[SOLVED] TX Power?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 10:50    Post subject: [SOLVED] TX Power? Reply with quote
Greetings once again,

Running an Archer C7 v5, r48567.

I've got the 5GHz band set to transmit at channel 100+106 (VHT80) and set the TX Power to 30 dBm. However it is not going past 24 dBm. Regulatory domain is Canada. Why is that?

(I found some ETSI standards but from 2015, at least according to that one, TX Power should be allowed up to 30 dBm for channels 100 to 140.)


Last edited by GamerHD on Sun Apr 10, 2022 12:54; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10788
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 10:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Some routers are hard coded.

But you can try domain PANAMA

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 11:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Some routers are hard coded.

But you can try domain PANAMA


Panama solved it. Would you happen to have an updated list of regulations?
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1771
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 11:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# iw reg set CA
root@DD-WRT:~# iw reg get
global
country CA: DFS-UNSET
   (2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 30), (N/A)
   (5150 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 23), (N/A), NO-OUTDOOR
   (5250 - 5350 @ 80), (N/A, 24), (N/A)
   (5470 - 5600 @ 80), (N/A, 24), (N/A)
   (5650 - 5730 @ 80), (N/A, 24), (N/A)
   (5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 30), (N/A)


Canada has allowed a maximum of 24dB on all DFS frequencies.
So this is not a mistake or anything else but completely correct.

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/sforshee/wireless-regdb.git/tree/db.txt
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 11:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/sforshee/wireless-regdb.git/tree/db.txt


Exactly what I was looking for, thank you.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1771
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
One more small note: increasing the transmission power unilaterally does not help at all.
For a high throughput and a stable connection, both sides (router and client) must understand each other well.

And just because you increase the transmission power on the router side, the transmission power on the client side does not automatically increase.
Most clients lack the appropriate hardware (powerful amplifiers) to achieve more than 20dB.

This creates at most more interference but not a higher range and also not a higher throughput.

It is therefore completely pointless unless you operate a router / router bridge.
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 11:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
One more small note: increasing the transmission power unilaterally does not help at all.
For a high throughput and a stable connection, both sides (router and client) must understand each other well.

And just because you increase the transmission power on the router side, the transmission power on the client side does not automatically increase.
Most clients lack the appropriate hardware (powerful amplifiers) to achieve more than 20dB.

This creates at most more interference but not a higher range and also not a higher throughput.

It is therefore completely pointless unless you operate a router / router bridge.


I understand. I was setting up a WDS connection between two Archers. The TV seems to achieve slightly higher speeds from what I noticed (5% higher on average, could be seen as margin of error). Unfortunately WDS seems broken the last year or two with dd-wrt so there is that - Back to cable.
Mr R Design
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Nov 2020
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think 100 is a DFS channel.

Try Panama and 149 plus upper upper and see if things are different.
GamerHD
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 12:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mr R Design wrote:
I think 100 is a DFS channel.

Try Panama and 149 plus upper upper and see if things are different.


100 + UU on Panama gave me 30 dBm. Solved.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum