how to erase nvram

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
nkaufman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:12    Post subject: how to erase nvram Reply with quote
Hello,

Having some issues with my R7800 router and wanted to reinstall dd-wrt and then the later firmware.

Read that it might be better to erase nvram before and after installing dd-wrt.

Am wondering if there are any precise instructions on how to do this.

Should I run commands from GUI or should I telnet and then run?

thanks,
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 6436
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
press the reset button does well or reset via GUI, otherwise via telnet or ssh

nvram erase && reboot

important thing is, do not load save file from a different builds, redo settings manually
usually i use txt file copy/paste values

do not perform 30/30/30 on this router...this is only for an old WRT series routers from the past..

i never use command box...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 55630 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55723 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,x4VLAN,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.15.x AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear XR500 --DD-WRT 55779 Gateway/DoH,Forced DNS,AP Isolation,4VLAN,Ad-Block,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 55819 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,Forced DNS,AP&Net Isolation,x3VLAN,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 55779 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,x2VLAN,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 --DD-WRT 55460 Gateway/SmartDNS/DoH,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,x3VLAN,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 14216
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Administration->Factory Defaults->Reset To Factory Defaults is the other option. You do not want to use the Commands tab.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (PolitePol)
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (RSS Everything)

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 5700

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 6:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
A hardware reset for this router, from the R7800 user manual, while powered on hold the reset button for at least 7 seconds.

An nvram erase is definitely one of those things you should only do via Telnet and not the GUI (pictures are not necessary).
This is recommended after flashing from stock factory firmware to dd-wrt, a major upgrade (rare) or downgrade.
If you want to be safe before a flash, simply go to GUI Administration -> Factory Defaults tab to restore the default configuration.

I don’t understand this phrase "reinstall dd-wrt and then the later firmware" as you should be able flash directly.
Which build file do you plan on using and how do you plan to flash it: TFTP, Telnet or GUI?
If you do a GUI upgrade be sure to leave the dropdown alone (Don't reset).

Check out the wiki nvram erase && reboot and also the Netgear R7800 Install Guide by egc.
nkaufman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks everyone for their comments.

So, no going to Administration -> Command and then running:
"nvram erase && reboot"


Preferred way is to connect to router via telnet and then running this command.


By re-install dd-wrt, I meant can one run factory-to-wrt again on a dd-wrt router or will that cause any problems?
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 5700

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 23:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are using CLI (Telnet/SSH) or GUI to upgrade from DD-WRT, use the webupgrade binary. It's a full install.

The factory-to-ddwrt image is only used if you are currently running on stock factory firmware and I believe also with TFTP.

Read egc's install guide.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 14216
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (PolitePol)
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (RSS Everything)

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
andreyua
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 10:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I set some data (tests with dual wan)… for example:

Code:

nvram set vlan0ports="1 2 3 5*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 5"
nvram set vlan2hwname=et0
nvram commit

But i want to totally reset nvram.
There shouldn't be any leftovers that I entered. And I entered not only this, I don’t remember everything.

I tried
- nvram erase && reboot
- 30/30/30 hard reset
- update new firmware
But after reboot the router, for example: vlan2ports="0 5" still exist.
Router: D-Link DIR-825 revB
Few firmwares used.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12881
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 11:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
It probably is recreated as those are default values.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
andreyua
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 11:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
absoultely not
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12881
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 18:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Awfully sorry for bringing it up will not happen again.Sad
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Ontarier
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2015
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Coincidentally, I ended up with the same vlan config as andreyua after adding a new vlan. When I entered nvram erase && reboot the newly configured vlan settings remained. So I wrote the original settings to nvram and these were saved, but after a subsequent nvram erase && reboot, so was the new vlan I had configured earlier. I haven't been able to find a way to delete vlan2ports=2 5 from nvram. Can you please advise how? Thanks!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12881
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
This thread started about a Netgear R7800 and then was hijacked by @andreyua, so to avoid confusion please start your own thread and mention router model and build number.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum