[SPLIT] TCP Congestion Control

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
thommy181
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 298
Location: Szczecin, Poland EU

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 12:04    Post subject: [SPLIT] TCP Congestion Control Reply with quote
I have the TP-Link WDR3600 v. 1.5. It stau on the newest build of DD-WRT. I'm explore configuration options, because I want to optimize my settings. I have options as on picture. Options: IP Filter Settings have maximum ports value. It's set for 4096, but default is: 32768. That's very big value. I can use this for this parameter. I'm never touch this options, but I think is some problem in GUI compose. That 32768 can be good and acceptable ?
Sponsor
neosimago
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I set mine to 16384 and usually don't use more than half 8k of that number with torrents.

thommy181 wrote:
I have the TP-Link WDR3600 v. 1.5. It stau on the newest build of DD-WRT. I'm explore configuration options, because I want to optimize my settings. I have options as on picture. Options: IP Filter Settings have maximum ports value. It's set for 4096, but default is: 32768. That's very big value. I can use this for this parameter. I'm never touch this options, but I think is some problem in GUI compose. That 32768 can be good and acceptable ?
thommy181
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 298
Location: Szczecin, Poland EU

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 21:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm dont touch this better. On my device was 4096 always. I'm never touch this settings. It's puzzling why that big value is there as default.
dplettner
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2016
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
thommy181 wrote:
I'm dont touch this better. On my device was 4096 always. I'm never touch this settings. It's puzzling why that big value is there as default.
I have never touched this either. On my Netgear R7800 it is set to 32768. Perhaps the firmware sets it based on the speed of the CPU?
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's a default setting; the webUI should also show the defaults on a per-device class basis. Only higher-end flagship devices have that "default" set.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
dplettner
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2016
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 2:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
dale_gribble39 wrote:
It's a default setting; the webUI should also show the defaults on a per-device class basis. Only higher-end flagship devices have that "default" set.
Interesting. My R7800 says that the default will be 4096 and the value is 32768, while the TP-Link WDR3600 v. 1.5 says that the default will be 32768 and the value is 4096.
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yep, whatever the underlying code is, it's backwards, apparently.
_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12967
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 12:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
thommy181 wrote:
I have the TP-Link WDR3600 v. 1.5. It stau on the newest build of DD-WRT. I'm explore configuration options, because I want to optimize my settings. I have options as on picture. Options: IP Filter Settings have maximum ports value. It's set for 4096, but default is: 32768. That's very big value. I can use this for this parameter. I'm never touch this options, but I think is some problem in GUI compose. That 32768 can be good and acceptable ?

Not on your router.
dplettner wrote:
thommy181 wrote:
I'm dont touch this better. On my device was 4096 always. I'm never touch this settings. It's puzzling why that big value is there as default.
I have never touched this either. On my Netgear R7800 it is set to 32768. Perhaps the firmware sets it based on the speed of the CPU?

It should be based on a platform config item.
dplettner wrote:
dale_gribble39 wrote:
It's a default setting; the webUI should also show the defaults on a per-device class basis. Only higher-end flagship devices have that "default" set.
Interesting. My R7800 says that the default will be 4096 and the value is 32768, while the TP-Link WDR3600 v. 1.5 says that the default will be 32768 and the value is 4096.

dale_gribble39 wrote:
Yep, whatever the underlying code is, it's backwards, apparently.

I emailed BrainSlayer about this, and the following commit was made:

https://github.com/mirror/dd-wrt/commit/e5e0e42654a6283aa1526554bcae8a8f2fae9aef

These are the only files that I could find so far that relate to this issue:

https://github.com/mirror/dd-wrt/tree/master/src/router/networksettings

But none of the known configs files point to any of this:

https://github.com/mirror/dd-wrt/tree/master/src/router/configs

I may not be chasing the right rabbit here, but if the issue persists in the next release, please report, thanks.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5895
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 13:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA8500


EA8500 after reset = 32768 ---> Default says 4096
...merely a cosmetic issue -- was correct a while back and is correct on many units.
The broadcomy E2500 default is 4096 and is so when reset --- as it should be for the lowerend pissy unit Twisted Evil
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12967
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Haven't done a hard reset on either of these to see if there would be a change, but I can always do a hard reset at some point today and re-configure from scratch, although I don't think it will make a difference:

TL-WA901NDv2:
https://ibb.co/Cv2W8wC


TL-WR1043NDv2:
https://ibb.co/VmT8tBp

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Since we're comparing... show me yours, I'll show ya mine... this is a fresh install and upgrade to each new release from r49268:

TL-WR1043ND v1.8:

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
dplettner
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2016
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Haven't done a hard reset on either of these to see if there would be a change, but I can always do a hard reset at some point today and re-configure from scratch, although I don't think it will make a difference:

TL-WA901NDv2:
https://ibb.co/Cv2W8wC


TL-WR1043NDv2:
https://ibb.co/VmT8tBp


I see that you have TCP Congestion Control set to hybla. That is another setting I have never touched and I have only noticed it set to westwood. Why do you prefer hybla? A quick Google search finds a poll about this setting from a couple years ago:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=323665&postdays=0&postorder=asc&vote=viewresult
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1579
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 16:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1255988#1255988

The setting is irrelevant for regular Internet traffic and LAN traffic.

It only matters if you run a TCP application on the router itself, e.g. the iperf3 server.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1579
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
ho1Aetoo wrote:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1255988#1255988

The setting is irrelevant for regular Internet traffic and LAN traffic.

It only matters if you run a TCP application on the router itself, e.g. the iperf3 server.


i used to be on Vegas for years...as those ware showing best result, especially for torrents...and DL..
now moved to cubic as native linux setting or BBR if its router supported..

https://www.speedguide.net/articles/tcp-congestion-control-algorithms-comparison-7423



but then you have to mention that your torrent client runs directly on the router otherwise the statement makes little sense

Wink
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5257
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep i do have, but in both cases torrents with appropriate settings open a hole in the NAT via specific ports...so connection is direct...
you can test TCP congestion control with utorrent/qbitorrent/transmission as i did.. Wink

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 49934 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum