WR-841ND two router WDS link keeps disconnecting

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
bryanh99
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2018
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
dale_gribble39 wrote:
The instability issues are a perception flaw.


I completely disagree with your comment (and it is quite dismissive).

I am running 2 R7800's in a WDS AP-> WDS Station and this problem exists for me as well. I have written a piece of software that pings the Station from the AP side of the network. In the last 60 minutes I have had two events of a down link. One was 36 seconds long and the other was 30 seconds long. With actual proof from software that monitors a network connection I would say that is not "perception" but actual facts.


dale_gribble39 wrote:
Expecting a stock 1971 Chevy Vega to compete with a stock 1970 Camaro Z28 and win at the drag strip is unrealistic.


No one on this thread is talking about throughput or speed so your analogy is non sequitur
Sponsor
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Then you should be able to figure out the problem in DD-WRT and submit a patch to fix it, programmer guy. Or at least share your configuration for review.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
bryanh99
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2018
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 0:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
dale_gribble39 wrote:
Then you should be able to figure out the problem in DD-WRT and submit a patch to fix it, programmer guy. Or at least share your configuration for review.



wow, you just really are an unpleasant person, aren't you.

I can write software all day, firmware is a different animal. I would never claim to write firmware.

If you have more than one person reporting the same problem than one should believe that it's actually a problem and not a perception. Not sure why you are so tied to believing that this problem does not exist. Perhaps you wrote the WDS code?
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I can't tell how your R7800s are configured for WDS from here; so your input isn't helping you or me resolve the "issue" nor is it helping anyone else. I recant on previous unpleasantness.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
bryanh99
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2018
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, just happened again. In the past 1 hour there was a 39 second event of no WDS connection between the routers.

Not sure what setting you want - but here are the wireless settings:

Wireless Mode WDS AP
Wireless Network Mode Mixed
Channel Width VHT80 (80 MHz)
Wireless Channel 153 - 5765 MHz
Extension Channel UL (+2)
Allow Channel Overlapping Disable
Wireless Network Name (SSID) XXXXX
Wireless SSID Broadcast Enable


Advanced Settings
Firmware Type DD-WRT
Regulatory Domain UNITED_STATES
TX Power 30
Antenna Gain 0 dBi
U-APSD (Automatic Power Save) Disable
Disassoc Low Ack Enable
Noise Immunity Disable
QCA Q-Boost / TDMA Disable
SIFS Trigger Time (ms) 0
Protection Mode None
RTS Threshold Disable
Airtime Policy Disabled
Short Preamble Disable
Short GIE Enable
Single User Beamforming Disable
Multi User Beamforming Disable
TX Antenna Chains 1+2+3+4
RX Antenna Chains 1+2+3+4
AP Isolation Disable
Beacon Interval 100
DTIM Interval 2
Airtime Fairness Enable
WMM Support Enable
Radar Detection Disable
ScanList default
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing) 500
Max Associated Clients 256

Minimum Signal for authenticate -128
Minimum Signal for connection -128
Poll Time for signal lookup 10
Amount of allowed low signals 3

Multicast To Unicast Disable
Network Configuration Bridged

Radio Scheduling Disable


From the Status->Wireless screen

wlan0.sta1 0:08:30 1300M 600M VHT80SGI -70 -105 35


Showing that the sta1 uptime is only 8 minutes and 30 seconds, when I have other clients on the system that have been up for 6 hours (the last time the AP was rebooted).

So even the status page is showing that the connected was lost and reconnected 8 minutes ago, otherwise it would also show the 6 hours of connection
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 16:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
bryanh99 wrote:
-snip-
Short Preamble Disable
-snip-
Airtime Fairness Enable
-snip-
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing) 500
-snip-

Enable Short Preamble, test. If you still run into a disconnection issue, disable Airtime fairness, test. From the main (Broadcom) current wifi wiki, Sensitivity Range can be as low as 90; previously the recommendation / default was 2000 (2250), for current QCA settings, that wiki recommends 900 or 1350. It also says that 0 (Auto ACK) is for ath9k; you can also test this setting on your R7800.

WDS Router Setup - DD-WRT Wiki
Basic Wireless Settings - DD-WRT Wiki
Advanced wireless settings - DD-WRT Wiki
QCA wireless settings - DD-WRT Wiki

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1767
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
The wiki is not up to date.

If you use the vanilla firmare the minimum ACK timing is 450
A value of 0 (Auto-ACK) only works with the DD-WRT firmware.

You can set a lot but you have to check under Status > WLAN which values the driver really takes.
bryanh99
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2018
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
dale_gribble39 wrote:

Enable Short Preamble, test. If you still run into a disconnection issue, disable Airtime fairness, test. From the main (Broadcom) current wifi wiki, Sensitivity Range can be as low as 90; previously the recommendation / default was 2000 (2250), for current QCA settings, that wiki recommends 900 or 1350. It also says that 0 (Auto ACK) is for ath9k; you can also test this setting on your R7800.


Did all these, one at a time, same result. The down time is also always about 30 seconds.

I have now tried switching to VHT160 so see if that helped. It made no difference.

I can confirm that the routers "know" that the connection was lost as the "uptime" for the AP->STA connection in the "Status->Wireless" starts over (right now my routers have been up for 6 hours, with several clients connected to the AP for the 6 hours, and the STA status has an uptime of 19 minutes on both routers.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 17:46    Post subject: Re: WR-841ND two router WDS link keeps disconnecting Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
running ht40 in 2.4 isnt a good idea. too many inteferences. this can be a cause for your issue. beside this i dont see any error in your config on first view
and dont touch the wds tab with the static macs at all. this is for a very different protocol. wds ap -> wds sta. thats all nothing else is required

Only thing I could say here regarding using the 5GHz for WDS is to try using 20MHz channel width to reduce interference.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
bryanh99
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2018
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 16:50    Post subject: Re: WR-841ND two router WDS link keeps disconnecting Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:

Only thing I could say here regarding using the 5GHz for WDS is to try using 20MHz channel width to reduce interference.


Well, when it IS working, I have a 99% Channel Quality on both sides and can move data at over 60MB/sec. It just seems to drop for ~30 seconds at least ever hour.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13112
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
The wiki doesn't say anything about changing the IP address of the WDS STA devices; these being "clients", I am curious as to whether or not there is some kind of connection there. Considering what BS said about the WDS MAC pages, the wiki probably needs some love (shocker!). What is your DHCP lease time on the LAN? What is your NTP renewal interval?
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6574
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
ScanList default


Can it be that it loosing connection while is scans for SSIDs?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2285
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 4:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
The wiki doesn't say anything about changing the IP address of the WDS STA devices; these being "clients", I am curious as to whether or not there is some kind of connection there. Considering what BS said about the WDS MAC pages, the wiki probably needs some love (shocker!). What is your DHCP lease time on the LAN? What is your NTP renewal interval?


Sorry to but in, but what is this about WDS MAC pages? I am currently experiencing some frequent disconnects between 2 devices, one WDS AP (VAP) on an Archer C7 v2 and WDS Station on a DIR-825 B1. Both are running 49326

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 11:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
From the previous page of this thread:
BrainSlayer wrote:
and dont touch the wds tab with the static macs at all. this is for a very different protocol. wds ap -> wds sta. thats all nothing else is required

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
hambert
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2022 13:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I´m reporting back after testing. Sorry for the delay, I´m currently far from home due to family health issues.

I switched all my routers to 20 Mhz. As BS said, interference seems to be a problem for HT40. Now I can get many hours of uptime of the WDS link.

The only thing is that I can´t get more than say 20 hours before it drops and reconnects. Anyway I guess that is to be expected, isn´t it?

I´m planning on running the cable sooner or later, because bandwidth has suffer (of course). It isn´t a problem for my mother and the business but I guess if I want stability and maximum performance from these POS routers I will have to do it.

Now there seems to be a PPPTP problem in the latest builds as I have to reset the router every two days for it to work, but that´s a topic for another ticket.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum