how to edit firmware header in windows?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 978

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2021 4:13    Post subject: how to edit firmware header in windows? Reply with quote
I have already tried looking around but it seems like this can only be done in a Linux enviroment. Is there anyway to do this in windows?

Like, How do I remove or modify a firmware header in windows? or do I really need to use linux for the task?

_________________
For people who are new to the dd-wrt forums >> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#rtfm

barryware wrote:
It takes a "community" to raise a router..


Internet Connection 1
Gateway Router > WRT1900ACv1

Internet connection 2
NAS-AP > WRT32x
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use a hex editor and/or binwalk.

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=22255914

https://alternativeto.net/software/binwalk/

https://alternativeto.net/software/ida/
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8127
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use HxD: https://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 978

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 5:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
You told me the program to use. But did not answer the rest of my question.

Exactly how does one remove a firmware header in router firmware? I hear about this "removing the first 256kb".

please explain it to me in detail.

_________________
For people who are new to the dd-wrt forums >> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#rtfm

barryware wrote:
It takes a "community" to raise a router..


Internet Connection 1
Gateway Router > WRT1900ACv1

Internet connection 2
NAS-AP > WRT32x
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3135

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 5:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the point when the link in your signature heavily applies.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8127
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 6:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
It depends on the header there is no general rule as far as I know.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 978

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 6:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
My bad. I made a mistake.

I came to the conclusion that based on the responses I am receiving, this is something a programmer would most likely already know how to do or at least have some idea.

I mean how this user know that this was the header? All I can say myself is "I do not know".

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318557&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

and for myself, I am no programmer. Just someone who was/is a bit fascinated with the experimental firmware dd-wrt.

Sorry for wasting server resources. I figured this was something easy but I have to come realize its not.


Thanks for responding though!

_________________
For people who are new to the dd-wrt forums >> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#rtfm

barryware wrote:
It takes a "community" to raise a router..


Internet Connection 1
Gateway Router > WRT1900ACv1

Internet connection 2
NAS-AP > WRT32x
MuzzleVelocity
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gameman Advanced Kid wrote:

Exactly how does one remove a firmware header in router firmware?

Theres probably a better way, but you can use the extract-firmware.sh script in the Firmware-Mod-Kit to extract the contents of a firmware .bin. Amongst the results will be a folder called image_parts that includes a header.img file. That should be what you are looking for.

here is info on firmware mod kit:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Development
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2241
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2021 12:55    Post subject: Modifying firmware header Reply with quote
In HxD.

One side is in hexadecimal, the other in ASCII.

The offset column on the far left is also in hex. Counting up from 0. Modifying the header means usually copying the header from a factory firmware file (TP-Link, etc, right off their website), usually the first section before the characters switch to all 00s, in hex. Or some other repeating character over many lines.

Make sure to copy and overwrite paste (replacing the existing header) not adding a second header.

Go up to save as and save the file, make sure to add the appropriate extension on the end (.bin, etc).

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - WDS AP, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - some gateway
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - not used
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum