New Build - 06/23/2022 - r49326

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
DWCruiser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 94
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you BS & Team.

Netgear R9000
DD-WRT v3.0-r49326 std (06/23/22)
Linux 4.9.319 #635 SMP Fri Jun 17 15:05:12 +07 2022 armv7l
Reset: No
Mode & Uptime: Gateway running over 24hrs
Features:
- Gateway & DNSMasq
- Ethernet, WiFi (Vanilla)
- 5GHz (AC/N-Mixed)
- 2.4GHz (NG-Mixed)
- Static, MAC-tied & DHCP allocated IPs
- CloudFare & ignore WAN DNS option
- OpenVPN Client + built-in Killswitch
- VLANS (4 separate VLANS - individually bridged)
- WLAN0.1 & 1.1 also bridged (to co-exist with VLANS - a workaround)
- QoS (HFSC/SFC on MAC, netmask & i/faces priority)
- Port Forwarding to 2nd router

(Disabled/Not used)
- wlan2 - 60Ghz
- 10G LAN SFP+
- OpenVPN Server (but set up on 2nd router)
- SFP+ port

Issues/Errors: Not aware of.

_________________
Life is a journey, travel alone makes it less enjoyable and lonely.
Sponsor
LizardWizard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2020
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 6:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
dplettner wrote:
For someone that stays pretty current and often flashes the latest build without performing a "nvram erase && reboot" and configuration, how often is a erase and configuration recommended? Does DD-WRT generally transition a configuration gracefully when flashing over a recent version, or should a user erase and reconfigure after a certain period of time or a certain number of flashes? Generally, I won't erase and configure unless I have waited a long time between flashes, I am having a problem, or I plan to post about a problem and am asking for help.


I'd love to know the answer to this question as this is exactly what I do as well, try to stay up-to-date as possible and rarely erase.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10096
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 7:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is no definitive answer Sad

I do it about once a year as a kind of spring cleaning also reviewing my settings again.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10096
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 7:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R7800

Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r49326 std (06/23/22)

Upgraded from: DD-WRT v3.0-r49289 std (06/22/22)

Reset: No, not this time

Status: Up and running for 3 days, basic setup as Gateway, static leases, port forwarding, DDNS, WOL 2,4GHz, VAP for IoT, 5Ghz (Vanilla Firmware, Disabled Airtime fairness),

Errors: Nothing encountered yet

Thanks BS!

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
thommy181
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 288
Location: Szczecin, Poland EU

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 10:40    Post subject: New Build - 06/23/2022 - r49326 Reply with quote
Router/Version: TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1.5
File/Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d11 #111088 Thu Jun 23 05:14:47 +07 2022 mips
Reset: No, only auto reboot after GUI flash and full reboot by button on case and replug power supply
Mode: Internet gateway, WIFI 5GHz AP, dnsmasq server, iptables firewall
Issues: rather weak WAN performance, currently ~300 mbit/s, sometimes download speed value is better
Status: Working
Uptime: -> 64h

Download speed is currently ~300 mbit/s, sometimes speed is higher. I'm attach syslog.
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 1635
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 11:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
LizardWizard wrote:
dplettner wrote:
For someone that stays pretty current and often flashes the latest build without performing a "nvram erase && reboot" and configuration, how often is a erase and configuration recommended? Does DD-WRT generally transition a configuration gracefully when flashing over a recent version, or should a user erase and reconfigure after a certain period of time or a certain number of flashes? Generally, I won't erase and configure unless I have waited a long time between flashes, I am having a problem, or I plan to post about a problem and am asking for help.


I'd love to know the answer to this question as this is exactly what I do as well, try to stay up-to-date as possible and rarely erase.

+ 1 for egc's reply of once yearly, rule of thumb.

Personally, like built in help pages say and I pretty much follow that;
- if changing a bunch of settings causes weirdness and cant pin it down to a specific setting.
- If suddenly after an upgrade there is some observed gremlin behavior.
- Once a year, if neither reset as above was done previously within that time period.

However having said that this year already reset 4 times, I do flash test builds anywhere from 2 to 4 times or more a day, depending on level of development.

I do test things thoroughly beyond my use case and while most people dont report weirdness's and notice quite a few issues some critical. there is no need to always report those on build threads, unless corroboration is needed.

Sometimes electrons decide that they want to go next door for a visit or charge is attenuated for some reason, cant measure it always, but it explains the odd gremlins,
I've noticed and seen happen SEU events twice here at my current geographical coordinates, never before see it happen (settings deciding to enable or disable themselves on unrelated pages I dont usually need), perhaps because my current address is not far from a military air base, who knows what else is stored around here underground, no Geiger counter to confirm, but specific radiation does affect these consumer electronics which aren't adequately shielded for such or for cosmic rays, it happens.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)


Last edited by the-joker on Sun Jun 26, 2022 11:58; edited 2 times in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12866
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 11:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
There are specific cases where you have to do a hard reset or reset to defaults; otherwise, you just have backwards compatibility to older builds with older var names and such. For example, if the variable value is already set and not correct on boot, it will cause issues and the only way to fix that is to reset. Case(s) in point: When swconfig was added to Broadcom builds as well as the whole fun of fixing ethernet port orders in the webUI and when wifi webUI access setting was not only fixed in Broadcom, but added across the board.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
neosimago
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 19:47    Post subject: Build eval MAC Address Clone no set Reply with quote
Linksys EA8500 ...main gateway
DD-WRT v3.0-r49326 std (06/23/22)
Linux 4.9.319 #1038 SMP Wed Jun 22 02:36:21 +07 2022 armv7l
GUI install over r49289
uptime 20:03


Tried to clone the WAN MAC but it won't set.
Rolling Eyes
Cosmetic issue on Status =>LAN page:
Occurs on brave, chrome, browsers, but not on Android browsers.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5848
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 20:08    Post subject: Re: Build eval MAC Address Clone no set Reply with quote
neosimago wrote:
Linksys EA8500 ...main gateway

Tried to clone the WAN MAC but it won't set.
Rolling Eyes
Cosmetic issue on Status...

Never had a bit of problem with Clone WAN MAC on the EA8500.
been doing it for many years ever since I pulled oldass WRT54GSv2 from my main.
My ISP holds static DHCP IP for me... that's why I use Clone WAN MAC.
Also works fine on the WNDR3700v4 or E2500 whatever I might throw in as main
AND NO, ain't never seen such cosmetic nonsense Twisted Evil

---
EDIT--NOTE:
iffin you ever use a nvrambackup you will ALWAYS have to THEN set any 'Clone WAN MAC'
That kinda stuff don't carry over ...and for good reason Laughing
dplettner
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2016
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for all the great answers to my question about how often to restore defaults and reenter a configuration. In hindsight, I wish I had started a new thread rather than asking in a build thread.
BubbaMoe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2016
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2022 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Archer C7 V2.

Upgraded from an ancient 30082 to 49326 with a full reset.

Only issue I faced was a lot of messages of "ath10k_pci 0000:08:00.0: consec fail!!" in the kernel log which went away when I switched the 5ghz firmware to "vanilla" from the default "dd-wrt"

I have spotted "DDR Activity - HIGH" once or twice in the log but doesn't seem to affect operation.
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum