wireless mac filtering help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2023 4:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
so maybe the Vaps is making a "conflict? i will try it after.

is there a command to "inject" the necessary options and bypass the GUI just to have it like "back up option" until to find the bug?
Sponsor
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2023 8:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Morning, I have found the error.
It affects all Atheros routers and is related to wireless security.
If the security mode is deactivated, no BSSID is written to supplicant.conf.

I'll report it to Brainslayer and get back to you when it's fixed.

Edit: You can insert the BSSID manually as follows

Code:
sed -i $'/network={/a bssid=00:11:22:33:44:55' /tmp/wlan0_wpa_supplicant.conf
kill -HUP $(pidof "wpa_supplicant")


Execute via telnet or ssh

It is possible that it does not work via WebIF

But it is not a permanent solution.

You can also try the script

Code:
#!/bin/ash
while :
do
   if grep -q bssid /tmp/wlan0_wpa_supplicant.conf;
   then
      sleep 30
   else
      sed -i $'/network={/a bssid=00:11:22:33:44:55' /tmp/wlan0_wpa_supplicant.conf
      kill -HUP $(pidof "wpa_supplicant")
      sleep 30
   fi
done


Save as a custom script or whatever

_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2023 16:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/54487
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/54488

But I haven't tested it yet.

_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2023 17:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
thank you, not only me but the forum!
i will try it when I'll go back!
Now i am using the asus with tomato just for testing the stability.
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2023 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
i just checked the first tp-link 841 and yes i have done the same mistake.
..i was expecting that "wireless mac filter will work in station (client) mode.
As you said there is no option in the old firmware.
DD-WRT v3.0-r34311 std (12/29/17)
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2023 9:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
It works and is fixed in the next public build
_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2023 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
WE thank you so much.
the invitation I told you is valid. I didn't say that for fun... let the others go to the nightclub where the bouzouki is played, we'll go to the routers!
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 3006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2023 11:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2023/12-15-2023-r54517/
_________________
Quickstart guides:
use Pi-Hole as simple DNS-Server with DD-WRT
VLAN configuration via GUI - 1 CPU port
VLAN configuration via GUI - 2 CPU ports (R7800, EA8500 etc)

Routers
Marvell OCTEON TX2 - QHora-322 - OpenWrt 23.05.3 - Gateway
Qualcomm IPQ8065 - R7800 - DD-WRT - WAP
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
i just installed without reset.
it was already from the previous test you told me to do with one wrong mac-address and it couldn't connect!!
When i replaced the wrong mac-address with the desired one immediately connected!!
i will inform about the stability but it works!
What i can say thank you again.

should I ask something more?
this was a chronic problem, wasn't it?
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2023 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
maybe i have to reset because I have many many disconnections.
it doesn't not change to another Mac address/Ap but i have disconnections in every combination I have done in the wireless settings Especially when i do Speed Test (20/10)
Even with the Tomato router i can not get more than 29/18mbits .
offtopic
(the Vdsl is connected at 166/18 but all the Ap here are 2.4 and the most of the times in the same channel.)
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 1959

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2023 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use 2.4 band as station, 5GHz as AP with no VAPs. If you must have a 2.4 band AP, add a separate device.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.5
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2023 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have one 2.4 virtual but was disabled.
i will try to remove and to reset when i will find time.
drdedus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 171
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2023 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
except that i have to check with another power supply
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum