How do I fix this problem with my WRT54G v2, or is it bricke

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Still 64.
Sponsor
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm stumped, its not bricked though. My last advice is to unplug the router and come back later to see if a more educated person has a thought on the situation. You should be getting a different ttl when the router is ready to accept the firmware, unless the boot_wait or whatever its called is disabled.
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm, thanks for all your help. I'll keep looking and waiting for an answer.
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
No problem, there are a few guys on this forum that will have input on this issue..... We just have to wait for them to wake up, just give your thread a bump if it gets pushed to the second page.
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Give this a read, maybe it will help.
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nope.
This matches what happens best:
The power LED flashes very fast and after about 20 seconds it lights permanently, but the DMZ LED did not light up. In this case Bootloader and Kernel (firmware) are intact, only a wrong configuration from locked up the router. This can happen if a wrong or corrupt value exists in the NVRAM. Here simply clearing the NVRAM should solve the problem.

But the ways to fix it (Management Mode, Recovering with TFTP) didn't work.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
You gotta try to catch it when it is booting and ttl=100 but you know that..

Do you have another router or a switch to put between your rig & the V2?

It seems that some nics don't initialize till they see a network signal. So when your router is booting and your rig finally sees the signal, it's too late and you blew by the window of opportunity.

Using a switch in between, the nic on your rig is initialized as the switch is giving your nic a signal.

All else fails... jtag to clear nvram & kernel.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 21:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Even using a switch the TTL still is always at 64.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
Even using a switch the TTL still is always at 64.


While it is booting? I run a continuous ping and boot the router after launching the ping. Most of the time, you'll get a few destination unreachable, then a few ttl=100, then possibly some additional request timeouts, then ttl=64.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 21:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, I run a continuous ping, and it always seems to be 64.

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
Yeah, I run a continuous ping, and it always seems to be 64.

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64


Where are the responses that say host unreachable while you are pinging but the router is not powered up?

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.100: Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.100: Des
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok.. we are getting close.. now lets see the the transition..

start the ping, wait a second or so, then plug in the router. I want to see the transition from destination unreachable or request time out to the point where the router starts responding with ttl=xx

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 23:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.100: Destination host unreachable.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out. (plugged in here)
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
donno bro... I gotta check something..
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum