Use DNSMASQ without the DHCP Server

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
trull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 16:23    Post subject: Use DNSMASQ without the DHCP Server Reply with quote
Hi,

is it possible the use dnsmasq without the dhcp server. For me it only worked by activating the dhcp server. I guess it should somehow? DNSMASQ can also be used without a dhcp server on various linux distros?

thx trull
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10378
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 16:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Look closely at the setup page.
DHCP Server: Disable

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
trull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

yes I can disable the dhcp server and use a static ip for my pc. But I want to use the dhcp server from my fritzbox, if I use dhcp forwarder then dnsmasq is disabled? I have connected the router with the wan port and activated a dhcpserver hat has a different ip range, but I want that all my devices are in the same range and only use the dnsmasy option. So I thought that it is possible to just acivate dnsmasq and use some lines with e.g. -> server=/homepage.com/11.17.11.111

thx
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10378
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I transferred this thread to a more appropriate forum.

What router model and buildnumber are you using?

See the forum guidelines with helpful tips about how and where to post.
What builds to use and many more helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

So your question is about network setup so have a look at the wiki's:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

A Wireles Access Point (WAP) is perhaps what you want?

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12971
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 18:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wired Wireless Access Point; You will want to point to your WAP for DNS resolution somehow. Screenshots... pictures tell a good story visually of what is available to be configured in the Fritzbox and in DD-WRT. It's not too difficult to setup to warrant "Advanced".
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
trull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 19:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,
I use the following model -> Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
DD-WRT v3.0-r44863 mini (11/24/20)
Actually I use the following configuration: 10.0.0.138 is the Fritzbox and I wanna know if all devices can get an ip from the dhcpserver of the fritzbox but the devices that are connected to that router should use the dnsmasq option so that a few urls use a special dns server?

thx trull
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12971
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
It would be great to have a look at the pertinent Fritzbox settings. Anyhow, what you want is the WRT54* to be configure as a wireless access point.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

The only delineation(s) that you would probably need to employ would be to leave "use dnsmasq for dns" checked and then use your additional dnsmasq options accordingly. Without a larger picture of the overall scenario (visual communication is awesome) or a more complete description of what you are trying to accomplish, we can only guess here.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
trull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 22:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

it is quite simple. There are no special settings on the fritzbox there is only the dhcp server running and no additional settings were set. The dd-wrt router is connected to the fritzbox (10.0.0.133) and has a static ip (10.0.0.134). All I want is just use the dnsmasq capability of the router as the fritzbox doesnt have this capability. I want that all the devices connected to the router will get an ip of the fritzbox. It is configured like a WAP.

Services -> DNSMAS is checked
Setup -> Use DNSMasq for DNS is checked
DHCPSERVER is disabled.
It doesn't work?

thx trull
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12971
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 23:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have to put the Fritzbox LAN side IP in the gateway entry on the Setup -> Basic Setup page as it states in the wiki...
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
trull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2021 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did that its Ip 10.0.0.138 (not 10.0.0.133 in my previous post otherwise internet wouldnt work). Actually my opinion is that dnsmasq doesnt work when the dhcp server is not enabled?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12971
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2021 0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your Fritzbox doesn't have a way to point back to the DD-WRT router for DNS, then probably not going to work the way you are expecting AFAIK. That is why you either use a bridge mode on the Fritzbox or you use the default gateway mode with DHCP enabled on the WRT54.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
eugene1973
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 May 2017
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2021 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
The general rule to most networking is that if something can be set without setting other things, it probably will work. That being said some things might not be noticeable. The answer most certainly is yes. Dd-wrt has a dhcp forwarder.

You can use dnsmasq commands like static hosts.

Here's some....

dhcp-proxy
dhcp-rapid-commit
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum