RC7-9360 MEGA build for Fonera released (official RC7-9447)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
JMC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Location: Aachen, Cologne, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 15:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Big Thanks from me for this release!

Having a FON(w/o wlan) act as a openvpn gateway behind a Fritz!Box - no problems so far.
Sponsor
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Question about the WAN page, will the traffic counting still exist after a flash from the console? More to the point, how do I keep that traffic count data backed up and then how would I restore it between build versions?
_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
Simon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

How's the stability of rc-7 going for you guys?

I use my f*nera for mostly client-mode and "hopefully" client-bridge in the future.

The broadcom rc-7 routers I have are quite solid with excellent uptimes, but so far, client-mode hasn't been good for me with rc-7 9360 for the f*nera. It locks up after about a half day and webgui freezes & is unreachable afterwards. The svn indicates it will or has been fixed already.

Also the "Save(d)" button will sometimes brick the router requiring a RedBoot re-flash. Not even the Reset button on the bottom will revive it or an unplug/re-plug of power. I've stopped using "Save", and ONLY use "Apply Settings" from now on and this issue has not come up.

btw, I really like the 1 piece firmware package, I hope webgui upgrading will be better and safer from on.

-Simon
pyro
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 0:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
The client bridge mode doesn't work too good:

Connection works only reliably with a really strong signal - my laptop needs less...

Connecting in g-only mode to an AP in g-only mode doesn't work - client needs to be in mixed mode.

Activating "extendend range" on either AP or Client also voids any connection attempt.

Sometimes it only works when switching to client-mode and back to client-bridge mode again.

BTW: The AP (Avila+DCMA) is running RC-7 (02/11/0Cool std - build 8995
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
When my F*n is Client Bridged to my secondary AR430W (also RC7-9360), I can only access both routers when the F*n is connected through ethernet to the rest of the network. If I move the ethernet cable to the AR430W, I cannot access the F*n. Back with RC5, I could access both either way..
_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
Simon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I guess too many changes were made between rc-6.2 to rc-7, hence the stability issues, umm about 3 months worth of changes Smile

I'm also wondering where does dd-wrt for the F*nera stores the configuration data/setting at. Today, I reflashed a unit that had rc 9360 earlier back to rc 9360, I "fis init" and reflashed the unit, somehow it wouldn't work, I check and somehow it was in client-mode. I had it in client-mode earlier and was expecting it to be in AP mode, which is the default on newly initialized & flashed f*neras.

I thought: fis init, load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin,
fis create linux, and reset will restore everything to defaults, but it is not the case once you've flashed a f*nera to rc-7. This is very strange.


-Simon
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes knowing the address range of the configurations would be good for fis erase, but until then it seems that 'fis init -f' will erase the config (along with everything else?), just do the flash again after it.
_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
Simon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I received a few free fonera's awhile back, and after checking them w/ my trusty usb-serial cable, I found that they had been bricked by running "fconfig -i" to initialize the flash.

So, I played around with "fconfig -i" and it really can cause your fonera to be inaccessible from ethernet. Shocked

Your right, "fis init" will initialize the FIS directory only, while "fis init -f" will initialize the FIS directory and all of flash memory, except for first blocks of the flash where the boot monitor resides.

-Simon
jaymode
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also noticed some oddness about the configuration settings. I reset my fon running RC4 to defaults before flashing it to 9360. After flashing, I experienced some instability so I tried a reset to defaults from the WebUI, but that still did not help.

After that, I used the reset button and held it for 30 seconds. The device is now working very well for me. Less connection drops and no reboot(s) required yet on RC7-9360.
xam_max
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
new rc 7 - 9379
Simon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
While updating from RedBoot on a few Fon2200 to rc-9379, I'm still irritated by the constant "floods" of RedBoot error messages. I know you can ignore "most" of them, but I wonder if BrainSlayer, can make a more corrected/recompiled release of RedBoot for us to replace the lousy one included on the F*nera.

-Simon
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6981
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
i can. but i'm aware of since my own fonera 2201 doesnt show these messages. consider these messages as debug and not usually critical. as soon as everthing else is working, i see no reason for providing a updated redboot loader
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
xam_max
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
errors ... ?? Shocked

Three fonera 2100 and no errors ... RC7 9379.



Thanks BrainSlayer.


Last edited by xam_max on Sat Apr 05, 2008 19:54; edited 1 time in total
computmaxer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having a problem mount the cifs.

I am following this guide:
http://fonerahacks.com/index.php/Tutorials-and-Guides/Aircrack-on-Fonera.html

On legend firmware, I cd /mnt and then mkdir share (to create /mnt/share)

Then I do "mount.cifs //192.168.1.166/share /mnt/share -o username=username"

for some reason it never creates the directory.

_________________
5x La fonera.
1 Legend.
4 dd-WRT (2 mega RC7)
Simon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 612

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
xam_max wrote:
errors ... ?? Shocked

Three fonera 2100 and no errors ... RC7 9379.

Thanks BrainSlayer.


We are ONLY talking about the massively produced FON2200 series of routers. They are direct replacements for the FON2100 which overheats. However, all the FON2200 that I own has the constant flooding of "debug" messages from RedBoot. Very irritating to say the least. However, FON2100 & FON2201 routers do not have this issue.

Also the "-v" switch during "load" will crash FON2200's RedBoot when coupled with DD-WRT v24 RC-6.2. I've verified this on 3 different FON2200 w/ PuTTY. But that's a totally different issue. Rolling Eyes

-Simon
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 17, 18, 19  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 6 of 19
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum