Dual Band (WRT320N) Now Supported

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 29, 30, 31  Next
Author Message
tripog
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
msm903 wrote:
I would really hold off on the WRT320n untill DD-WRT supports it.
I upgraded from a WRT54Gs running DD-WRT to a WRT320n because i needed the higher throughput (testing a 50mbps connection for work) but the WAN speed decreases gradually untill a reset is required. Verified the issue is the router and not the modem. Linksys has not fixed the issue as yet.

http://forums.linksysbycisco.com/linksys/board/message?board.id=Wireless_Routers&thread.id=136649&view=by_date_ascending&page=1

Waiting on DD-WRT to be my saviour.




yeah same problem here with this router.
Sponsor
troldrik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just bricked (no cfe, power light blinks constantly) my wrt320n, while I was attempting to tftp rescue it from a too ambitious modification of the stock firmware.

I have serial and JTAG cables in the mail, but am not entirely sure where to hook them up. Strongly suspect the 2x7 holes labeled JP1 is the JTAG header, and JP3 on the underside of the PCB is the serial port. The exact pin layout of either are a mystery to me, so if anyone, Kellerweis?, figured them out please share. ;)

The serial port does look remarkably similar to the one on the wrt610n http://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=76333#p76333

I did get a few bits of data out of it before it died: http://cbaoth.dk/~cbaoth/wrt320_proc/

Edit: 15 minutes later, I notice it has labeled serial pads in the wan port like on the wrt610n. And 4 pads barely exposed in LAN port 3... wonder what those are for?
troldrik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Phew, got it debricked.

I took a chance that the serial pinout was the same as on the wrt610n, and hooked up a Nokia CA-42 clone cable to the pads. The CA-42 has a build in usb serial converter and RS232 to TTL 3.3V signal conversion. Here are the connections I used:

JP3 pin 2 - Pop port pin 7 (TX data)
JP3 pin 3 - Pop port pin 6 (RX data)
JP3 pin 5 - Pop port pin 8 (Data ground) (some cables use pop port pin 2 instead... but it wasn't even present on mine)

With the serial console I could confirm that the tftp boot_wait flasher is bugged in my v1.0's CFE. Log of a tftp attempt is here http://cbaoth.dk/~cbaoth/wrt320_proc/tftp_fail.log.

Next I tried the wrt610n debricking method from http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=209668#209668

But apparently the wrt320n CFE doesn't have a -mem switch to the flash command. Sod... so I ended up installing a tftpd on a pc and putting the firmware in the tftpd's root dir. Then telling CFE to flash with the following command:

flash -ctheader 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin flash1.trx

192.168.1.99 being the ip of the machine with tftpd, and "/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin" the path to the firmware.

Code:

CFE> flash -ctheader 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin flash1.trx
CMD: [flash -ctheader 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin flash1.trx ]
Reading 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin:
_tftp_open(): retries=0/3
Done. 4776960 bytes read
fname=flash1.trx
CODE Pattern is correct! (320N)
Programming...done. 4776928 bytes written
*** command status = 0


Oh and for those interested, here's a complete log of the stock firmware booting up http://cbaoth.dk/~cbaoth/wrt320_proc/stock_boot.log
Dutchman01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thats good news,

I'm happy when i can use DD-WRT firmware on this router.

I'm glad that when the work is done for the WRT610 the WRT320 shouldn't be that difficult to support this router with DD-WRT firmware.

You can count on a new DD-WRT user.

Regards,

Mike
Dutchman01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
This bcm5356 and also bcm4716/4717/4718 are new generation mips32r2 cpus. We have some problems porting dd-wrt to it and not to break support for all other routers.
So please consider it "work in progress". But it surely will be done because most new Broadcom based routers will have this new cpu inside.


If this not work with support for older and other routers, why not making a new sepperate DD-WRT firmware line for this router wrt610n and wrt320n and new coming models with those bcm5356 and also bcm4716/4717/4718 chips.

This makes 2 line's of DD-WRT firmware's comptible for all without breaking others, but the only worse thing we got than,

We only must select the right firmware for the right router :-)

I hope i do not sound stuppid but it can be a solution.

Regards,

Mike
Ankh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I've got a WRT320N and hopefully the support for dd-wrt will come soon! :-)

Thanks!

Paul
freddie802
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Devon, PA USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you check the timeline trac eko is starting to add changes for the 320n.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/timeline

_________________
2 x wrt600n v1.1 AP WL0 Mixed Mode WPA2 Pers Aes, WL1 N Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES V24 BS 15778 WT610N
wrt310n Wireless Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 15506 Mini
wrt54g v7 G Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 12523 Micro
Ankh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
freddie802 wrote:
If you check the timeline trac eko is starting to add changes for the 320n.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/timeline


Bookmarked! Didn't know i could check it there.
Great to hear anyway.
jtrosky
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2009
Posts: 627
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm, good news! I have a 320n sitting here just waiting! I've read over on the Linksys forums that this unit is basically "broken" with Linksys firmware (slows to a crawl over time). Be interesting to see how it works with DD-WRT!

Great work, Eko - you the man!

_________________
1 x Linksys WRT160n v3
1 x Linksys WRT310n v1
1 x Linksys WRT600n v1.1
1 x Linksys WRT610n v1
1 x Linksys E2500
1 x Netgear WNDR3300
1 x Dlink DIR-825 v1
2 x Asus RT-AC66U
KeithB
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a friendly suggestion: these are the kinds of efforts where small personal donations to the DD-WRT project in general or to the developer specifically are most appreciated. Smile
_________________
2x Asus RT-AC68U
SiGNe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 2:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you disable uPNP the speed problems will mostly be fixed, i still have a problem with the internet speeds (not 1Gb) though and when i try to connect to my webserver it takes quite long before the connection is made and when there is a connection the different pages and pictures are loaded very slowly.
You can check for yourselves at http://www.katemoss.nl

I really hope that DD-wrt will come with a new firmware which will fix those problems (so i can enable uPNP again), i don't think linksys will come with a new firmware soon, saddly enough...
hajj_3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
nice to hear work for the 320N is underway, its £62.59 in uk: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/166272

the 610N is around £130, so twice the price and all you get extra is a usb port and simulaneous 802.11n and 802.11g, hardly worth it.

Will stick to my WRT54GSv4 until a stable firmware for the 320N is out, wonder what the signal quality is like with no external antennas, anyone compared it to a WRT54G/S?
Ankh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
hajj_3 wrote:
nice to hear work for the 320N is underway, its £62.59 in uk: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/166272

the 610N is around £130, so twice the price and all you get extra is a usb port and simulaneous 802.11n and 802.11g, hardly worth it.

Will stick to my WRT54GSv4 until a stable firmware for the 320N is out, wonder what the signal quality is like with no external antennas, anyone compared it to a WRT54G/S?


Not compared, but this one is an upgrade for my wrt54gl. Gonna use the wrt320n for the N and router capabilities, will make the wrt54gl a G access point.
xtravagan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
troldrik wrote:
Phew, got it debricked.

I took a chance that the serial pinout was the same as on the wrt610n, and hooked up a Nokia CA-42 clone cable to the pads. The CA-42 has a build in usb serial converter and RS232 to TTL 3.3V signal conversion. Here are the connections I used:

JP3 pin 2 - Pop port pin 7 (TX data)
JP3 pin 3 - Pop port pin 6 (RX data)
JP3 pin 5 - Pop port pin 8 (Data ground) (some cables use pop port pin 2 instead... but it wasn't even present on mine)

With the serial console I could confirm that the tftp boot_wait flasher is bugged in my v1.0's CFE. Log of a tftp attempt is here http://cbaoth.dk/~cbaoth/wrt320_proc/tftp_fail.log.

Next I tried the wrt610n debricking method from http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=209668#209668

But apparently the wrt320n CFE doesn't have a -mem switch to the flash command. Sod... so I ended up installing a tftpd on a pc and putting the firmware in the tftpd's root dir. Then telling CFE to flash with the following command:

flash -ctheader 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin flash1.trx

192.168.1.99 being the ip of the machine with tftpd, and "/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin" the path to the firmware.

Code:

CFE> flash -ctheader 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin flash1.trx
CMD: [flash -ctheader 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin flash1.trx ]
Reading 192.168.1.99:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_code.bin:
_tftp_open(): retries=0/3
Done. 4776960 bytes read
fname=flash1.trx
CODE Pattern is correct! (320N)
Programming...done. 4776928 bytes written
*** command status = 0


Oh and for those interested, here's a complete log of the stock firmware booting up http://cbaoth.dk/~cbaoth/wrt320_proc/stock_boot.log


Hello,

This is my first time playing around with ddwrt and my first time on this forum, so if I am posting this in the wrong fashion let me know.

I picked up a WRT320N yesterday and I tried to flash it with one of the latest ddwrt SVN builds onto a few hours ago. Naturally it bricked, much like the post above.

I installed a TTL USB serial port onto the pins. The only difficult thing was to actually open the darn plastic lid. For those interested this is the converter I used. http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/EvaluationKits/TTL-232R.htm

However for these kind of units I would go for a phone jack one, TTL-232R-3V3-AJ or TTL-232R-3V3-WE. Make sure you get TTL level though. Might be cheaper to build out of a MAX232 or a USB chip.. but 16 pounds is quite cheap for the work involed and you get drivers that work with Windows 7 64bit.

Then I tried the method above. That failed for me. However, and I don't know why as this is the first time I see this hardware and/or CFE boot loader, maybe somethign with the TFTP server I used. I did check the TFTP transfer type though, and it was octet.

Instead I did this:
* break into CFE through CTRL-C
* issue "flash -ctheader : flash1.trx"
* upload "WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_US_code.bin" through the tftp2.exe (linksys utility?)
* issue "go"

After I managed to unbrick it this way I tried with the built in TFTP client in Windows 7 64bit, it work nicely too

C:\Users\niclas.lindgren\Downloads\WRT320N>tftp -i 192.168.1.1 put WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_US_code.bin .
Transfer successful: 4776960 bytes in 13 second(s), 367458 bytes/s

I am pretty sure you can push the image to the CFE during boot up if you have boot_wait on. But I don't know how to turn that on without a console of some sort, so it doesn't help those without a serial console.

If I tried with the CFE being the TFTP client against my servern, this happened over and over:

CFE> flash -ctheader 192.168.1.10:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_US_code.bin flash1.trx
CMD: [flash -ctheader 192.168.1.10:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_US_code.bin flash1.trx]
Reading 192.168.1.10:/WRT320N_v1.0.02_006_US_code.bin: _tftp_open(): retries=0/3
Done. 4776960 bytes read
fname=(null)
**Exception 8: EPC=8070E080, Cause=00008008 (TLBMissRd)
RA=80715F74, VAddr=00000000

0 ($00) = 00000000 AT ($01) = 80740000
v0 ($02) = 00000066 v1 ($03) = 00000000
a0 ($04) = 00000000 a1 ($05) = 8073313C
a2 ($06) = 0048E400 a3 ($07) = 00000066
t0 ($0Cool = 807A1726 t1 ($09) = 8073BD98
t2 ($10) = 00000000 t3 ($11) = 00000005
t4 ($12) = B8000000 t5 ($13) = 000000C0
t6 ($14) = 00000000 t7 ($15) = AC000000
s0 ($16) = 0000000A s1 ($17) = 8073313C
s2 ($1Cool = 807A19D8 s3 ($19) = 80742680
s4 ($20) = 00000000 s5 ($21) = 00000001
s6 ($22) = 00000000 s7 ($23) = 00000003
t8 ($24) = 02000000 t9 ($25) = 00000000
k0 ($26) = 2E323931 k1 ($27) = 30312E31
gp ($2Cool = 8073DD20 sp ($29) = 807A1920
fp ($30) = 00000000 ra ($31) = 80715F74

It seems to have to do with "fname=(null)" which should be the place where to flash the image I believe.

Not sure if this helps anyone in the bricking department, but I thought I'd share.

That said, I also have a WRT320N that I can use to help out with testing build. At the moment it seems I can't get the build on at all, not sure what I am doing wrong, or maybe I am using the wrong builds.

I will try setting up a toolchain and build from SVN.

Let me know if I can help in any way.

Cheers,
Niclas
janoonk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can confirm indeed that the router WAN speed will slowdown over time until I release and renew my WAN ip or reboot.
Hoping that I can upgrade to DD-WRT soon...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 29, 30, 31  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 31
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum