[PATCHED] QAM256 missing for 2.4ghz on R9000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 812
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello.

can anyone confirm that turbocam is visible again in UI with 853 build?

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1253474#1253474

OK Im on broadcom but it supports it, always has the asus rt-ac68u.

The nvram values always been set to 1 untouched in ages.

I cant see zip.

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3901

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Build r47853 is out, EA8500 TurboQAM (QAM256) support is visible (and disabled).
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7518
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
still there on qca9984 on x86-64, it never disappeared for me
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r48971 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48971 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r48971 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Loaded 47853, finally showed up on the nightly server for R9000....

Cleared browser cache, loaded wifi page, qam was on, turned it off, cleared the cache again, refreshed the page, off status and still showing the line.

So it seems to have resolved itself on the R9000. I'll keep an eye on it.

@Joker, what else have you found missing across windows?
Are they back after 47849 builds?

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
the-joker
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 31 Jul 2021
Posts: 812
Location: All over YOUR webs

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I found missing ram overclocking values (underclocking values for me) in general there are no ram speed values anywhere anymore since I last reset.

I cant see any such turboQam anything anymore, again since last reset.

Possible fix https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/47859 ?

But yes this is broadcom side, I still need to test my ruffallo wzr-hr-g300nh atheros old stuff.

Kinda makes me wonder what sour cabbage juice BS is drinking.

Take care.

_________________
Saving your retinas from the burn!🔥
DD-WRT Inspired themes for routers
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the phpBB Forum
DD-WRT Inspired themes for the SVN Trac & FTP site
Join in for a chat @ #style_it_themes_public:matrix.org or #style_it_themes:discord

DD-WRT UI Themes Bug Reporting and Discussion thread

Router: ANus RT-AC68U E1 (recognized as C1)
sumbuddie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2021 1:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Was wondering if TurboQAM (QAM256) support even worked as I've posted previously about experiencing 2.4GHz clients failing to connect repeatedly whenever I enabled the option with the following error in the log:

Dec 16 20:10:57 Linksys EA8500 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx MLME: auth request, signal -51 (Accepted)
Dec 16 20:10:57 Linksys EA8500 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx IEEE 802.11: authenticated
Dec 16 20:10:57 Linksys EA8500 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx MLME: assoc request, signal -49 (Accepted)
Dec 16 20:10:57 Linksys EA8500 daemon.notice hostapd: wlan0: STA xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx IEEE 802.11: Could not set STA to kernel driver

As stated previously, this issue appeared for me after build 02-06-2021-r45690.

Doing a bit more research just now and I found this issue was reported with OpenWRT and the fix was to disable 802.11w management frame protection. Of course, on my EA8500 this option was already disabled... Confused

However, I changed 802.11w management frame protection to Auto and now all is well! Very Happy
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2021 1:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
sumbuddie wrote:
However, I changed 802.11w management frame protection to Auto and now all is well! Very Happy


802.11W is totally broken, afaik, and should not be used at all, especially in conjunction with 802.11r above it.

My EA8500's have never had issues with qam 256 and clients like you report, but I never touched 802.11w either. All three of my deployments are off-site so I cannot test it on that hardware... maybe someone else can chime in to better test things out...

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12482
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2021 2:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
the-joker wrote:
I found missing ram overclocking values (underclocking values for me) in general there are no ram speed values anywhere anymore since I last reset.

I have not been looking for the overlcocking code, but if I find something...

the-joker wrote:
I cant see any such turboQam anything anymore, again since last reset.

https://github.com/mirror/dd-wrt/search?q=turboqam Twisted Evil Mr. Green

mod edit: removed irrelevant information to topic and kept proof of what was removed.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2021 2:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
maybe 47859 fixes the qam on bcm...
_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2021 5:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
sumbuddie wrote:
Doing a bit more research just now and I found this issue was reported with OpenWRT and the fix was to disable 802.11w management frame protection. Of course, on my EA8500 this option was already disabled... Confused

However, I changed 802.11w management frame protection to Auto and now all is well! Very Happy


Taken from Cisco:

Why can’t my mobile device connect to the MFP 802.11w enabled infrastructure device?
There are certain restrictions for some wireless clients to communicate with MFP-enabled infrastructure devices. MFP adds a long set of information elements to each probe request or SSID beacon. Some wireless clients such as PDAs, smartphones, barcode scanners, and so forth have limited memory and Central Processing Unit (CPU). So, you are not able to process these requests or beacons. As a result, you fail to see the SSID entirely, or you are not able to associate with these infrastructure devices, due to a misunderstanding of SSID capabilities. This issue is not specific to MFP. This also occurs with any SSID that has multiple information elements (IEs). It is always advisable to test MFP-enabled SSIDs on the environment with all your available client types before you deploy it in real time.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
sumbuddie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2021 21:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:

802.11W is totally broken, afaik, and should not be used at all, especially in conjunction with 802.11r above it.

My EA8500's have never had issues with qam 256 and clients like you report, but I never touched 802.11w either. All three of my deployments are off-site so I cannot test it on that hardware... maybe someone else can chime in to better test things out...


Had some time to tinker with it and in my case regardless of setting 802.11w Management Frame Protection to either Enabled or Disabled with TurboQAM enabled and my 2.4GHz clients struggle to connect.

Furthermore, setting the option back to Auto no longer fixes it either. Sad

The more I tinkered with the options, eventually my EA8500 crashed completely (both Wi-Fi channels disappeared and Web GUI was inaccessible)... Exclamation (had to disconnect/reconnect power to bring it back online)

Disabled TurboQAM and all is well again.

I've got 802.11r (FT) support disabled - reading up on this now...

Again, I started experiencing this issue after build v.02-06-2021-r45690 - was fine prior. Others have posted similar issues when TurboQAM is enabled.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2021 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
sumbuddie wrote:
- reading up on this now...


Are you following all the guidelines laid out in the best qca wifi settings sticky?

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3901

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2021 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
sumbuddie wrote:
Disabled TurboQAM and all is well again.
Using Firmware Type DD-WRT or VANILLA? Remember an issue about enabling qam256 with dd-wrt fw type.

Edit: Never mind both binaries affected, since then both firmware types have been updated more than once.


Last edited by blkt on Sat Dec 18, 2021 17:24; edited 2 times in total
sumbuddie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2021 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:

Are you following all the guidelines laid out in the best qca wifi settings sticky?


Yep - have gone over that multiple times (and read your sticky as well - Thanks!). In my case, I don't think there's any benefit to enabling 802.11r (FT) support.


blkt wrote:

Using Firmware Type DD-WRT or VANILLA? Remember an issue about enabling qam256 with dd-wrt fw type.

Edit: Never mind both binaries affected, since then both firmware types have been updated more than once.


Currently using Vanilla, but either type made no difference/improvement.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1267
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2021 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
What are these clients that can't connect?

You wrote in an earlier post "some clients can't connect"
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum