Backup Router Device

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
aaloneft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 15:46    Post subject: Backup Router Device Reply with quote
Hi all and thanks for sharing knowledge.
I have a NetGear R6400 router working well with DD-WRT v3.0-r45454 std (01/15/21).
Being a single point of failure, I want to buy a second router on which to restore the backup configuration of the current one. I can't find the same router to buy. What advice can you offer?
Thanks.
Alexis
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5380
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
1. hmm 45454 is quite old build and lack of serious updates and security fixes..last build 50927
2. R6400 v1 or v2 --v1 has Broadcom dualcore CPU @800Mhz --- v2 has Broadcom dualcore CPU @1000Mhz
3. best and the most supported DDWRT router is R7800 Qualcom/Atheros with dualcore CPU @17000Mhz
4. you can safe your set up either copy/paste on txt file or export/print its pages to PDF (that's what i do)
5. do not attempt to restore save files form different builds or different routers...
6. if you update from 45454 reset after the update and manually reconfigure...
7. lots of changes since 45454 so, as we dont know your set up, you may need to change/tweak few bits, i guess..
8. my Router R7000 witch is similar to R6400v2 has no issues with the last build 50927 you can see
my signature to get picture what i use it for...
9. good luck

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 50500 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50963 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
aaloneft
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 17:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you v much for your reply. I don't have experience on this as I found the router setup by a person now gone. Apologies if I ask stupid questions.

The backup I have is from the Administration/Backup page which creates a bin file and I was actually hoping that I could find a router to buy and restore the bin file to it.

From your advice I gather this is not to be done. Your advice as I understand is to buy (for example) the Nighthawk® X4S Dual-Band WiFi Router (up to 2.53Gbps) with MU-MIMO (which seems to also be known as AC2600 WiFi Router (R7800)) and flash it and then do page-by-page "copy" of my current configuration. Am I correct? Is this the easiest way to setup a backup router so I can plug-and-play as a replacement of what I have?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5380
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes you CANNOT use the bin (save) file either on another device or on different firmware number
In general save files are made to be used firmware(build) to same firmware number only...in order if you reverse to previous build or did a settings and didnt like those and reset and reverted to your save..
Yes you can manually copy paste the settings to any other router...
If you want to stick to the less powerful routers than R7800, from the same SoC you have (Broadcom) try R7000 or look for R6400v2 and so on...second hand on ebay will do..lots of those around..
I suggested R7800 and R7000 as those are router i have experience with and i know of...
You never mentioned the use of your router nor your demands, so i suggested those Razz
Im order to be in touch with security updates i recommended to use the current last build 50927
Bear in mind your R6400 is a Broadcom based router..
Finally not bad to read and acquaint yourself with Forum Guidelines

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=332703

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 50500 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50963 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
howard@sci1.com
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2022
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2022 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
There seem to be several Netgear R6400 available on eBay (pretty cheaply too).

But if it were me, I would upgrade to a newer router and keep the existing R6400 as the backup. I am very happily using a Netgear R9000.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5380
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 8:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
howard@sci1.com wrote:
There seem to be several Netgear R6400 available on eBay (pretty cheaply too).

But if it were me, I would upgrade to a newer router and keep the existing R6400 as the backup. I am very happily using a Netgear R9000.


I will not advise you to get R9000 unless...
-you like to play a russian roulette with flashing it to DDWRT, or when you buy it second hand it may turn up its radios are already burned...
-it's been know as poor/bad heat sink design
-its price as a new is madness and doesn't approve its performance..although it is a powerful router indeed..
-its vlan segmentation could be a difficult to set up, as it has dual switch..x6 LAN ports

I do have one and im using only 2.4Ghz radio, but i also have an extra fan blowing the case to keep
temp down...

if you dont mind any of those R9000 could be found on ebay on a decent price too..

as you already have found R6400 make sure those are v2 Wink
R7000 is a touch better...not that expensive too

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 50500 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50841 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50963 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50927 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
howard@sci1.com
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2022
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 11:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:

I will not advise you to get R9000 unless...
-you like to play a russian roulette with flashing it to DDWRT...

, or when you buy it second hand it may turn up its radios are already burned...
-it's been know as poor/bad heat sink design
-its price as a new is madness and doesn't approve its performance..although it is a powerful router indeed..
-its vlan segmentation could be a difficult to set up, as it has dual switch..x6 LAN ports

I do have one and im using only 2.4Ghz radio, but i also have an extra fan blowing the case to keep
temp down...

if you dont mind any of those R9000 could be found on ebay on a decent price too..

as you already have found R6400 make sure those are v2 Wink
R7000 is a touch better...not that expensive too


I have been running the R9000 for months with no problems. Flashed DD-WRT with no issues.

Perhaps I am avoiding some problems you've seen as I have the WiFi radios disabled (I use a separate router as a wireless access point) and don't use VLAN.

I bought my R9000 very reasonably, slightly over $100.

I bought the R9000 for its fast processor. I run a VPN full time (WireGuard), and the R9000 performs admirably at providing fast throughput with the VPN enabled.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 11:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the speed you are getting with WireGuard?

This is the fastest router supported at this moment by DDWRT Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
howard@sci1.com
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2022
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 11:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a 500Mbps ISP connection through Comcast.

Speeds seem to vary pretty greatly throughout the day. I suspect Comcast weirdness.

On one computer, a Win11 laptop, I see VPN speeds of 300-400Mbps usually, but have seen speeds over 400Mbps.

On another computer, a Win10 desktop, I usually see 230Mbps.

If I turn the VPN off, both computers report the same speed (nearly the full rated speed of the Comcast link). It is a big mystery to me why turning on the VPN on the router impacts the speed of one computer much more than the other. I have tried every Win10 network tweak I can find without the slightest impact.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 12:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Might be MTU related, to be safe for the WireGuard MTU use 1420 or less.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
howard@sci1.com
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2022
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 12:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Might be MTU related, to be safe for the WireGuard MTU use 1420 or less.


Yes, MTU was one of the first tweaks I tried. Usually messing with MTU either had no impact or made things slower.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 13:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
The higher the MTU the better the throughput until it breaks Smile
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
howard@sci1.com
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2022
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2022 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
MTU is set the same on both the faster and slower computers, at 1500.
mwbuss8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Feb 2015
Posts: 743

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2022 3:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
As others suggested, the r7800 is a solid option (if you don't get one with bad blocks). The r7500v2 is a step down, but still a good choice. Avoid the v1. If opening the router for a serial connection doesn't scare you, myself and many others recommend the ea8500. mrjcd has a detailed guide for the initial flash. Both can be found regularly on ebay for ~$40 shipped.
_________________
Current devices:
XR500 - gateway
EA8500 - AP
EA8500 - AP
R7500v2 - AP
R7500v2 - AP
EA8500 - AP & OpenVPN client
OpenMediaVault box for SMB & Emby
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2022 7:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
howard@sci1.com wrote:
MTU is set the same on both the faster and slower computers, at 1500.


To be clear I was talking about the MTU setting of WireGuard not the routers MTU.
WireGuard max MTU is 1440 (if only IPv4 is involved along the whole route) but safer is to use 1420 (subtract 8 if you are using PPPoE)

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum