Any issues flashing with 11-24-2023-r54109 Netgear R8000?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
bobby121418
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2022
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2023 21:11    Post subject: Any issues flashing with 11-24-2023-r54109 Netgear R8000? Reply with quote
Hi,
I want to flash my Netgear R8000

from: 10-13-2022-r50500

to: 11-24-2023-r54109

Has anyone had any issues?

Many thanks
Cheers
Sponsor
benevolent_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2023 23:17    Post subject: Re: Any issues flashing with 11-24-2023-r54109 Netgear R8000 Reply with quote
bobby121418 wrote:
Hi,
I want to flash my Netgear R8000

from: 10-13-2022-r50500

to: 11-24-2023-r54109

Has anyone had any issues?

Many thanks
Cheers


Yes. The web interface becomes extremely unstable and you wind up having to use nmrpflash to get your router back. I've had to do this with both R7000 and R8000.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12766
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 10:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I sincerely doubt this, I have both an R7000 and EA6900 (which is more or less the same router) running with 54109 without a problem.

Besides nobody else is reporting web interface problems,

Web interface problems are almost always caused by browser problems i.e. extensions.
Use FireFox and/or private incognito mode without any extensions after clearing browser cache.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
bobby121418
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2022
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 10:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you both.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 6333
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 11:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
there should not be a problem...as egc noted above...browser problems are the most cases to blame for bad GUI behaviour..i use Pale-moon browser, in private mode...never had any issues...there is also FireFox portable edition..excellent choice too...any non-cromium based browser, will do way better...with DDWRT and even any other 3rd party firmware...
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 55009 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,VPN,x1VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55052 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,x4VLAN,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.15.x AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,Forced DNS,AP&Net Isolation,x3VLAN,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 55052 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,x2VLAN,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 --DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/SmartDNS/DoH,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,x3VLAN,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
benevolent_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
there should not be a problem...as egc noted above...browser problems are the most cases to blame for bad GUI behaviour..i use Pale-moon browser, in private mode...never had any issues...there is also FireFox portable edition..excellent choice too...any non-cromium based browser, will do way better...with DDWRT and even any other 3rd party firmware...


I've recreated the behavior with both Chrome and Edge on Windows 10 ethernet and Chrome wireless using a chromebook. When I have time, I'll dig out my macbook.

I am beginning to suspect the villain in this piece is Freshtomato. The misbehaving routers all started with that. The R8000 doesn't handle even openwrt at this point.

I did 30-30-30 by the way.

OpenWRT:

https://openwrt.org/toh/netgear/r8000

It just installed and then on reboot, two of the white lights came on but the router didn't seem to interact with the outside world at all.


Last edited by benevolent_al on Sat Nov 25, 2023 17:53; edited 1 time in total
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 6333
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
30-30-30 is bad idea and its been marked in red text..as its only for an old routers as well on some new routers it may cause lots of problems, as it interferes with their recovery option...so, dont use it on this router...press the rest button for 10 sec and that is...simple as that...

I didn't know there is a build of OpenWRT for R8000 (broadcom router) never heard of it...

In the past FT was known to cause some troubles to the CFE and in general its recommended to move from 3rd party firmwares to stock firmware and than to another firmware and so on...no idea how is this nowadays, but in the past it was an issue..i screwed one of my R7000 and luckily i had CFE back up to restore the corrupt CFE...but that was ages ago...

Pale-Moon and FFx portable are the my best choices, you can use FFx in private mode with all add-ons disabled in private mode...the other browser know to me is Waterfox...try any of those...
I never had any issues with DDWRT WEB interface (GUI)

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 55009 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,VPN,x1VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55052 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,x4VLAN,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.15.x AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,Forced DNS,AP&Net Isolation,x3VLAN,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 55052 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,x2VLAN,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 --DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/SmartDNS/DoH,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,x3VLAN,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
benevolent_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
30-30-30 is bad idea and its been marked in red text..as its only for an old routers as well on some new routers it may cause lots of problems, as it interferes with their recovery option...so, dont use it on this router...press the rest button for 10 sec and that is...simple as that...

I didn't know there is a build of OpenWRT for R8000 (broadcom router) never heard of it...

In the past FT was known to cause some troubles to the CFE and in general its recommended to move from 3rd party firmwares to stock firmware and than to another firmware and so on...no idea how is this nowadays, but in the past it was an issue..i screwed one of my R7000 and luckily i had CFE back up to restore the corrupt CFE...but that was ages ago...

Pale-Moon and FFx portable are the my best choices, you can use FFx in private mode with all add-ons disabled in private mode...the other browser know to me is Waterfox...try any of those...
I never had any issues with DDWRT WEB interface (GUI)


Believe me, 30-30-30 was the 27th thing I tried. I didn't do it lightly.

I'm pretty sure I did nmrpflash -> stock -> UI -> dd-wrt at least once, but it's a blur at this point.
tedm
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 554

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 22:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
The R8000 is very easy to add a serial port to:

https://www.myopenrouter.com/article/how-set-serial-console-netgear-r8000

The correct 3.3v serial to USB adapter is only $4 now. I've updated the following

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial%5FRecovery

with a picture of it. The last 2 pics here show me using it:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_port_pinouts

Until you do this you are flying completely blind.

My guess is you could erase the nvram, backrev it to factory, boot it, let the factory flash rebuild the nvram (it will likely reboot the router several times doing this) then webflash factory to dd-wrt and it would be fine.

But if you could boot it and post the boot log here from the serial port I'm sure someone could help.
bobby121418
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2022
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2023 11:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am not sure I follow the latest posts. However, just to say that I upgraded and thus far all is well.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum