Dual / Triple WAN HowTo | DHCP scripts on Page 5!!!!

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31 ... 66, 67, 68  Next
Author Message
jbarbieri
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 545
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 14:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
looks like your running into some problems that other people have with DHCP being a pain in the ass....basically your broadcast address is wrong.

Try this, if your IPs are still the same, do

ifconfig vlan2 BROADCAST 190.19.153.255


and see if it changes and/or starts working.

I have not figured out how to get around that DHCP problem......the devels must have since DHCP works fine on the regular WAN interface.

_________________


Linksys EA6500v2 | 5GHz 1st Floor AP | Advanced Tomato 1.28.0000 -2.9-131 K26ARM USB AIO-64K
Netgear WNR2000v3 | 2nd Floor AP | DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 std

Behind a Raspberry Pi Dual WAN router
Sponsor
McNifico
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, John, for your answer.

I set the corrects broadcast, and thing feels running better, but still with some problems with pages. Torrents appears to use only one vlan. Download using download manager with 8 differents alternative URL use completely one vlan an a bit of the other (see image attached).



What's next? :D

PS: I upload the image to ImageShack, Attachment broke forum shape.
NuklearAge
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Would it be possible to force traffic from specific ports to a specific interface? If so, could you give me the code to add to allow such a thing? I want to force games to one adapter and let everything else find it's own way down the other two.
McNifico
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
WTF? Yesterday I post something (about my seccondary wan provider), but I just realize that there are not one. No matther, forgot about this one.

Ok, the new, finally I change my seccondary pain-in-the-ass-wan-provider. Now I've two wan from same isp, but while wan1 has 3mbps, wan2 has just 1mbps (tomorrow I'll see to get same speeds).

I set my 54gl to dual-wan-turbo-mode, but continues with some problems like some pages didn't charge, or charged adnormally. I corrected the vlan2's broadcast, see a little better performance, but I still feel that internet rocks in sigle-wan-mode.

Some tricks to test??

Thanks a lots!
danish14
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
For @jbarbieri
Thanks my man ...
Your the hero Smile
after a week trying ...read again... trying ... confuse ... Smile and trying again
Finally its works dual wan with wrt54gl
Just follow the instruction on page 27
Still testing
I hope u give a help if there is some error
helphelp911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 23:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi jbarbieri, is my Bcast correct??
because i also experience page not fully loaded problem.

Thanks

vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:10:27:BB:C8
inet addr:206.116.2.246 Bcast:206.116.31.255 Mask:255.255.224.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:33559375 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:30578728 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1094286953 (1.0 GiB) TX bytes:2050829929 (1.9 GiB)

vlan2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:10:27:BB:C7
inet addr:24.80.99.169 Bcast:24.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:66952591 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:35166487 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2339215578 (2.1 GiB) TX bytes:1801609879 (1.6 GiB)
McNifico
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 23:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
911, the broad of your vlan2 is wrong...
correct ir using:
ifconfig vlan2 broadcast 24.80.99.255

Here is a excelent calculator for this issues:
http://jodies.de/ipcalc?


Now, finally I got two identicals wan in differents ip ranges, but still experience bad navigation.

I'll try do the dual-wan directly on my desktop.
hnamanh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 0:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
jbarbieri wrote:
First, I would try and use mini, to gain some JFFS space.

Goto the admin page, then setup, then vlans, and set port 4 to vlan2.


Then I would log into the router and do the following....if your router reboots, it took all the commands;

Code:

nvram set vlan0ports="3 2 1 5*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 5"
nvram set vlan2hwname=et0
mkdir -p /jffs/scripts
cd /jffs/scripts
wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/firewall-2.6.firewall-small
mv firewall-2.6.firewall-small firewall.firewall
wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/routes.firewall
wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/udhcpc-wan2.script

chmod 755 /jffs/scripts/*
nvram set rc_startup='udhcpc -i vlan2 -s /jffs/scripts/udhcpc-wan2.script
/jffs/scripts/routes.firewall'
nvram set rc_firewall='/jffs/scripts/routes.firewall
/jffs/scripts/firewall.firewall'
nvram commit
reboot


This is the basic gist of it, should get you started. Let me know.


hi im really new to this and i tried using this script too and it does not work. when it tries to get the file off your server it says its forbidden. btw i have a wrt54g with the mini ddrt v24 mini and im on dhcp
danish14
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
hnamanh wrote:


Whats ur router ?
Its for wrt54gl v1.1
And that for all of wan use dhcp methode, not static or pppe
Use putty or telnet.
Just copy and paste the command to puty or telnet

Note : you must also connect to internet

Net --- Modem (dhcp)---- WRT54GL (use dhcp)---- ur PC
CMIIW
jbarbieri
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 545
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 13:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
What version WRT54G?

Did you enable and clean jffs?

Where does it say forbidden?

_________________


Linksys EA6500v2 | 5GHz 1st Floor AP | Advanced Tomato 1.28.0000 -2.9-131 K26ARM USB AIO-64K
Netgear WNR2000v3 | 2nd Floor AP | DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 std

Behind a Raspberry Pi Dual WAN router
helphelp911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
McNifico wrote:
911, the broad of your vlan2 is wrong...
correct ir using:
ifconfig vlan2 broadcast 24.80.99.255

Here is a excelent calculator for this issues:
http://jodies.de/ipcalc?


Now, finally I got two identicals wan in differents ip ranges, but still experience bad navigation.

I'll try do the dual-wan directly on my desktop.


thanks . i change it to as ur suggestion
but i still feel bad about browing. pages still not fully load

but last night, i overclock my wrt54gl to 216mhz
problem seems to gone away. Maybe wrt54gl isn't fast enough to handle wans. i still testing it but so far so good

thanksd
cdkiller
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 262
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 0:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
helphelp911 wrote:

but last night, i overclock my wrt54gl to 216mhz
problem seems to gone away. Maybe wrt54gl isn't fast enough to handle wans. i still testing it but so far so good
Hey since you mentioned that, I recommend these Enzotech BMR-C1 heatsinks for your router. They fit great on routers cpus. It is a quick and simple solution for those who do not want to install fans.
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/enbmfocobgar.html

_________________
[everything is to be replicate]
hnamanh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
jbarbieri wrote:
What version WRT54G?

Did you enable and clean jffs?

Where does it say forbidden?


its a wrt54g v3 and yes the clean jffs is enable.

root@DD-WRT:~#
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set vlan0ports="3 2 1 5*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 5"
nvram set vlan2hwname=et0
mkdir -p /jffs/scripts
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set vlan2ports="0 5"
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram set vlan2hwname=et0
cd /jffs/scripts
wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/firewall-2.6.firewall-small
mv firewall-2.6.firewall-small firewall.firewall
wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/routes.firewall
root@DD-WRT:~# mkdir -p /jffs/scripts
wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/udhcpc-wan2.script
root@DD-WRT:~# cd /jffs/scripts
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/firewall-2.6.firewall-small

chmod 755 /jffs/scripts/*
nvram set rc_startup='udhcpc -i vlan2 -s /jffs/scripts/udhcpc-wan2.script
/jffs/scripts/routes.firewall'
nvram set rc_firewall='/jffs/scripts/routes.firewall
Connecting to www.jbarbieri.net (68.87.64.132:80)
/jffs/scripts/firewall.firewall'
nvram commit
wget: server returned error: HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# mv firewall-2.6.firewall-small firewall.firewall
rebootmv: cannot rename 'firewall-2.6.firewall-small': No such file or directory
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/routes.firewall
Connecting to www.jbarbieri.net (68.87.64.132:80)
wget: server returned error: HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# wget http://www.jbarbieri.net/dd-wrt/scripts/udhcpc-wan2.script
Connecting to www.jbarbieri.net (68.87.64.132:80)
wget: server returned error: HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts#
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# chmod 755 /jffs/scripts/*
chmod: /jffs/scripts/*: No such file or directory
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# nvram set rc_startup='udhcpc -i vlan2 -s /jffs/scripts/udhcpc-wan2.script
> /jffs/scripts/routes.firewall'
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# nvram set rc_firewall='/jffs/scripts/routes.firewall
> /jffs/scripts/firewall.firewall'
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# nvram commit
nvram_commit(): end
root@DD-WRT:/jffs/scripts# reboot
helphelp911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 3:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
cdkiller wrote:
helphelp911 wrote:

but last night, i overclock my wrt54gl to 216mhz
problem seems to gone away. Maybe wrt54gl isn't fast enough to handle wans. i still testing it but so far so good
Hey since you mentioned that, I recommend these Enzotech BMR-C1 heatsinks for your router. They fit great on routers cpus. It is a quick and simple solution for those who do not want to install fans.
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/enbmfocobgar.html


thanks..i will try that..it is good and cheap solution
the package even come with Thermal Tape, Fast and easy

one quick question, if i put the heatsink on, can i able to close the router case? can you tell me which chip is the cpu chip?

thanks a lot
cdkiller
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 262
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
helphelp911 wrote:
one quick question, if i put the heatsink on, can i able to close the router case? can you tell me which chip is the cpu chip?

thanks a lot
About the closing case, it should fit in your router (WRT54GL). The sinks are only 14mm high. You can always cut the rods if they don't fit or get the low profile ones but low profile are waste of money, too little copper I think. (http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/enbcbmlowprf.html). There is also a comparable set from Swiftech but they do not use 3M tape and I read on some other forum that the 3M thermal tape holds better than Thermattach.

For the wrt54GL the cpu is the chip that says BCM5352 on it. I have not seen the insides of the 54GL but I think the cpu is the only square chip of moderate size there, the ram/rom chips are most likely rectangular. Perhaps someone can correct me on that.

_________________
[everything is to be replicate]
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31 ... 66, 67, 68  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 30 of 68
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum