If you can ssh into a booted dd-wrt, you can flash the factory firmware back to both partitions, but you have to get the factory f/w copied into the router's /tmp directory first. Once you do, just issue these commands.
Code:
mtd -e linux -f write /tmp/FW_MR7500_1.1.12.211919_prod.img linux
mtd -e linux2 -f write /tmp/FW_MR7500_1.1.12.211919_prod.img linux2
reboot
Getting the firmware moved to the router will probably require sftp in your current state.
Code:
cd to where your OEM firmware is saved
sftp root@192.168.1.1
cd /tmp
put FW_MR7500_1.1.12.211919_prod.img
The instructions are the same for the mr7350. For more info read:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_MR7350#Revert_To_Stock_Firmware _________________ - Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r59429
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz - r59171
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r59171
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r59451
- Linksys MR7350: WDS Station for extended Ethernet r59451
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 40, 10 RPis (2,3,4,5), 23 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.
If the above procedure doe not work, then you will have to open up the router and connect a usb tty serial adaptor to it and flash via uboot/tftp. I believe the pins are already in place in the router so no soldering required. _________________ - Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r59429
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz - r59171
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r59171
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r59451
- Linksys MR7350: WDS Station for extended Ethernet r59451
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 40, 10 RPis (2,3,4,5), 23 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.
root@DD-WRT:/tmp# mtd -e linux -f write /tmp/FW_MR7500_1.1.12.211919_prod.img li
nux2
Could not open mtd device: linux2
Can't open device for writing!
root@DD-WRT:/tmp#
kernel and alt_kernel are both used for OpenWRT and OEM. While it's possible the first experimental build of dd-wrt was put up here before @BrainSlayer renamed those partitions to linux and linux2 or you are booted to an OpenWRT or OEM partition. EDIT: Nevermind, I see the DDWRT partition so this particular build did not have the kernel partitions renamed which I'm sure is the majority of your issues.
However, this is not a show stopper. You just need to change the command line to:
EDIT2: the -r option forces a reboot after the flash. I don't think you want that until both partitions are written in which case you will want to manually reboot with the 'reboot' command. _________________ - Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r59429
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz - r59171
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r59171
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r59451
- Linksys MR7350: WDS Station for extended Ethernet r59451
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 40, 10 RPis (2,3,4,5), 23 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.
Joined: 08 May 2018 Posts: 15535 Location: Texas, USA
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2025 2:35 Post subject:
Unless something was really hosed in the webUI upgrading process between initial build and current test images, the webflash.bin still should've flashed (and overwrote the partition layout and names). There's something related to the OpenWRT installation that is breaking things, methinks. This is why I suggested full restore to factory. Probably going to require serial if forced flashing via mtd doesn't work. _________________ "Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed... DD-WRT Releases 2023 (PolitePol)
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (RSS Everything)
----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Joined: 06 Jun 2006 Posts: 7604 Location: Dresden, Germany
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2025 4:47 Post subject:
seth_space wrote:
Okay, then my problem is the mr7500 refuses to update.
I tried with the small one followed by the web version but to no avail.
After the flash the router gives a green light with 3 red flashes and green again. Waited for 10 minutes.
I have to restart the router and the result is the same firmware version. DD-WRT v3.0-r59149 std (01/11/25
Any thoughts?
Tried to restore to Linksys with the 3x reboot and i get a ipadres: 192.168.1.1 and i can ping the router. it even gives the wifi connection for initial setup but i am unable to connect or start the initial webpage.
Trying to connect it via the linksys app with the existing mesh does fail also. It sees the router, connects it and keeps hanging on the final step.
so i can get back in ddwrt, i can try to flash the new firmware but the router refuses to update.
if you have installed the 5 days old version you cannot update with web. thats true. but this affects only this very first test version.
in any way. going back to previous version can be also done with turning on the router for 5 seconds. turn off again. (do this 4 times) and then you are back to the previous version (unless you flashed both partitions with the same firmware)
dd-wrt does support this dual firmware bootprocedure.
and you also dont need to modify the commandline. dd-wrt does this for you and its usually not required in future version since i can initialize the wan port from the system itself (i'm working on it)
in any way. here again a newer version. if you have installed a more recent version you can install it via webgui now _________________ "So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Last edited by BrainSlayer on Fri Jan 17, 2025 5:07; edited 1 time in total
if you have installed the 5 days old version you cannot update with web. thats true. but this affects only this very first test version.
Not trying to be condescending at all here but I know it's going to come off that way. Apologies in advance....
This is why we stressed early on, when one is eager to test a v0.01 alpha firmware, they should have their backup recovery plan already in place. In this case, a usb tty serial connection that is tested and working (with a working tftp server in case things go south).
However, I think that @seth_space can get recovered 100% to factory by running the correct commands from console. _________________ - Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r59429
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz - r59171
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r59171
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r59451
- Linksys MR7350: WDS Station for extended Ethernet r59451
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 40, 10 RPis (2,3,4,5), 23 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.
Joined: 06 Jun 2006 Posts: 7604 Location: Dresden, Germany
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2025 5:47 Post subject:
you can flash to kernel and kernel_alt. yes. but if you just installed it from factory you can also go back to the recovery partition by using the power on/off procedure _________________ "So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
you can flash to kernel and kernel_alt. yes. but if you just installed it from factory you can also go back to the recovery partition by using the power on/off procedure
This would work perfectly if the other partition is indeed a factory image. This would simplify everything if it works. But I think he's already tried that and the OEM doesn't boot. _________________ - Linksys EA8500: I-Gateway, WAP/VAP 5ghz only. Features: WDS-AP, VLANs, Samba, WG, Entware - r59429
- Linksys EA8500: 802.11s Secondary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz - r59171
- Linksys MX4300: 802.11s Primary w/VLAN Trunk over 5ghz. 2.4ghz WAP/VAP only - r59171
- Linksys MX4300 (WAP/VAP (7)) Multiple VLANs over single trunk port. Entware/Samba r59451
- Linksys MR7350: WDS Station for extended Ethernet r59451
- Linksys Velop WHW03v1 x2: OpenWRT w/GRETAP tunnel for VLANs on VAPs
- OSes: Fedora 40, 10 RPis (2,3,4,5), 23 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '95, never having owned a Windows PC.
Joined: 06 Jun 2006 Posts: 7604 Location: Dresden, Germany
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2025 8:11 Post subject:
maybe he did overwrite the other partition too. i'm not sure but i think openwrt does not use the dual boot method like dd-wrt does. dd-wrt does always flash the second partion and flops the boot order before rebooting. so if something fails it goes automaticly back to the previous version _________________ "So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Joined: 06 Jun 2006 Posts: 7604 Location: Dresden, Germany
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2025 8:22 Post subject:
one thing for the 6 ghz interface. by default its not operating because 6 ghz requires wpa3. so make sure to setup security on the wireless security tab. on the 5 ghz interface only wpa3 modes are available. but it makes no sense for me to preconfigure it with bullshit values. so manual user interaction is required at first setup
edit:
i verified that 6g is not yet working. its initialized but i cannot see the network. (original firmware works)
i will work on this. rest is working so far _________________ "So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
However, I think that @seth_space can get recovered 100% to factory by running the correct commands from console.
Alas... i am now officially bricked i am afraid.
Tried one partition with no luck and the second try with your slightly adapted command and now i have only a blue light and a router not reacting to any action. Even the reset function does not give any action.
So going for the https://www.amazon.nl/usb-to-ttl-adapter/s?k=usb+to+ttl+adapter methode i guess.
Or someone in the Netherlands willing to flash it.
mtd erase ddwrt
mtd erase linux
mtd -f write /tmp/newfirmware.img kernel
fw_setenv boot_part 1
reboot _________________ "So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s