DD-WRT firmware for Netgear 614L launched

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
SwissJay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:52    Post subject: Nope! Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/v24-sp1/Broadcom/Broadcom%20Generic/dd-wrt.v24_std-wgr614v8_07271643.chk

Blows up with the following:

CFE for WGR614v8 version: 1.3
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 14:04:44 CST 2007
et0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 4.138.1.0
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-1E-2A-0E-D7-44, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
CFE> ^C
CFE> ^C
CFE> ^C
CFE>
CFE> tftpd
Start TFTP server
Reading :: Done. 3761210 bytes read
Loading ...........................................
Programming...done. 3761210 bytes written
Write len/chksum offset @ 0x0038FFF8...done.


CFE for WGR614v8 version: 1.3
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 14:04:44 CST 2007
et0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 4.138.1.0
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-1E-2A-0E-D7-44, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Loading ...........................................
Image chksum: 0x4E2AC479
Calc chksum: 0xA3F2C328
Invalid boot block on disk
Start TFTP server
Reading ::

So still an invalid boot block (or failed checksum?!). Is it just my unit or is that a general problem with v24-sp1 on that device?
Sponsor
__papa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have also got the exactly same thing when tried the dd-wrt.v24_std-wgr614v8_07271643.chk image. Do anyone have any idea about this?
__papa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
probably dd-wrt requires some nvram configuration. Actually foud a page in myopenrouter.com (http://www.myopenrouter.com/forum/thread/10398/Newer-DD-WRT-Firmware-for-the-WGR614V8./) Wondering if this setting can change the behavior.
bandage
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I would like to run dd-wrt on WGR614L router. I have downloaded the code from dd-wrt svn. After changing the flash layout my compiled image can boot up. But surprisingly this image gets rebooted automatically. From the console dump it seems that the image has received a factory reset signal. I am attaching my console dump herewith. Can anybody please jelp me out..



console.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  console.txt
 Filesize:  2.88 KB
 Downloaded:  1298 Time(s)

Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
bandage wrote:
Hi,

I would like to run dd-wrt on WGR614L router. I have downloaded the code from dd-wrt svn. After changing the flash layout my compiled image can boot up. But surprisingly this image gets rebooted automatically. From the console dump it seems that the image has received a factory reset signal. I am attaching my console dump herewith. Can anybody please jelp me out..

It thinks reset button is pressed all the time, probably we have wring gpio number for it, or your router is not detected as WGR614L.
In cfe console get me
Code:
nvram get boardnum
nvram get boardtype
nvram get boardrev

You can also try to hold reset button pressed in all the time Smile
bandage
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, I have checked that part of the sflah.c code. I have set the boardnum as 83258, boardtype as 0x48E and boardrev as 0x10 so that it can detect this router as 614L...
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
bandage wrote:
yes, I have checked that part of the sflah.c code. I have set the boardnum as 83258, boardtype as 0x48E and boardrev as 0x10 so that it can detect this router as 614L...

OK, but I still need your original numbers, so I can add them to our code. Smile
nachi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 21:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
From Factory Reset state the boardnums are

boarnum=0x01
boardtype=0x48E
boardrev=0x10
reset_gpio=7
boardflags=0x750

Before Netgear firmware is loaded.
Once Netgear Firmware is loaded the
only the boardnum changes to 83258. sflash detection works with both conditions by changing the core to check (boardnum = 83258 || boardmum = 01).

Also if you could add these two changes - it will help people to use dd-wrt on non-USA versions of the router.


Quote:
B.
The other issues is flash layout - that is causing problem with the European version of the firmware.
The checksums of the images are written at Flash offset 0x0038FFF8 and is checked by the boot loader.

The Flash blocks
1. 0x00380000 to 0x00390000 should be reseverd for aving the checksums that is checked by the boot loader.
2. 0x003e0000 - 0x003f0000 should be reserved for board-data (mac addresses, HW id).
3. 0x003f0000 - 0x00400000 - is the usual nvram.

C.The other modification required are,
the loader should be lzma compressed and should start at address 0x80001400 (and not 0x80001000). A small patch in the head.S solves this prblem of loading in EU version of the router - but since it courrupts the checksum it fails to boot.


Nachi
nachi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:18    Post subject: WGR614L Reset Button Reply with quote
The v24 sp1 is wrongly detecting the reset button.

in WGR614L the RESET PIN is shared with the Power LED (pulled low to put LED on).

So the correct way to read the reset gpio (gpio 7) is to :-

A) DISABLE OUTPUT
enable output
pull gpio high
disable output.

B) READ GPIO
enable input
read value (will be low if button pressed).
disable input

C) ENABLE OUTPUT AGAIN
enable output
pull low to switch on the power LED
disable output

Since the power LED is pulled low by CFE you will gpio 7 will always be low unless specifically pulled high before reading.

Hope this helps to fix the problem.

Nachi
playdrums
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 16:55    Post subject: any news? Reply with quote
I'm not a qualified hacker but I am really anxious to get SP1 working on my WGR614L. It sounds like it's really close but is there anything I can do to assist?
nachi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:56    Post subject: Patches for WGR614v8/L NA and WW version Reply with quote
I was working on fixing these issues and here a set of patches that is working on my routers and hope these can be integrated into svn.

Hope this helps a bit to all the hard work EKo is already putting in and will appreciate if someone can check in the patches after review (i.e. doesn't break other routers).

I will post a test image in the next message.
Nachiketa Prachanda
http://www.myopenrouter.com/



wgr614v8-DD-WRT-src-router.diff.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  wgr614v8-DD-WRT-src-router.diff.txt
 Filesize:  2.63 KB
 Downloaded:  1557 Time(s)


wgr614v8-DD-WRT-opt.diff.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  wgr614v8-DD-WRT-opt.diff.txt
 Filesize:  773 Bytes
 Downloaded:  1294 Time(s)


wgr614v8-DD-WRT-linux.v24_2_kernel.diff.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  wgr614v8-DD-WRT-linux.v24_2_kernel.diff.txt
 Filesize:  4.28 KB
 Downloaded:  1775 Time(s)

nachi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:28    Post subject: dd-wrt mini build with wgr614v8 patches Reply with quote
Here is the dd-wrt build

--
Nachiketa Prachanda
http://www.myopenrouter.com



ddwrt-wgr614v8-08192008.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  ddwrt-wgr614v8-08192008.zip
 Filesize:  2.78 MB
 Downloaded:  2289 Time(s)

madscientist
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Installed it via the Netgear web interface. And finally I got dd-wrt running on my euro-614L.

The only thing which confused me was, that the power LED went off. But I am sure these are just details which will be fixed soon.

BTW you want me to test anything? Currently the 614L is running as client with wpa-psk.

Many thanks for the work!
mona
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have also downloaded this version. I have tested the wireless security mode. WPA Personal, WPA2 Personel, WPA2 Personal Mixed, WEP all are working fine. Wireless MAC filter also works properly.
rakha
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wireless Mode - AP mode, Client Mode and Client Bridge Mode - all are working perfectly. Great job.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum