New Build - 01/11/2022 - r48081

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Jovan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2018
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2022 22:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
mcchary wrote:

channel: 13 + 14 (2472 MHz HT40).


Hm, is channel 13+14 a valid setting? I can set my TL-WR841ND v11 to do that but all my devices connect at maximum 150 M instead of 300 M, so I set it to 13+9. I remember a time when if you selected channel 13 the only option for extension channel was "lower", but for a while now I see "upper" is available too, not sure is Ok but my devices seem not to like it.
Sponsor
Dodge DeBoulet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2022 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: NetGear R9000
Kernel: 4.9.296 #606 SMP Fri Jan 7 02:15:56 +07 2022 armv7l DD-WRT
Previous: r47715
Reset: No
Mode: Gateway Router/AP
Status: Up/Working
Issues/Errors: None

Finally worked up the courage to upgrade to from r47715, prodded along by some odd 2.4GHz issues. So far all seems to be operating normally.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2285
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:08    Post subject: Wrong extension channel listing Reply with quote
Jovan wrote:
mcchary wrote:

channel: 13 + 14 (2472 MHz HT40).


Hm, is channel 13+14 a valid setting? I can set my TL-WR841ND v11 to do that but all my devices connect at maximum 150 M instead of 300 M, so I set it to 13+9. I remember a time when if you selected channel 13 the only option for extension channel was "lower", but for a while now I see "upper" is available too, not sure is Ok but my devices seem not to like it.


This is a known problem for a while now. It has been pointed out before. tatsuya46 even made a ticket for it somewhere on the SVN timeline.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1767
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
No this is not a valid 40Mhz configuration.
The channels 10/11/12/13 can never be +Upper.

1. select channel
2. select extension channel
3. apply

Just select and save a channel and do not change the extension channel afterwards.
Dodge DeBoulet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 3:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there any reason that disabling SFE with r48081 would prevent connections to the 5GHz radio on an R9000? I was still able to connect to the 2.4GHz radio. Re-enabling SFE allowed me to connect to 5GHz again.

I'll test again to see if it's repeatable, but it's my main house router and I'll need to do it when it's least disruptive.

Also, FYI: I made no changes to the configuration after the upgrade from r47715, which means I'm using DD-WRT firmware instead of Vanilla. Other than the above issue the only other oddity I noticed was one of my Tuya smartplugs periodically cycling (and reestablishing) its connection. Not something I'd probably notice except for the fact that it's got a fairly bright LED that strobes during the connection phase, and it was happening in my bedroom while I was trying to get to sleep. I resolved the issue (getting some sleep) by unplugging it.
µP
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2021
Posts: 9
Location: at/fin

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 12:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: TP-Link Archer-C7 v2
File/Kernel: DD-WRT v3.0-r48081 std (01/11/22)
Previous/Reset: r47853, No
Mode/Status: AP
Issues/Errors: None so far

I think I had it already on an older version at 'Status->Wireless' starting a Channel survey with the 2,4GHz - it shows the channels up to 26 Cool
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1767
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the Super Channel feature

https://sites.fastspring.com/ddwrt/product/ddkk
mcchary
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 16:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jovan wrote:
mcchary wrote:

channel: 13 + 14 (2472 MHz HT40).


Hm, is channel 13+14 a valid setting? I can set my TL-WR841ND v11 to do that but all my devices connect at maximum 150 M instead of 300 M, so I set it to 13+9. I remember a time when if you selected channel 13 the only option for extension channel was "lower", but for a while now I see "upper" is available too, not sure is Ok but my devices seem not to like it.


Hello, I have always configured my 841n router so that every time I set channel 13 and activate the channel Width at 40Mhz, I can automatically use the full 300 Mbit/s.




edit: uploading images for example
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1779
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Look at this picture and you'll see that upper cannot be a "proper" choice when using channels 12, 13, and 14.

My best guess is that you are not hitting save at each step and so the choices are showing wrong. This is a function of how the code/driver selection is written and can't be changed. If you hit save at each selection, the upper choice should be eliminated and only show lower as shown a few posts above.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]50853 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)


Last edited by msoengineer on Sat Jan 15, 2022 17:21; edited 1 time in total
Dodge DeBoulet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dodge DeBoulet wrote:
Is there any reason that disabling SFE with r48081 would prevent connections to the 5GHz radio on an R9000? I was still able to connect to the 2.4GHz radio. Re-enabling SFE allowed me to connect to 5GHz again.

I'll test again to see if it's repeatable, but it's my main house router and I'll need to do it when it's least disruptive.

Also, FYI: I made no changes to the configuration after the upgrade from r47715, which means I'm using DD-WRT firmware instead of Vanilla. Other than the above issue the only other oddity I noticed was one of my Tuya smartplugs periodically cycling (and reestablishing) its connection. Not something I'd probably notice except for the fact that it's got a fairly bright LED that strobes during the connection phase, and it was happening in my bedroom while I was trying to get to sleep. I resolved the issue (getting some sleep) by unplugging it.


I plugged the smart plug back in this morning and did not see a reoccurrence of its periodic cycling. I did, however, have an issue with Windows desktop using a USB wi-fi adapter (Linksys, don't know the model) being unable to connect to 2.4GHz. I switched that radio to Vanilla firmware and it was able to connect again.
mcchary
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
Look at this picture and you'll see that upper cannot be a "proper" choice when using channels 12, 13, and 14.



I understand it seems that it generates some kind of conflict with the frequencies, I just changed to channel 11 and put upper. now i get 11+15 do you think its ok?

msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1779
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dodge DeBoulet wrote:
I switched that radio to Vanilla firmware and it was able to connect again.


Vanilla drivers should be used in nearly all cases unless you have a specific reason to use the special features dd-wrt drivers "open" up to users. The dd-wrt drivers seem to break clients often; especially the low end wifi silicon used in IoT devices.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]50853 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1779
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
mcchary wrote:
now i get 11+15 do you think its ok?




Clearly someone is too lazy to read...see my wifi wiki link in my signature....

(Hint) is channel 15 allowed in non "Superchannel" form under legal standards?


_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]50853 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1767
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 19:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:

My best guess is that you are not hitting save at each step and so the choices are showing wrong. This is a function of how the code/driver selection is written and can't be changed. If you hit save at each selection, the upper choice should be eliminated and only show lower as shown a few posts above.


You can see in my video how it works properly.
So far I have no proof that the shown does not work.

You do not have to press "save" at every step
ArjenR49
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 531
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 21:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
mcchary wrote:
msoengineer wrote:
Look at this picture and you'll see that upper cannot be a "proper" choice when using channels 12, 13, and 14.



I understand it seems that it generates some kind of conflict with the frequencies, I just changed to channel 11 and put upper. now i get 11+15 do you think its ok?


'Channel 15' would be out of band and therefore illegal, but I don't expect the hardware to actually transmit on the undefined channel represented by '15'.

It is likely the dd-wrt GUI just fails to prevent this illegal combination to be shown (in your particular case).
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum