Connectivity issue and missing wireless page

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 2143
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is like I said a weird issue.

Just on the latest report thread we have someone with the r9000 without these issues and then one with these issues.

matjazk as already posted has the issues and tried reset couldn't fix it and johnnyNobody999 with same router has none of these issues.
Mlandi had these issues and fixed it... other users also dont have this issue like johnnyNobody999, so tbh you cant all be right/wrong its the same router, the only variables are user specific OS version/Browser combos maybe something else in addition.

Yet still no one coming forward with the information requested earlier in this thread. Trying to find common denominators between the different users with the router, in order to see if this is somehow related to specific external causes, seems to be unwanted by anyone with the issues.

This is my last try, after that I will officially turn away and whistle and do a jig into the sunset.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
Sponsor
nyddwrtuser330
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
posted in build thread,

DO you guys have the 60GHz radio enabled that are having issues.


In my r9k thats the item that determines broken or not. If its disabled (like most) no problems - if you start poking around in it BAM
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1770
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
@nyddwrtuser330

and the crash can be bypassed if you disable the 60Ghz radio?

Code:
nvram set wlan2_net_mode=disabled
nvram commit
reboot



??
nyddwrtuser330
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 17:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
honestly dont know, i disabled it prior to the issues reported, only know that it does it cause i accidently went to configure the wrong radio a couple of times.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1770
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 17:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
well someone with the problem can try this out, would at least support my theory

Smile
dale_gribble39
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2022
Posts: 753

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
A quick search for clues. The AD 60GHz radio doesn't seem to have ever been given functional support as best I can surmise. It also is apparent that the design vs. how the device is put together is problematic. As a result, "hardware failure" can result in the wireless tab going missing.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=305025
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=328025
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327634
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324870
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320041

_________________
"The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep." - Robert Frost

"I am one of the noticeable ones - notice me" - Dale Frances McKenzie Bozzio

<fact>code knows no gender</fact>

This is me, knowing I've ruffled your feathers, and not giving a ****
Some people are still hard-headed.

--------------------------------------
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5645 processors 64GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM OpenSUSE Leap 15.4
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1779
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 21:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a possible hunch, Are you using Vanilla wifi firmware? If you are, see if you have airtime fairness enabled. If you do, try turning it off.

Then see what happens....

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]50853 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
matjazk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, thank you all for useful hints.
I went back to r44810, configured my usual staff, and, as per hints, disabled wlan2 and airtime fairness. Upgraded to r49197 and voila, wireless basic settings loaded in full.

Then I enabled wlan2 [60GHz 802.11ad] and the wireless tab crashed immediately. The situation was quickly remedied by

Code:
nvram set wlan2_net_mode=disabled
nvram commit
reboot


So it seems that enabling the 60 GHz radio is indeed the culprit.
DWCruiser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 156
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 23:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
That was also what i found earlier while setting up VLANs on R9000. So i disabed wlan2 (60GHz).

Here are a few more observations/tips:

For a start, Netgear R9000 is an unusual wireless router with two internal switches, requiring an unusual approach to tackle it.

- R9000 takes longer to boot up.
- Keep your eyes on the four indicator lights (starting from Power) between changes, especially when R9000 defaults back to 192.168.1.1 and needed to be restored to a previous cfg backup. I had to wait patiently for another good 10-15 seconds after the normal lights are back, before wired connection can be established. The wait may not be that long in your case since I have VLANs via bridges and OpenVPN Client running on mine.
- Don't use power off/on button of R9000 for reboot. It does not always restore it to a full-operating mode. Instead, reboot via software:
*** Administration/Management/Reboot Router tabs.

(If unable to access its web GUI from wire after reboot, use wireless. It should connect you to its web GUI. Sometimes you must try connecting it TWICE, in succession, for the wireless connection to stay on).

Its pages should be back to normal. This has always been the case with my R9000.

P.S. My R9000 has been working fine since i allow for its peculiarities, when necessary.

Good luck.

_________________
Life is a journey; travel alone makes it less enjoyable and lonely.

-For setting up VLANS on Netgear R9000, see (at bottom of page): https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=322349&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=60
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1770
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/49203

BS says the commit should fix the problem.
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 2143
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 9:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Question is will that also take care of missing UI elements, I guess we will soon find out.

If it doesn't then my theory has to be proven/disproved. Something on the back of my brain screams Windows 11, yep, Im traumatized by MS and this latest flop.

Personally I think Windows 11 is abuse with malicious intent that any hardware or VM software for that matter should never be subjected to on purpose. /me waves fist.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)


Last edited by the-joker on Wed Jun 15, 2022 12:37; edited 1 time in total
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7349
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
matjazk wrote:
Well, thank you all for useful hints.
I went back to r44810, configured my usual staff, and, as per hints, disabled wlan2 and airtime fairness. Upgraded to r49197 and voila, wireless basic settings loaded in full.

Then I enabled wlan2 [60GHz 802.11ad] and the wireless tab crashed immediately. The situation was quickly remedied by

Code:
nvram set wlan2_net_mode=disabled
nvram commit
reboot


So it seems that enabling the 60 GHz radio is indeed the culprit.


fixed

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum