CPU 100% usage bug over time?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
WillJitsu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 10:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any updates on this? I'm noticing the same extremely high load usage problem when HTTPS is enabled for the Remote Access.
Sponsor
p2dewit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 15:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I experience the same issue.
Found out that it has to do with an increase in the number of open IP connections over time. Router does not perform any more when it gets close to the max (in my case 4096, and yes, even when i set the timeouts very low).
I don't know how this happens, router runs well for some time and then almost hangs suddenly. In all cases this is due to a high number of open IP connections.
A reboot solves this (for a couple of days then).
No, i do not have P2P running.

_________________
WRT54GS v4.0 with DD-WRT v23 SP1
WRT54GL v1.1 with DD-WRT v23 SP2
WRT350N v1.0 with DD-WRT v24 mega
La Fonera with FreeWLAN Addons 0.9.0
La Fonera with OpenWRT LEGEND
kirkgbr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same here as reported http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=20521

Although I am *not* using ssh or https because i have the micro version. For the last month, using a telnet session, I have watched the httpd process gobble up more and more memory until the router reboots itself. Usually takes a week or so. Just before the router reboots, CPU is extremely high. However, also note that memory used by the httpd process *only* increases when I have a browser(IE or FF) session open to the router. Even after killing the browser session httpd does not release the memory.

As a side note, after the last reboot, I purposely did not open a browser sesssion to the router and memory used by the httpd process is consistently hovering around 400k without ever creeping up.

I usually have only 1 client and that client is not doing anything strenous to the router... my wii occasionaly connecting to do updates and such

~ # uptime
11:43:08 up 21 days, 4:28, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00


WRT54Gv5 v23 SP3 (06/20/07) micro - build 727
merm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having this issue also. Just thought I'd bump the post.
kirkgbr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Since my last post above on "Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:34 pm" I have not had a lockup or any problems at all. But, please read below.

One thing I did notice. On occasion, I did use a browser to take a look at things on the router. During this time i used a telnet session to monitor the httpd process and its memory. After I closed the browser session, as noted before, none of the consumed memory was released. However, i then used the telnet session to kill the httpd process(killall httpd) and let watchdog restart it. Used memory was then released and things went back to normal.


~ # uptime
18:21:50 up 38 days, 11:07, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

~ # free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 6240 5772 468 0 348
Swap: 0 0 0
Total: 6240 5772 468


WRT54Gv5 v23 SP3 (06/20/07) micro - build 727
Yhoni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 13:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi mates, i´ve a linksys Wrt-54gl with DD-WRT v23 SP2STD and i´ve the same problem, i´ve activate the https option and if i use remote access , httpd process overload 100% the cpu of the router. Do have any solution for the bug, actually ?

Thanks and sorry for my english.
mechgt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 19:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think I'm having the same problem, but I can't be sure. How are you guys monitoring processes via telnet?
coolspot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any updates in regards to this issue?

I've noticed HTTPd gobbling up 96 - 100% of my CPU when I run top in the telnet interface.

My average load is now at 1.5 - 2.0ish.

It seems HTTPd increasingly gobbles up more and more CPU over time - my current router has been running for 4 days.
KClaisse
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Im having the same problem here. I am not running p2p but I do have a web server, game server, and a voip server running that all together use a couple thousand connections at any given time. I have my max connections set to 4096 for this purpose. But I have noticed extremely high cpu usage, and looking at top I can see httpd using 75%-100%. The router will lock up a couple times a week, and it won't function again until it gets a hard reboot. Is there any solution yet?
Yhoni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yhoni wrote:
Hi mates, i´ve a linksys Wrt-54gl with DD-WRT v23 SP2STD and i´ve the same problem, i´ve activate the https option and if i use remote access , httpd process overload 100% the cpu of the router. Do have any solution for the bug, actually ?

Thanks and sorry for my english.


Hi mates, i fix the problem with the new version dd-wrt v24std.

Thanks.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11482
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK all......svn 9910 build has this problem fixed. I am testing for Eko and BS right now. All the 100% CPU issues are gone.

I hope to talk with BS and Eko this morning....but just be aware....it will be fixed in the next TNG release.

[EDIT] - and before anyone asks....I can not provide 9910-micro. The devs have to make the call as to when it is released....sorry

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Yhoni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
OK all......svn 9910 build has this problem fixed. I am testing for Eko and BS right now. All the 100% CPU issues are gone.

I hope to talk with BS and Eko this morning....but just be aware....it will be fixed in the next TNG release.

[EDIT] - and before anyone asks....I can not provide 9910-micro. The devs have to make the call as to when it is released....sorry

redhawk


I am going back to have the same problem with the dd-wrt 24std sp1 and Linksys WRT-54GL V1.1, my https wan access is cut every few days . All proccess working ok, but https go up until 98% of average of cpu charge. I only can fix it restarting.

Quote:
==========================================================
Mem: 11988K used, 1060K free, 0K shrd, 1576K buff, 3816K cached
CPU: 28.9% usr 71.0% sys 0.0% nice 0.0% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 0.0% softirq
Load average: 1.24 1.18 1.12
PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %MEM %CPU COMMAND
5893 1 root R 2332 17.7 97.6 httpd -S
5887 1 root S 2292 17.4 0.9 httpd -p 80
29199 29078 root R 1168 8.9 0.5 top
5917 1 root S 1164 8.8 0.2 /usr/sbin/telnetd
14 1 root S 1188 9.0 0.0 /sbin/watchdog
29078 5917 root S 1184 9.0 0.0 -sh
1 0 root S 1176 8.9 0.0 /sbin/init noinitrd
5911 1 root S 1172 8.9 0.0 ttraff
2193 1 root S 1168 8.9 0.0 resetbutton
29065 1 root S 1168 8.9 0.0 /sbin/wland
2691 1 root S 1168 8.9 0.0 process_monitor
5892 1 root S 1088 8.2 0.0 nas -P /tmp/nas.wl0lan.pid -H 34954 -
5915 1 root S 820 6.2 0.0 dnsmasq --conf-file=/tmp/dnsmasq.conf
26858 1 root S 704 5.3 0.0 cron
3043 1 root S 700 5.3 0.0 udhcpc -i vlan1 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pi
5922 1 root S 688 5.2 0.0 /usr/sbin/pptpd -c /tmp/pptpd/pptpd.c
3 1 root SWN 0 0.0 0.0 [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
10 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [mtdblockd]
6 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [kupdated]
2 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [keventd]
4 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [kswapd]
5 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [bdflush]
root@DD-WRT_PRINCIPAL:~#


I do not know how fix it . Anybody can help me ?

Thank you.

Escuse me for my poor english.
Yhoni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 16:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am going back to have the same problem with the dd-wrt 24std sp1 and Linksys WRT-54GL V1.1, my https wan access is cut every few days . The rest of the proccess working ok, but https go up until 98% of average of cpu charge. I only can fix it restarting.

Quote:

==========================================================
Mem: 11988K used, 1060K free, 0K shrd, 1576K buff, 3816K cached
CPU: 28.9% usr 71.0% sys 0.0% nice 0.0% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 0.0% softirq
Load average: 1.24 1.18 1.12
PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %MEM %CPU COMMAND
5893 1 root R 2332 17.7 97.6 httpd -S
5887 1 root S 2292 17.4 0.9 httpd -p 80
29199 29078 root R 1168 8.9 0.5 top
5917 1 root S 1164 8.8 0.2 /usr/sbin/telnetd
14 1 root S 1188 9.0 0.0 /sbin/watchdog
29078 5917 root S 1184 9.0 0.0 -sh
1 0 root S 1176 8.9 0.0 /sbin/init noinitrd
5911 1 root S 1172 8.9 0.0 ttraff
2193 1 root S 1168 8.9 0.0 resetbutton
29065 1 root S 1168 8.9 0.0 /sbin/wland
2691 1 root S 1168 8.9 0.0 process_monitor
5892 1 root S 1088 8.2 0.0 nas -P /tmp/nas.wl0lan.pid -H 34954 -
5915 1 root S 820 6.2 0.0 dnsmasq --conf-file=/tmp/dnsmasq.conf
26858 1 root S 704 5.3 0.0 cron
3043 1 root S 700 5.3 0.0 udhcpc -i vlan1 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pi
5922 1 root S 688 5.2 0.0 /usr/sbin/pptpd -c /tmp/pptpd/pptpd.c
3 1 root SWN 0 0.0 0.0 [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
10 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [mtdblockd]
6 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [kupdated]
2 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [keventd]
4 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [kswapd]
5 1 root SW 0 0.0 0.0 [bdflush]
root@DD-WRT_PRINCIPAL:~#



I do not know how fix it . Anybody can help me ?

Thank you.

Escuse me for my poor english.


Last edited by Yhoni on Mon Aug 18, 2008 17:16; edited 1 time in total
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11482
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 17:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes...its working better in this build.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fothers%2Feko%2FV24_TNG%2Fsvn10108/

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Yhoni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
Yes...its working better in this build.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fothers%2Feko%2FV24_TNG%2Fsvn10108/

redhawk


Ok mate, i will test it.


Thank you very much.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum