R9000 first time setup not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
kittle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2024
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2024 6:54    Post subject: R9000 first time setup not working Reply with quote
I purchased a used Asus R9000 and flashed the latest version (r55109)
It seemed to go okay -- the web interface took a long time to show up.

Other than changing the timezone in the NTP server to US/Pacific, I did not change any settings, left everything else is at defaults

I did the flash with the router connected via cable to my old laptop (laptop wifi is OFF)
then powered off the router for a few days.

eventually I turned the router back on, and connected to my desktop PC and newer laptop (both via wired connection) -- again the web interface took a very long time to come up.
I put the cable modem plugged into the wan port on the router -- but no internet.
Attempting to do a release/renew in the web UI did nothing.
My old router was set with DHCP configuration, which matched what I saw in the web ui, so I left that unchanged.

My desktop PC is setup with a static IP which I use for ip forwarding (that will be setup later)

rebooting the router had no effect
rebooting my desktop had no effect

so I connect my old router & make this forum post
It seems I missed something somewhere....

Aside from the obvious part of connecting my cable modem to the wan port, and plug a cable from port 1 of the router to my desktop -- what else do I need for just basic operation and internet access?
Sponsor
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 2057

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2024 7:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes. Power down your cable modem and R9000 for 5 minutes (at least), then power up cable modem, wait 5 minutes, power up R9000. Worst case scenario is you have to contact your ISP and have them clear your old router MAC address OR clone the MAC address of your old router.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.5
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 13129
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2024 7:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your cable modem is in router mode and not in bridge mode you might need to change the Routers IP address from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.2.1, note it is the third octet you have to change and not the last number.

If the ISP modem is in bridge mode (meaning you have a public WAN ip address) then the modem has to learn the new MAC address of the new router.
Sometimes the ISP has to set this up for you sometimes it works automatically if you switch the ISP modem off.
Sequence of commands is:
Turn Router off
Power down the ISP modem
After two minutes power up the ISP modem
After five minutes power up the Router

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kittle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2024
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2024 7:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks - that fixed things, i have internet access on my new router now.

What is the normal wait time for things to be available after I power on router?
I find there is some time where the web interface gives "connection refused"
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 13129
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2024 7:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
kittle wrote:
Thanks - that fixed things, i have internet access on my new router now.

What is the normal wait time for things to be available after I power on router?
I find there is some time where the web interface gives "connection refused"


Depends on what you have enabled so anywhere between 1 - 4 minutes

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum