Connecting Nighthawk Router to xfinitywifi hotspot

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10056
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I fired up one of the spare routers: Netgear R6400v2 w uploaded the latest BS build 40559 reset to defaults and followed the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode

Everything default (SFE off)

Set Client mode on 2,4 GHz with same name and mode as host.
Set wireless security same as host.

Looked at Status/Wireless page and saw after about 30 seconds the router connect and had internet access.

Although eth1 shows bridged, it is not, and althoug WAN is still showing to be set to vlan2, it is not, ifconfig shows that eth1 did get an IP address from the host.

Internet access via wired and 5 GHz

So far so good, really simple, just a few mouse clicks

But the proof in the pudding is of course the reboot

So I rebooted and ........
Boot loop Twisted Evil

Also tried with vlan2 unchecked on the Switch Config page but again bootloop after rebooting.

So there is something wrong, maybe this last build? But at the moment no time to look further into it

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Sponsor
silvertonesx24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2022 15:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it possible at all to get the 5ghz radio working in client mode? I am trying the same thing, but the xfinity signal in my area is exclusively 5ghz, so switching to 2.4ghz for client mode will not work.

Or I may just need a new router
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10056
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2022 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
What router, what build?

See the forum guidelines with helpful pointers about how to research your router, where and what firmware to download, where and how to post and many other helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
silvertonesx24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2022 15:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Netgear r6400v2, latest build r49626
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10056
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2022 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried following the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wlan_Repeater
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
silvertonesx24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2022 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am using the suggestions/guides here which seem to work for people on the 2.4ghz band, but it just doesn't work on the 5ghz band. Unfortunately the signal I want to repeat is 5ghz only. This is what OP seemed to also say, but it seemed like he had a 2.4ghz signal available, and I don't.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318250&sid=b4dd7a19f873f645e7451a6e2ab3b01c
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10056
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2022 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just checked had no problem using my NetGear R6400v1 as repeater with the 5 GHz as backhaul (but connected to an R7800) .
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum