Again...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2024 11:14    Post subject: Again... Reply with quote
WRT3200ACM

Alexa devices won't connect

Another try at this , another knockdown

Sad
Sponsor
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1194
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2024 15:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Until you supply many more details, this may be the only reply you will get to this thread.
_________________
- Linksys EA8500: Internet Gateway, AP/VAP 5ghz only r56820
Features in use: WDS-AP, Multiple VLANs, Samba, WireGuard, Entware: mqtt, mlocate
- Linksys EA8500: WDS Station x2 - r56820
- Netgear R6400v2: WAP/VAP 2.4ghz only w/VLANs over single trunk port. r56820
- Netgear R7800 (WDS-AP, WAP/VAP) - r56820: Features in use: multiple VLANs over single trunk port
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r56820
- OSes: Fedora 38, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '94, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2024 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
lexridge wrote:
Until you supply many more details, this may be the only reply you will get to this thread.


I don't exactly know what else I needed...

You know the build and router and what isn't working...

My blood type is o-......

Laughing
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 2041

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2024 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't see a build number. And no details of your wireless configuration or logs to help discern what the problem could be, even though IoT is a topic that has been discussed in this forum.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.5
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1194
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2024 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
mikesal57 wrote:
I don't exactly know what else I needed...

You know the build and router and what isn't working...


No build number. Is it a newer Amazon Echo w/both 2.4 and 5ghz or it is a 1st generation Echo Dot with 2.4ghz only? I have a variety of eight of these devices and they all connect perfectly on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz on up to three different routers/APs. I can only guess your wifi settings may be at issue.

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: Internet Gateway, AP/VAP 5ghz only r56820
Features in use: WDS-AP, Multiple VLANs, Samba, WireGuard, Entware: mqtt, mlocate
- Linksys EA8500: WDS Station x2 - r56820
- Netgear R6400v2: WAP/VAP 2.4ghz only w/VLANs over single trunk port. r56820
- Netgear R7800 (WDS-AP, WAP/VAP) - r56820: Features in use: multiple VLANs over single trunk port
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r56820
- OSes: Fedora 38, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '94, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2024 23:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
lexridge wrote:
mikesal57 wrote:
I don't exactly know what else I needed...

You know the build and router and what isn't working...


No build number. Is it a newer Amazon Echo w/both 2.4 and 5ghz or it is a 1st generation Echo Dot with 2.4ghz only? I have a variety of eight of these devices and they all connect perfectly on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz on up to three different routers/APs. I can only guess your wifi settings may be at issue.


OK , sorry

latest Build 56721

Yes it is a 1st gen dot and the Echo I'm not sure...

2.4 has WPA2 Personal AES-CCMP with GN

5.0 WPA2 with AES-CCMP AC Only

Doe's this help?
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1194
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2024 0:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Start here first:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324014
While I do not agree 100% with this, it is a good starting point.

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: Internet Gateway, AP/VAP 5ghz only r56820
Features in use: WDS-AP, Multiple VLANs, Samba, WireGuard, Entware: mqtt, mlocate
- Linksys EA8500: WDS Station x2 - r56820
- Netgear R6400v2: WAP/VAP 2.4ghz only w/VLANs over single trunk port. r56820
- Netgear R7800 (WDS-AP, WAP/VAP) - r56820: Features in use: multiple VLANs over single trunk port
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r56820
- OSes: Fedora 38, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '94, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2024 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
lexridge wrote:
Start here first:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324014
While I do not agree 100% with this, it is a good starting point.


Thxs Lex...

Going to try re-setting my Alexa devices first that I found on You Tube...
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1194
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2024 2:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
You may also want to log into your Amazon account and erase all saved access points and passwords for your Alexas, just to be sure. I had to do this recently as I had collected several over the years. Do not confuse this with your main Amazon account.
_________________
- Linksys EA8500: Internet Gateway, AP/VAP 5ghz only r56820
Features in use: WDS-AP, Multiple VLANs, Samba, WireGuard, Entware: mqtt, mlocate
- Linksys EA8500: WDS Station x2 - r56820
- Netgear R6400v2: WAP/VAP 2.4ghz only w/VLANs over single trunk port. r56820
- Netgear R7800 (WDS-AP, WAP/VAP) - r56820: Features in use: multiple VLANs over single trunk port
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r56820
- OSes: Fedora 38, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '94, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2024 0:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
lexridge wrote:
You may also want to log into your Amazon account and erase all saved access points and passwords for your Alexas, just to be sure. I had to do this recently as I had collected several over the years. Do not confuse this with your main Amazon account.


Exactly what I did....thx

Took a while but now all's good

I set a reboot every Sunday morning and hope things stay up and running..
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1194
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2024 4:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Glad you got it working.

I have all mine on my Media VLAN. This created a problem a few weeks ago whenever Amazon changed something and my HABridge server stopped working. I could no longer voice control my IoT devices (on the IoT vlan). I ended up having to put one of my antique Echo Dots v1 onto the IoT network in order to discover anything in the HABridge. Also I discovered, if this particular device is unplugged, voice commands for these devices fails as well on all other Echo devices. So apparently, whenever you add devices from a single echo, those devices are somehow locked to that single device and if it dies (or gets unplugged), you have to delete and re-discover on the same vlan. It was a bitch to figure it out but that is what I have discovered.....so far. I left that Echo Dot v1 on the IoT network instead of the Media network because of this. I have to discover new devices on this ONE device.

Once a (Emulated Hue) device is discovered, it works from all Alexa devices (even on a different vlan). So strange!

_________________
- Linksys EA8500: Internet Gateway, AP/VAP 5ghz only r56820
Features in use: WDS-AP, Multiple VLANs, Samba, WireGuard, Entware: mqtt, mlocate
- Linksys EA8500: WDS Station x2 - r56820
- Netgear R6400v2: WAP/VAP 2.4ghz only w/VLANs over single trunk port. r56820
- Netgear R7800 (WDS-AP, WAP/VAP) - r56820: Features in use: multiple VLANs over single trunk port
- Linksys MR7350: Testing r56820
- OSes: Fedora 38, 9 RPis (2,3,4,5), 20 ESP8266s: Straight from Amiga to Linux in '94, never having owned a Windows PC.

- Forum member #248
mikesal57
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2024 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
mikesal57 wrote:
lexridge wrote:
You may also want to log into your Amazon account and erase all saved access points and passwords for your Alexas, just to be sure. I had to do this recently as I had collected several over the years. Do not confuse this with your main Amazon account.


Exactly what I did....thx

Took a while but now all's good

I set a reboot every Sunday morning and hope things stay up and running..


Well, I thought everything was good....

To wake up to no internet..

I had a feeling that all was NOT good because my Echo Dots started to lag and skip during

giving answers like the weather for 5 days..

Then the no internet this morning....

Couldn't log into DD WRT , so I went back to stock...all good

Then I installed 56721 again and the Dots were out again..

I'm done with this WRT3200ACM and DD WRT
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum