Linksys WRE54G Range Expander broadcom FOUND!! Runs LINUX!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok then

are you able to get us a cfe and nvtram copy via jtag?

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Sponsor
punker_4_real
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
ok then

are you able to get us a cfe and nvtram copy via jtag?
it only has Serial

i do not have an Serial cable Sad
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
then it will be difficult to debrick and bring sw into it
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
punker_4_real
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 10:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
then it will be difficult to debrick and bring sw into it




okkk whaatt could the pin out be on the WER54g??




the cable is in the mail
Cool

i should get it by today or two days


it's USB to Serial(it has the right chip to debrick routers)

Very Happy

i was going to use it for my NetgEAR WGT634u



i have no multi meter


the less pins i have to use the better 8)

Code:


could this be it



Here's the pinout of the serial port jumper on the  hardware: (labelled "J5")


  O O O O left to right: +3.3v +3.3v grnd grnd
 
  O O O O O ttyS0 output, unknown, unknown, ttyS0 input, unknown




just it case it frys my cable i am going to fix my netgear router fist
Very Happy



WAP54Gv2-PCB-J5-detail.jpg
 Description:
looks the same imo
 Filesize:  157.47 KB
 Viewed:  28195 Time(s)

WAP54Gv2-PCB-J5-detail.jpg


punker_4_real
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
up up and away
cybero2912
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 1190
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
would be great to run DD-WRT on WRE54g...
no original FW updates since 2005 and stock FW is not WPA2 capable. not to forget the many other DD benefits Wink
punker_4_real
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
then it will be difficult to debrick and bring sw into it
i try the pin out in the pic i put but it just gave me YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
punker_4_real
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
what could the pin out be.... hmm
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
you dont have a scope? dont you?

gnd cant be had to find.
pwr also since the power must be stabe if you connect the max232 pwr input

then there are 2 pins left to find

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
cloggy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just for my curiosity: has anybody been able to install dd-wrt on a WRE54G V.3-EU?
If so, what was the procedure?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 9:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
no not yet.

if nobody wants to work on it we will never find out

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!


Last edited by Sash on Sat Aug 08, 2009 18:12; edited 1 time in total
dvlad666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 22:56    Post subject: I've flashed WRE54G into DD-WRT Reply with quote
I've done it. wwwwwow! Laughing

So this is my first forum post.

This is how i flashed dd-wrt into my WRE54G (v1, so it's Broadcom-based, has 2Mb flash and 8Mb RAM):

1. Selected similar(based on flash/ram) router from the base - it was WRT54G v8.2.
2. Downloaded recommended firmware - dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic.bin (1,64 MB), 10549
3. Downloaded original firmware 1.06 from linksys site.
4. Reset WRE54G to defaults.
5. Logged onto it and flashed 1.06 (originally io had it with 1.04)
6. Reset into defaults.
7. Also made some power cycles and ping tests between 4 and 7 Smile
8. opened both firmwares in WinHEX and copied first 8 bytes from original 1.06 firmware into th 00 address (the beginning) of dd-wrt file and saved it as .trx
9. Flashed .trx from 8. into the router using web gui.
10. reconnected to dd-wrt network
11. started using/configuring dd-wrt as usual.

Now i tried to enable repeater mode to make router work and it has stopped answering... Hmm, still investigating, but i had no problems at all using it in AP wireess mode.
I know it's pretty useless in plain AP mode, BUT...
1)It worked and demonstrated dd-wrt features
2)It could be used as man-in-the-middle WDS repeater :)

Can anybody help me please choose the correct dd-wrt version?
The one from WRT54GS v8.2 is for BCM5354 chip, which is rather new. Should i use different version concerning wireless driver? (VINT?)
dvlad666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 0:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is my image:


dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic_10549_WRE54Gv1.rar
 Description:
This is my patched dd-wrt firmware to flash on WRE54G via the original web interface. Use it to flash any version you want afterwards.

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic_10549_WRE54Gv1.rar
 Filesize:  1.64 MB
 Downloaded:  6417 Time(s)

Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
plz add further info
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Linksys

gimme
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Broadcom_detection#3rd_party_firmware_already_installed
and
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Broadcom_detection#We_finally_installed_DD-WRT_but_no_reset_button.2Fled_working

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
dvlad666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've added info inte Supported devices. I'll do the rest two later as i have problem - the router hangs due to a hige (>4.5) CPU loadwhen it connects to PPTP.

I need to do the following:
1)Repeater mode
2)Connect to ISP, get IP via DHCP.
3)Establish a PPTP connection to the NET (no encryption), use it as a WAN.
4)make NAT and share this connection on the wl0.1 interface.

If i don't use PPTP (just DHCP for WAN) the router woks fine and pretty stable.
Is there an optimized firmware to handle this in 8mb RAM?
I've already tried:
-my 10549(posts above)
-10991 micro newd
-9517 micro vint

Could you help me please?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum