free ram with a tip

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:14    Post subject: free ram with a tip Reply with quote
i update for 27506 to 28493 and it free ram like r27506 are 14m.so why?.if i reset default it have only 12m.who can explain for me.i see free ram still 14m.can something which like deamon was stopped when it havent in 27506
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4707
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Those old builds you are running are very old and obsolete, nobody can tell you anything...about those..

Also the router you probably have, has very low memory, and those builds also may have mem-leak and have tons of security issues..not very good idea to put on any router...if you need a build for client mode or just a switch/wap mode, much better to use newer builds...

In fact on those kind of devices DDWRT uses almost all the memory...and those routers are for very basic needs and slow connections...builds are stripped off to make the router work on bare minimum and lot of futures are missing... i do have an old 740v1 running a build from my signature and works ok, but out of 32MB ram has 8-9 MB ram left while fully operational..

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 47528 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0b AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm Atheros/
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
MLandi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 524

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
For the opposite side of the RAM discussion, my R9000 has a ton of unused memory, around 800MB. Is there something I can use that memory for that would improve performance? I have the DNSMasq entries set to 20000, but I don't see any place where I can allow more memory to be used for caches, buffers or other static structures. Any thoughts?
_________________
Netgear R9000 X10
DD-WRT v3.0-r47692 std (11/28/21)
Gateway, AP, DNSMasq, SFE, Clock 2000MHz
IPv4 & IPv6 (Prefix Delegation)
Static Leases & DHCP
Leases saved at /jffs on USB stick
CloudFlare, QoS Disabled, SmartDNS Disabled
DD-WRT Firmware, WiFi & Ethernet
2.4GHz: NG-Mixed, 10 + 6 (2457 MHz HT40), ACK Timing 3150, WPA2 w/AES
5GHz: AC/N Mixed, 100 + 114 (5500 MHz VHT160), ACK Timing 3160, WPA2 w/AES
Xfinity 1.2Gbps/42Mbps
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
MLandi wrote:
For the opposite side of the RAM discussion, my R9000 has a ton of unused memory, around 800MB. Is there something I can use that memory for that would improve performance? I have the DNSMasq entries set to 20000, but I don't see any place where I can allow more memory to be used for caches, buffers or other static structures. Any thoughts?

speed based cpu and a part ram
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 23:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
Those old builds you are running are very old and obsolete, nobody can tell you anything...about those..

Also the router you probably have, has very low memory, and those builds also may have mem-leak and have tons of security issues..not very good idea to put on any router...if you need a build for client mode or just a switch/wap mode, much better to use newer builds...

In fact on those kind of devices DDWRT uses almost all the memory...and those routers are for very basic needs and slow connections...builds are stripped off to make the router work on bare minimum and lot of futures are missing... i do have an old 740v1 running a build from my signature and works ok, but out of 32MB ram has 8-9 MB ram left while fully operational..

i want a other custom ddwrt.where do i can find.i known kong
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 11191
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 0:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
There are no other "custom" DD-WRT versions available to the public. After <Kong> left, that was it. Perhaps you need to focus on how to configure Official builds first.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 2:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
There are no other "custom" DD-WRT versions available to the public. After <Kong> left, that was it. Perhaps you need to focus on how to configure Official builds first.

i can find a version for the private in reddit or ....
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 2:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
There are no other "custom" DD-WRT versions available to the public. After <Kong> left, that was it. Perhaps you need to focus on how to configure Official builds first.

do you can custom a ddwrt version help me.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4707
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
nanvanu1 there are no custom builds for your router...and did you state what is your router model ?
So we are guessing only...TP link 740xx, Kong builds are only for large size flash ram and memory routers...

Bear in mind even OpenWRT abandoned those routers...like yours TP link 740xx, there are no new builds for those...only the old can be run and there you can do a customization, but i doubt you are capable of doing that.....

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 47528 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0b AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm Atheros/
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 47692 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
nanvanu1 there are no custom builds for your router...and did you state what is your router model ?
So we are guessing only...TP link 740xx, Kong builds are only for large size flash ram and memory routers...

Bear in mind even OpenWRT abandoned those routers...like yours TP link 740xx, there are no new builds for those...only the old can be run and there you can do a customization, but i doubt you are capable of doing that.....

do you can help me custom a version.i havent linux.i use tplink 740n v4 and r 28483
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
nanvanu1 there are no custom builds for your router...and did you state what is your router model ?
So we are guessing only...TP link 740xx, Kong builds are only for large size flash ram and memory routers...

Bear in mind even OpenWRT abandoned those routers...like yours TP link 740xx, there are no new builds for those...only the old can be run and there you can do a customization, but i doubt you are capable of doing that.....

i wont use openwrt because it is too complicated
labrok
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 283
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 9:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
nanvanu1 wrote:
Alozaros wrote:
nanvanu1 there are no custom builds for your router...and did you state what is your router model ?
So we are guessing only...TP link 740xx, Kong builds are only for large size flash ram and memory routers...

Bear in mind even OpenWRT abandoned those routers...like yours TP link 740xx, there are no new builds for those...only the old can be run and there you can do a customization, but i doubt you are capable of doing that.....

i wont use openwrt because it is too complicated


Dude dont spend your time with this piece of archeology, use the factory firmware, none will spend time for this machine, especially now that the code has become heavy even for routers 3 times stronger than yours, buy a new one or use the factory firmware
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3247

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
TP-LINK TL-WR740N v4.x - WikiDevi

New Build - 10/20/2021 - r47581

tplink_tl-wr740nv4: (DD-WRT website) HTTPS & FTP

Recommended: R7800 (XR450/XR500), R9000 (R8900/XR700), R7500v2, EA8500 (serial flash)
nanvanu1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Mar 2020
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 11:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
TP-LINK TL-WR740N v4.x - WikiDevi

New Build - 10/20/2021 - r47581

tplink_tl-wr740nv4: (DD-WRT website) HTTPS & FTP

Recommended: R7800 (XR450/XR500), R9000 (R8900/XR700), R7500v2, EA8500 (serial flash)

i want to use my router is long lasting and durable
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3247

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 11:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, you are free to continue worrying about lack of CPU and RAM resources.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum