"access point" "no internet" WNDR3400v1

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
pmarion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2023
Posts: 12
Location: Pennsyltucky

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 3:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's a lot of topics! I guess I have my reading for the next day or so!

I started here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery

_________________
- My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be.
Sponsor
pmarion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2023
Posts: 12
Location: Pennsyltucky

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 22:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm concerned that this is beyond m skill level / outside of my skillset. It appears that I would have to solder on the router PCB, correct?
_________________
- My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1866
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 23:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
pmarion wrote:
I'm concerned that this is beyond m skill level / outside of my skillset. It appears that I would have to solder on the router PCB, correct?


From the looks of this picture, soldering would be optimal but with a helper 🙋 the wires
could be held in place by hand.

Just have to figure out what goes where.

_________________
Forum Guide Lines (with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips!)
How to get help the right way

Before asking for help - Read the forum guidelines AND Upgrade DD-WRT!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13158
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 2:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can send me the device and I can install the header and get the developer the info needed; if you want it back after, then we'll need to discuss further in PM. Not sure why it's balking at de-bricking without serial, but I don't have any similar (Netgear) routers in inventory (yet).
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
pmarion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2023
Posts: 12
Location: Pennsyltucky

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
You can send me the device and I can install the header and get the developer the info needed; if you want it back after, then we'll need to discuss further in PM. Not sure why it's balking at de-bricking without serial, but I don't have any similar (Netgear) routers in inventory (yet).

Well, I ordered the cable, so I might as well try. It's not bricked, it just won't flash that version via the GUI.
I would solder it myself, but my hands shake badly these days. (Gettin' old ain't for sissies!) I'll see if my wife can hold the wires in place.
I tried again with the old build that is on it. I disabled WAN, added the existing router as the DNS server and gateway, set the SSIDs, yada yada yada. It still shows "connected, no internet" when I connect to it. However, the Belkin N600 does the same thing, so I'm thinking I may have to change something on the C2300, although I'm not sure what. A static route, perhaps?

_________________
- My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be.
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 849

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe you can get lucky enough to roll back to a working version and then test command line flash to see where it breaks. As already stated, if the usual methods of TFTP / recovery mode / etc. (even nmrpflash) cannot de-brick it to stock or previous trailed firmware image file for 33772. I would avoid the pin short method of recovery, as it can further damage the router.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
pmarion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2023
Posts: 12
Location: Pennsyltucky

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
dale_gribble39 wrote:
Maybe you can get lucky enough to roll back to a working version and then test command line flash to see where it breaks. As already stated, if the usual methods of TFTP / recovery mode / etc. (even nmrpflash) cannot de-brick it to stock or previous trailed firmware image file for 33772. I would avoid the pin short method of recovery, as it can further damage the router.


It is not bricked. It has a "working" version (the one referenced in the original post) installed.
It just does not connect to the internet.

_________________
- My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be.
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum