[SOLVED] Unable to clear Manual WOL fields - Netgear r6700v3

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Baja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 18:00    Post subject: [SOLVED] Unable to clear Manual WOL fields - Netgear r6700v3 Reply with quote
Netgear r6700v3

Was on 11-29-2021-r47695 but, just updated and have the same issue with 12-04-2021-r47745.

I'm not sure it matters to have the fields sitting there or not but, it's bugging me that I can't clear them.

With that, is there a way to clear out these fields without resetting the whole thing to default again?

Some commands to clear out that part of the nvram, perhaps?


Last edited by Baja on Sat Dec 04, 2021 20:36; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
A screenshot of what you are referring to might help us help you better. AFAIK you cannot remove the available hosts information, if that is what you are asking. The webUI should have a remove feature to remove any WOL hosts you have configured. Also, manual WOL input box should clear if you clear your cache or CTRL+F5. If not, then that is something in the webUI that can't be changed, just like the commands box. It shouldn't remain if you close the browser, clear cache, and re-login to webUI.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Baja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
A screenshot of what you are referring to might help us help you better. AFAIK you cannot remove the available hosts information, if that is what you are asking. The webUI should have a remove feature to remove any WOL hosts you have configured. Also, manual WOL input box should clear if you clear your cache or CTRL+F5. If not, then that is something in the webUI that can't be changed, just like the commands box. It shouldn't remain if you close the browser, clear cache, and re-login to webUI.


No, not referring to the available hosts information. Attaching Screenshot.

I tried clearing it in a new browser after clearing all cache and logging back in again. Doesn't seem like it can be cleared. I can add another MAC, IP and Port but, then that persists too.



wol-issue.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  110.36 KB
 Viewed:  1023 Time(s)

wol-issue.png


kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Check the output via ssh/telnet here:
Code:
root@TL-WR1043NDv2:~# nvram show | grep wol | sort

If the information matches the webUI for any of those vars, perhaps you can do an 'nvram unset' and then 'nvram commit'. Otherwise, it's obviously something persistent in the webUI that cannot be changed, unless it's a regression introduced by all of the webUI enhancements.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Baja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you! I think that did it. It's cleared out on the WebGUI now.



Code:

root@Netgear:~# nvram show | grep wol | sort
size: 37468 bytes (93604 left)
manual_wol_mac=00:00:00:00:00:00
manual_wol_network=0.0.0.0.0
manual_wol_port=9
wol_cmd=/usr/sbin/wol -v -i 0.0.0.0.0 -p 9 00:00:00:00:00:00
wol_enable=0
wol_hostname=
wol_hosts=[redacted]
wol_interval=86400
wol_macs=
wol_passwd=
root@Netgear:~# nvram unset manual_wol_mac
root@Netgear:~# nvram unset manual_wol_network
root@Netgear:~# nvram unset manual_wol_port
root@Netgear:~# nvram unset wol_cmd
root@Netgear:~# nvram show | grep wol | sort
size: 37327 bytes (93745 left)
wol_enable=0
wol_hostname=
wol_hosts=[redacted]
wol_interval=86400
wol_macs=
wol_passwd=
root@Netgear:~# nvram commit
root@Netgear:~# nvram show | grep wol | sort
size: 37336 bytes (93736 left)
wol_cmd=
wol_enable=0
wol_hostname=
wol_hosts=[redacted]
wol_interval=86400
wol_macs=
wol_passwd=



Last edited by Baja on Sat Dec 04, 2021 19:30; edited 1 time in total
Baja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do I need to (re)set those variables, just with blank values this time? Or will they be set on their own the next time I run Manual WOL in the WebGUI?

I assume they'll be set/populated with the GUI again next time I run it but, thought I better ask, just in case.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
They should set themselves next time in the webUI or possibly on reboot. You shouldn't need to reset them with blank variables, necessarily. I think that is just the nature of this feature, that you can't remove that information without clearing out the nvram variables manually.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Baja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
They should set themselves next time in the webUI or possibly on reboot. You shouldn't need to reset them with blank variables, necessarily. I think that is just the nature of this feature, that you can't remove that information without clearing out the nvram variables manually.


That's fine. I think the "problem" is that the WebGUI won't allow you to click the Manual Wake Up button without entering a valid MAC address and I assume that's the case for other two fields as well. It pops up an alert, so one can't leave those fields blank once values have been set and you can't make use of the button, since it requires valid values.

Clearing out the field manually and using the save and or apply (instead of the Manual Wake Up button) doesn't do anything either. So it is what it is.

Anyway, thanks again for your help!

P.s. I'll try to remember this is Linux and I can nvram show and grep things lol.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2021 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Glad to be of help, and good to know about this quirk so others can find this thread if they run into it. Maybe this will be fixed in future releases, maybe not. Knowing is half the battle Cool
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum