[Solved]TP-Link Archer C7 V5 Flash issue

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
em9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 17:34    Post subject: [Solved]TP-Link Archer C7 V5 Flash issue Reply with quote
Hello,

recently I bought new TP-Link Archer C7 V5 WiFi (EU) router. I would like use DD-WRT on it, but I have problem with DD-WRT firmware.

First I tried upload 47528 version via stock web interace but I got an error: "Invalid file type". So therefore I used TFTP method (192.168.0.66/ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin) and flash passed, but DD-WRT web interface is "broken". When I connect to 192.16.1.1 I see only bare HTML without CSS/JS files. You can see "homepage" at https://i.ibb.co/vhf4CNY/DD-WRT.png

I tried same version second time (before it I flashed router back to the stock FW), I also tried 44715 version and with the same result.

I already used "factory-to-ddwrt.bin" file. BTW I used OpenWRT firmware on this C7V5 router without problem (I was not able to configure it as Wireless Bridge mode).

These LEDs are on: power, "saturn" (orange), lan1, lan3, lan4 - https://i.ibb.co/SxvSnVH/leds.png

Could someone tell me please what I am doing wrong?

Thank you.
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 17:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
You need to go back to stock firmware first and then go to dd-wrt. You can't go from custom firmware to another custom firmware.

also, make sure you check the bottom label of the router and that you indeed have the right router. A7 and C7 are sold interchangeably on Amazon.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
em9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for replay.

This is back label: https://i.ibb.co/rmQNst3/backlabel.png

Before I flashed any DD-WRT firmware I always flashed back to the stack firmware Archer C7 V5 1.1.3 Build 20210519 rel.50598(4555).

I also tried recommended 47495 version from https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/09-28-2021-r47495/tplink_archer-c7-v5/ and with the same result - bare html without js/css.

BTW: when I renamed "factory-to-ddwrt.bin" filename to "ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin" I was able to flash it using stock web interface.

Any idea? Thank you.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 9585
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
When you see bare html just refresh the browser F5 or Ctrl+ F5

DDWRT and chromium based browsers do not always play nice with each other this could also be the problem when flashing.

See the forum guidelines

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1772
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
TP-Link might be blocking third party firmware files using their latest firmwares.

downgrade to their oldest stock firmware first and then try to load the factor-to-dd file.

If you are renaming the file and it's loading, then what's the issue? If you re-name and it lists invalid file, most likely the 3rd party block.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]48401 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
em9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for your tip egc.

When I opened 192.168.1.1 using Firefox it display correctly! So I run Chromium in Private Mode and it works too :-O But when I open in normal mode, than not! Even when all plugins (uBlock Origin) were disabled. I am deeply surprised.

BTW I used DD-WRT v3.0-r47495 (09/28/21) using web flash method.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12420
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Archer C7v5 requires an older stock firmware. It will not upgrade from 2021 firmware.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
em9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Archer C7v5 requires an older stock firmware. It will not upgrade from 2021 firmware.


I flashed using stack fw 1.1.3 20210519 - https://i.ibb.co/WzbR234/flashing.png

Result: https://i.ibb.co/vY0Xh6y/ddwrt.png
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12420
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 22:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, it was just a browser or cache issue as far as the DD-WRT webUI being broken. You were probably also on the same browser you were cruising the Internet with. Happy DD-WRT'ing.

Still always best to use the oldest stock firmware to flash DD-WRT from just in case:

https://web.archive.org/web/20190722235220/https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/download/archer-c7/

It is also always best to use FF ESR portable, Pale Moon Portable, or Waterfox Portable (on Windows) to flash DD-WRT with.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
em9
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Oct 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 7:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
So, it was just a browser or cache issue as far as the DD-WRT webUI being broken. You were probably also on the same browser you were cruising the Internet with. Happy DD-WRT'ing.


Yes it was browser/cache issue. But I did refresh page using F5, Ctrl+F5, Ctrl+R, Ctrl+Shift+F5, Ctrl+Shift+R, even I opened source page using Ctrl+U and in source window I clicked on css and js links. Result always was 404 - not found. Therefore I thought that problem is another else. Now Chromium can show DD-WRT pages without problem.

Thank you all for your tips.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum