automatic send real/WAN IP address

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jdaniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 16:29    Post subject: automatic send real/WAN IP address Reply with quote
Hello,

I am new around here, so if this is a stupid question ... Sorry.

I have a broadband connection / dynamic IP address.

I have a Linksys WRT54 GL v1.1.
Can DD-WRT or any other software send the current WAN IP address in a email ?

Why do I need this ? Let's say I'm at the office, I need a file from my home PC. My home PC is off. I need my WAN/real IP address. If I know my real IP I can power on my PC and then with RDC...

Is this possible ?

Thanks in advance,
OJi.
Sponsor
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just set up DDNS in the router with a dynamic ip service such as DYNdns. Then you can always get to somehost.somedomain.com. Also, you can configure WOL in the router to turn on your pc via the router's web gui.
_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
jdaniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Many many thanks !!!
Done.

One more question, I will not start another thread.
I connect using PPPoE, using v24 RC4. I cannot locate a "Keep alive connection" / "Automatically reconnect" button. Is there one ?

Again, many thanks,
OJi.
jdaniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I spoke to soon.
It does work, with dyndns.org, but I get disconnected every 5-10 minutes and cannot reconnect for about 1 minute.

What did I do wrong ?
DrRossi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
If it stops working after 5 minutes this is typically a "keep alive" problem.

Which (kind of) application do you use to make a connection from your office to your home?

You need to tell that application to send something, anything, every couple of minutes through the connection to your home. This is what is called keep alive.

For example, I use Putty (this is for ssh connections), and I send a keep alive _from Putty_ every 1 minute to my home router. Well, only as long as I use Putty of course.
jdaniel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was not very clear. Sorry for that.
What I was trying to say - After enabling DDNS on my router, the internet stopped working. I am not at the office now, it has nothing to do with the office. I am home now, my router is home. I was disconnected after 5-10 minutes. This happened for 3 times in a row.

Anyway, it seems to work for now. I got my current IP 75 minutes ago.

Thanks again and sorry for my poor english.
OJi.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum