New Build - 12/09/2021 - r47822

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12424
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2021 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Rickers wrote:
Do 'Factory Defaults' in the UI (what I did) and 'nvram erase' in ssh do the same thing?

blkt wrote:
Last I checked, if I was searching correct area, WebUI performs nvram clear, then restores dd-wrt defaults.

So not same but understandable since some devices should not do nvram erase. Marvell WRT series is fine.

The 'nvram erase && reboot' essentially does the same thing as all nvram variables not present are written on (re)boot.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Sponsor
rbronco21
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 1:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
rbronco21 wrote:
Router/Version: WRT1900ACS V2
File/Kernel: ddwrt-linksys-wrt1900acsv2-webflash-r47822.bin
Previous/Reset: r44048, garbage with 44048 settings, reset fixed it
Mode/Status: AP, most settings default
5GHz-AC/N-Mixed,VHT80,36,UU (+6)
2.4GHz-NG-Mixed,Full,11
Works with iPhones, an iPad mini, laptops, a million smart plugs, nests, streaming devices...
Issues/Errors: Status->LAN->Active Clients table rows are uneven and don't line up very well - I can deal with wifi drops, but this makes it totally unusable!

No working issues, but I restored from a backup after making a mess of the VPN settings and it didn't go as planned. I ended up getting a Restore Factory Defaults and had to start over. I've been saving copies of nvram show to track changes and to set some of the settings back using ssh. By comparing a recent nvram show and to the new empty one, I was able to get it set up relatively quickly. Is there a problem with the firmware or could the backup be the issue? Is there any way to know without running a bunch of restores and manual/nvram rebuilds? Should a restored backup work, or is it a known issue?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12424
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 4:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
It depends on what build your backup is from; some nvram variables have changed over time.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
rbronco21
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 6:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
It depends on what build your backup is from; some nvram variables have changed over time.

I did a clean install with 47822 a month ago and didn't use anything from an older build. In fact, this was the first build I have tried since 44048, so I didn't even try to use an old backup. The one I used was only a couple of days old and I made it just before I started experimenting with WireGuard. If this isn't the right place for this, let me know and I'll break it out to its own topic.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3880

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 6:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Always best to manually rebuild from scratch after factory default, hard reset 10 sec or nvram erase && reboot.

Save backups if you want, but only restore from same build number. WireGuard changes often, so flash current.

New Build - 01/30/2022 - r48240, WireGuard guides and documentation, final update check Marvell new builds.


Last edited by blkt on Sun Jan 30, 2022 10:05; edited 3 times in total
rbronco21
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 9:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does adding settings back using nvram set count as manual? Here's what I have so far. I'll be doing WireGuard again at some point.

#!/bin/sh
nvram set block_wan=0
nvram set dhcp_domain=lan
nvram set dhcp_lease=30
nvram set dhcp_num=5
nvram set dhcp_start=x.x.x.x
nvram set https_enable=1 # Web Access - Protocol
nvram set ignore_wan_dns=1
nvram set ipv6_enable=0
nvram set lan_domain=xxx
nvram set lan_ipaddr=x.x.x.x
nvram set limit_ftp=1
nvram set limit_pptp=1
nvram set limit_ssh=1
nvram set limit_telnet=1
nvram set log_enable=0
nvram set radvd_enable=0
nvram set remote_mgt_https=1
nvram set router_name=xxx
nvram set router_style_dark=1
nvram set router_style=orange
nvram set sfe=0
nvram set shownf=0
nvram set stylus=material_darker
nvram set telnetd_enable=0
nvram set time_zone=US/Pacific
nvram set wan_dns=1.1.1.1 1.0.0.1 # only sets first entry?
nvram set wlan0_akm=psk2
nvram set wlan0_ccmp=1
nvram set wlan0_channel=5180
nvram set wlan0_maclist=xx:xx:xx yy:yy:yy # only sets first entry?
nvram set wlan0_macmode=deny
nvram set wlan0_macmode1=other
nvram set wlan0_net_mode=acn-mixed
nvram set wlan0_psk2=1
nvram set wlan0_security_mode=wpa
nvram set wlan0_ssid=xxx
nvram set wlan0_wpa_psk=xxx
nvram set wlan1_akm=psk2
nvram set wlan1_channel=2462
nvram set wlan1_ccmp=1
nvram set wlan1_maclist=xx:xx:xx yy:yy:yy # only sets first entry?
nvram set wlan1_macmode=deny
nvram set wlan1_macmode1=other
nvram set wlan1_net_mode=ng-only
nvram set wlan1_psk2=1
nvram set wlan1_security_mode=wpa
nvram set wlan1_ssid=xxx
nvram set wlan1_wpa_psk=xxx
nvram commit

Can you tell me how to set wan_dns and wlan0_maclist with more than one value?
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3880

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2022 10:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
No of course it does not count. Rolling Eyes These posts and types of questions really do not belong in build threads at all.

After manually reconfiguring a current build then extract and examine nvram values, but it is all a waste of time.

If you want to use for educational or hobby purposes have at it, otherwise stop the gymnastics and use WebGUI.
ColossalFossil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2021
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2022 22:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: WRT1900AC v1
File/Kernel: factory-to-ddwrt.bin
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r47822 std (12/09/21)
Previous/Reset: factory
Mode/Status: Router/AP, Gateway, OpenVPN client
Issues/Errors: Working well, still learning

This is my first time using DD-WRT. I still have a factory partition. I initially set up DD-WRT without VPN, then setup the OpenVPN client.

Wired and wireless connectivity has been stable on all of my devices
- Apple (iphones/macbook)
- Sony and Vizio televisions
- Assorted Win10/11 laptops and desktops (Acer, Dell, generic)
- 2.4GHz and 5GHz (2 SSIDs for each)
- No vpn, and global vpn with killswitch both work

Throughput is significantly reduced (50%) with the VPN, which may be expected (I have no basis for comparison).

I am learning more about PBR and DNS routing from these forums to support selective VPN usage with matching DNS routing.
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum