No space available even after enabling jffs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
kamagurka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:04    Post subject: No space available even after enabling jffs Reply with quote
I enabled jffs so that I could maybe install one or two small things, but apparently I have no space at all:
Code:
~ # df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root                 2.8M      2.8M         0 100% /
/dev/mtdblock/4         320.0k    320.0k         0 100% /jffs

Now I know there's not a lot of space on these things, but shouldn't I have more space left than that?

EDIT: I'm using a Linksys WRT54G/GS


Last edited by kamagurka on Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:21; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
GrumpY54gsv4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
what is your router ??
kamagurka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
A Linksys WRT54G/GS
CaScAdE
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 1110
Location: Kiel (54.4247,10.1721)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which WRT54G/GS? Version? Serial Number?

"most" routers of that series have 4MB Flash (look here: TableOfHardware - OpenWrt:), when using std,voip,vpn versions of DD-WRT you use like 3.x MB but the rest is used by jffs itself.
Try using mini or buy a router with 8MB flash...

and please: use the search function...

_________________
DD-WRT F.A.Q.

Webcam Kiel
kamagurka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
So you're telling me that the standard DD-WRT is such that it uses every single byte of space on my router?
GrumpY54gsv4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
probably
CaScAdE
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 1110
Location: Kiel (54.4247,10.1721)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 19:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
kamagurka wrote:
So you're telling me that the standard DD-WRT is such that it uses every single byte of space on my router?


Without JFFS: NO
With JFFS: YES because JFFS eats up the last free flash for its structure itself...

Read: http://sourceware.org/jffs2/jffs2.pdf

BrainSlayer wrote:
the std build itself is 3,4 mb big. there cannot be 1 mb left. just 3,8 mb are avaiable. the rest is filled up with cfe and nvram.
so you have maybe 300 - 400 kb left and this is not enough for jffs


stephen wrote:
Unter Management JFFS2 enable und Clean JFFS2 auswaehlen, save -> reboot.
Danach in der Kommandozeile "df" eingeben.
Wenn du dann was mit 100% voll siehst, aergern, und mini aufspielen.
Standard und 4MB Flash fuehren leider zu exakt 320KB fuer die JFFS-Partition, genau so viel wie sie selbst fuer sich (garbage collection) reserviert.
Lies sourceware.org/jffs2/jffs2.pdf warum.

_________________
DD-WRT F.A.Q.

Webcam Kiel




Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts:

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
kamagurka wrote:
So you're telling me that the standard DD-WRT is such that it uses every single byte of space on my router?


Use the firmware mod kit to kill KAID (huge) and a few other things you don't need/want and you'll have some free space. Sorry for the shameless plug ;p.
kamagurka
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
db90h wrote:
Use the firmware mod kit to kill KAID (huge) and a few other things you don't need/want and you'll have some free space. Sorry for the shameless plug ;p.

It's cool, I'll take a look at it (I don't even know what KAID is). Also, I'll find out whether I even need the standard edition, maybe the mini or micro are enough for my needs.
Can I use the backup-config file from the standard firmware on the micro/mini versions? I don't want to reconfigure everything...
Tsaukpaetra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:02    Post subject: Problem replicated Reply with quote
I have this problem as well. It seems to me that the router isn't actually executing the "Clean Jffs" part.
I've done this and resulted in the same problem on the "Most compatible router" buffalo and totally messed the junk out of it after trying to manually do this.

Does anyone know what commands are necessary to manually format the Jffs?

Btw, just before anyone else makes the same mistake as I did, [mtd erase /dev/mtdblock/4] will permanently brick the router unless you have JTag.
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
What router do you have and what (exactly) is the firmware are you trying to enable JFFS on?

If you have a router with 4MB flash, use Eko's nokaid_nohotspot_nostor build. It will leave you quite a bit of usable JFFS space.
ad5mb
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nokaid, nohotspot, makes sense.

Nostor?
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
cifs
Tsaukpaetra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
My router(s) is a linksys wrt54gv4 and the buffalo "recommended" one.

I seriously need only like 24KB for the Autoap.sh script.

Neither of these routers have had their Jffs2 partition work for more than one power cycle (meaning after the router was rebooted it was permanently "full")

I don't need a lot of space, but I do need some.
Perhaps I am doing something wrong here? I followed the instructions in the wiki and even retried multiple times using multiple variations on the theme, but it never works...
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
works for me.

since you did not fully answer my question or take my advice then there's nothing more I can do to help.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum