Define interface roles from console

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
jamous
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 19:41    Post subject: Define interface roles from console Reply with quote
Hi all, I am trying to use dd-wrt inside of GNS3 to simulate a robust SOHO router. I started using dd-wrt flashed devices back in 2007 and have always enjoyed the software and figured it would make a grate platform.

I have created a QEMU VM to run dd-wrt using build r48141 and image dd-wrt_x64_public_vga.image. 1 vcpu, 128 mb ram and assigned 4 network interfaces. 'ip a' and 'ifconfig' show all 4 interfaces (eth 0 - eth 3) and br0. You can see this in the attached image.

Is there a command or config to assign a specific interface as the lan interface and the wan interface? Right now I can see my interfaces, but am not sure of the next step (I saw some documentation about setting up the DHCP server via CLI, I couldn’t get that to work. I also tried assigning static IP addresses via ifconfig and connect directly but could not reach the management interface.)

Also, is there an easy way to see members of the bridge 0 interface?

Thanks!
Jamous
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8997

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
This post more properly belongs in the x86 forum.

You can dump the bridges w/ the following command.

Code:
brctl show


In my experience (w/ real hardware), the firmware always defaults its choices among the network interfaces. And it always disables the network interface assigned to the WAN. And so the only IP assigned by default is the one you see specified (82.96.119.119) for the private network (br0), which should be the means to access the GUI. But normally I have that bridged to my *private* network (192.168.1.0/24) for configuration purposes. I don't know the first thing about GNS3 and why it has a public IP.

IOW, once you step into the world of a VM, that VM is going to influence how you gain access to the virtual router.

_________________
ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-kill-switch.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-watchdog.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh * ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh * ddwrt-blacklist-domains.sh * ddwrt-wol-port-forward.sh * ddwrt-dns-monitor.sh (NEW!)
jamous
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
edibgrad,

Thanks for your insight! That was exactly what I needed. I was able to join the eth0 interface to the bridge group and change the group IP address and then ping it from a host on the lan! At that point the web configuration was not loading, I found the httpd service had crashed but I was able to get it running with some help from the thread linked below. Im not sure about the public either, the VM was not connected to anything, but that’s probably just one of those things.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=328867

In case this link becomes bad in the future, ill quote the solution below.

Cold-Lemonade wrote:

...
I ssh'ed into my router. I then went to the /usr/bin directory and issued the following command to stop httpd.

Code:
service httpd stop


This command returned the following message: "httpd : daemon successfully stopped"

I then issued the command suggested by @Wildlion:

Code:
httpd -n -S - p 80 -m 443


This command returned the following messages: "httpd : httpd server started at port 80" and "httpd : httpd SSL server started at port 443"
...


I don’t think I have permission to move this thread, if a moderator wants could we move it to the x86 forum, per recommendation?
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7303
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 11:39    Post subject: Re: Define interface roles from console Reply with quote
jamous wrote:
Hi all, I am trying to use dd-wrt inside of GNS3 to simulate a robust SOHO router. I started using dd-wrt flashed devices back in 2007 and have always enjoyed the software and figured it would make a grate platform.

I have created a QEMU VM to run dd-wrt using build r48141 and image dd-wrt_x64_public_vga.image. 1 vcpu, 128 mb ram and assigned 4 network interfaces. 'ip a' and 'ifconfig' show all 4 interfaces (eth 0 - eth 3) and br0. You can see this in the attached image.

Is there a command or config to assign a specific interface as the lan interface and the wan interface? Right now I can see my interfaces, but am not sure of the next step (I saw some documentation about setting up the DHCP server via CLI, I couldn’t get that to work. I also tried assigning static IP addresses via ifconfig and connect directly but could not reach the management interface.)

Also, is there an easy way to see members of the bridge 0 interface?

Thanks!
Jamous


you can do all this from the setup->networking tab

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum