windows freaks out when asked to format a drive larger than 500GB in FAT32.

QUESTION:
Does anyone know of a utility that will take an NTFS 1 TB partition and reformat it as FAT32.

I tried SwissKnife and ended up with Partition Magic.

I have not put any data on the drive yet other than when I tested I could write to it after it mounted, just wondering if there is a way create that huge partition and have it be available to windows machines as a FAT32 1TB drive.


I used Acronis Disk Director which worked perfectly well for me. The Western Digital tool WD FAT32 Formatter may work as well.

_________________
WRT610N (no Version = V1?)Broadcom BCM4785
jjgarciasp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Central Florida

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I will try that and see what happens.

Is it normal for a format to last 3 hrs? That is how long it took for me to format one of my partitions.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 31 of 35
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum